We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ready to Go Back Right Now”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Rain Forest Resort Village
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Quinault
Albany, NY
Level Contributor
138 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
“Ready to Go Back Right Now”
Reviewed 1 August 2013

We stayed several nights in the Village Inn at the Rain Forest Resort Village in Quinault. Note in addition to the Village Inn there are the Parkside Suites, Fireplace Cabins, and the RV park. Choose the room or cabin that best fits your preferences and requirements.

The Village Inn has four different room layouts. Ours was suite-style with the "living room" overlooking the lake. This is truly the million-dollar view. This room features a large sofa-bed, desk, coffee table, and two chairs aimed toward the large picture window. Perfect for coffee in the morning! There is also a balcony or deck with two chairs.

The bedroom has a comfortable bed and the usual dresser and nightstands. There is AC and heater in this room. The front room has electric heat. I mention this as people who are not familiar with the Olympic Peninsula may be surprised to discover that heat can be helpful at any time of the year! Remember, this is rain forest territory and you are surrounded by mountains.

Our room had either new or recent carpets and the furniture was perfectly acceptable. The room was also completely spotless. The staff is very efficient and friendly. Bathroom amenities included the usual goodies. We had two closets, extra pillows in each, and extra towels in one. No problems there.

The Village Inn is an older type of motel room. It has wood paneling and retains the feel of being in the forest. It reminds me of the good old days and we were very comfortable. There are a couple of things you should be aware of. The WiFi is more "why" than "fi." Ostensibly it comes from the restaurant across the street, but even there it is very weak. Don't plan on using it. The room does not have tissues, so either make sure you have a pack or pick some up in the Resort's General Store. Bring your own alarm clock, if you need one. There is a flat screen TV, but we never turned it on. Who wants TV when one of the world's greatest national parks is across the lake? It does not have a refrigerator, which is about the only thing we really would have liked.

You should be aware that the Village Inn walls are a bit thin. You can hear muffled voices. If you are sensitive you may want to take this into consideration. The bathroom fans sound like Model-Ts being thrown into a jet engine. This is apparently true in all or most of the Inn's rooms as we heard our neighbors' running. However, the lake and mountains have a weird effect on people and everyone seems to speak in hushed tones. The beautiful view makes for "issues."

(Visitors to the ENTIRE region should be aware that cell service is very, very spotty. It will depend on your carrier. T-Mobile customers will probably be out of luck. The Peninsula is a place to get away from it all, not bring it all with you.)

The Rain Forest Resort has a nicely stocked general store with all of the odds and ends you will really need, but not any extra stuff. This is a general store, not supermarket. They also have lots of great advice and assistance. If you have a question, as the staff. There are very nice people behind the counter.

The Salmon House restaurant is on the property, across from the general store. I reviewed it separately, so let me just say that all by itself it is worth the visit. Not fancy, mind you, but quite good and reasonably priced. Breakfast is not served, it is dinner only. The grilled salmon is about the best I have ever had, and I have had a lot of grilled salmon over the years!

The Resort has a broad lawn which is perfect of watching the sun go down, a game of Frisbee, walking the dog, or turning the kids loose. There are hiking trails nearby.

If you are "green-conscious" you will be interested to discover that the staff uses electric vehicles on the property. Very cool ones, too.

If you are looking for a low-key place with a great location, fabulous view, and helpful staff this is the place for you. The Rain Forest Resort is a fine place to relax, take a break, and chill out. Take a walk, for for a hike, enjoy the Olympics. That's what we did, and that's what we hope to do again.

Room Tip: Is you stay in the Village Inn, select a room that faces the lake.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rogerl53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

252 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    71
    98
    47
    25
    11
See reviews for
66
126
12
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (66)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
89 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 July 2013

Stayed in a room with 2 queen beds with family of 4 for 1 night and found it acceptable. You are paying for the location, which is remote and in a beautiful setting. Beds were comfortable, shower was new and room was well maintained but shabby. No amenities (tv has 4 channels, no alarm clock or kleenex). The room is not meant for anything but sleeping in, which is how we used it. We enjoyed the property and the area for a day and then moved on. Didn't try the restaurant as it was only open for dinner.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Elizabeth B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Spokane
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 July 2013

We booked this 2 room suite to accomadate my daughter, husband and 3 year old with grandma and grandpa. Looked over the descriptions pictures... Well let me just say not sure when the pics were taken but they probably should have been in black and white. We paid just under 170 per night. When asked about the WI FI they boasted were told that it is at the resturaunt and they suggest signining before we go do room It 'usually stays connected'. when we entered the room noticed room was 'old' and not very updated. One room did indeed have a lovely view the other lovely view of parking lot and big dirt hill. One side had a heater (it was 90 degrees outside) and a bathroom. The ohter side had a tv (sold as cable tv abc, nbc, cbs and fox) and an airconditioner. carpets nasty. dirty silverware on floor behind side table. and electrical items plugged into multiple household electrical cords.... Not ok visit...

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Vickie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 July 2013 via mobile

My husband and I visited Seattle for a week with the intention to stay at this "village" for 3 of the nights. We found this place to be so beautiful, great service and reasonably priced that we change our reservations to be with them for four nights not just the 3. The resturant had great food and Jennifer was the best waitress we had. Super attentive and cheerful and full of great ideas of where to hike. We had an amazing time and would recommend this "village" to anyone and everyone! Can't tell you how terrific of a time we had!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Heuerman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 July 2013

For $220/night, I was expecting a cabin that was updated and charming. There is nothing charming about this cabin.

The entire cabin is on a slant so doors slam closed or open depending on where they are.

The furniture is 2-star motel level, at best. It is old, broken down and the fabric is pilled.

Everything sort of works... the shower shoots water at the ceiling which drips back on your head. The hot water heater isn't big enough to fill the jetted tub, etc etc etc.

Save you pennies and camp! You'll be less disappointed.

You see floor plans when making a reservation, not actual photos.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MissBriLawson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
107 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 July 2013

We stayed here for 2 nights. Beautiful view over Lake Quinault. Worth the money paid for although room could have an update. But this is only to give some form of comments.

Also try out the Salmon House restaurant for diner, on the other site of the road. We had breakfast at Quinault Lodge, not worth the money. Tasteless food.

Book a Rain Forest tour! We had a nice morning with our guide Roger.

Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Oz O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gordonsville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 May 2013

My husband and I stayed here and it was okay. Bathroom door did not shut and bed and bedding very uncomfortable. Kinda on the cheap side, not very "cabin" feeling, more like a motel 8 or something. If they tell you to eat at the Salmon House in front of them......DON'T, it's terrible...possible kick back? Rates are reasonable for hotel side but 130.00 a night for the cabins is not a very good deal and the hotel offers a better view. It was a bit of a let down after such a long road trip. Nice view of the lake from the parking lot though.

Room Tip: Pick the hotel over cabin.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nativewillow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Quinault
0.9 mi away
Lake Quinault Lodge
Lake Quinault Lodge
#1 of 2 in Quinault
1,705 reviews
24.1 mi away
Hi-Tide Ocean Beach Resort
24.8 mi away
Ocean Crest Resort
Ocean Crest Resort
#3 of 3 in Moclips
239 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rain Forest Resort Village? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rain Forest Resort Village

Property: Rain Forest Resort Village
Address: 516 S Shore Rd, Quinault, Quinault, WA 98575-9706
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Washington > Quinault
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Quinault
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Rain Forest Resort Village 2.5*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A wonderful resort on Lake Quinault in the heart of the Quinault Rain Forest with fireplace cabins and suites, Village Inn rooms, the Salmon House Restaurant, a general store with giftshop and more. With a large lawn to the lake and trails to the rainforest, plan on the spectacular scenery. Come on and enjoy! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com and Ebookers so you can book your Rain Forest Resort Village reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rain Forest Resort Village Hotel Quinault
Rain Forest Hotel Village
Rain Forest Motel Village
Rain Forest Resort Village Quinault, Washington

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing