We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Rain Forest Resort Village
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Quinault
Reviewed 19 August 2013

Our room was clean, if a little on the small side but the view and scenery more than compensated. The lake was so convenient for a quick swim. The restaurant was just across the road and the shop very close. I only wish that we had been staying for longer than one night . For such a good location I'd say the price was about right. .

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank twoatemv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (286)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

171 - 177 of 286 reviews

Reviewed 18 August 2013

Older motel with several kinds of accommodations. We had a 2 room 'suite' with the front room and deck facing the lake. Comfortable. The bed was very comfortable as many guests have asked the owners 'what was the brand of that mattress' as we did. The other choices of rooms are free standing kitchenette type units that sleep a family. This motel would be my number 1 choice if return to Lake Quinault.

Room Tip: Ask for a 2nd floor room with a deck. Lake views are great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank drgoodhands
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2013

Resort is the key word. There are no amenities. No pool, sauna, hottub. No tissues, no hair dryer, for ice you have to go to the store. Very noisy due to staircase and old creaking floorboards.
Room was smallish but had a great view of the lake. Rustic, clean. Friendly
Office (store) did not open until 9 AM which makes checkout confusing.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank marlene07866
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2013

We visited both Lake Quinault and Crescent Lake while on the Peninsula. In Crescent Lake we paid $200+ to stay in the National Park's Lodge. In Lake Quinault, we paid $120 to stay in the Rain Forest Resort Village (the lake Quinault Lodge run by the park service would have been over $240). We're glad we chose the Rain Forest resort.

We stayed in the "hotel" part of the Rain Forest Lodge, on the second floor. The room was old and musty, the bathroom was old and musty, the bedding ancient. But it was all clean, and the view of the lake across the street was fantastic (we stayed on the second floor). The restaurant was great (get the smoked salmon - or any salmon) and reasonably priced. The hotel has a laundry and general store - you check in a the little store. The people who work the check-in were the friendliest we'd met on our entire trip. They were enthusiastic and offered advice and maps.

The world's biggest Sitka Spruce was 1/4 mile away, the Rainforest trail (a must) a short drive. We visited the fancy lodge for cocktails and attended their "sasquatch fireside talk."

If you plan to spend time in a hotel room, I definitely don't recommend the rainforest lodge. In fact, I dont' recommend that entire part of the country. Sleep there, enjoy the people, the food, and the many nature trails.

When we visited all activity except for swimming was banned on Lake Quinault by the Indians who control the lake. I had hoped to take a boat tour run by the park service, but the serenity of an empty lake more than made up for that loss.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank heathery
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 August 2013

This place was like staying in a museum, I don't think our room had been updated since the early 1960's. It wasn't dirty and we had a great view of the lake, but, much like the restaurant, why bother updating when you're the only game in town? Lots of noise from the staircase adjacent to our 1st floor room, but ultimately we got a good night's sleep.

I have to mention the shower. If you've got some paint to strip or need a good pressure washing, just drop whatever it is in the tub. It's like being shot with a fully automatic staple scatter gun. We got a hell of a laugh out of it, but man were we red after using it.

Not a great value either, but we were convenient to the south end of Olympic and surrounding attractions. You could do worse.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bcohen13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2013

My wife, son and I managed to get a last minute one-night booking here on a Saturday night in summer - the last in and around the Olympic National Park we were told - due to a cancellation. (The lesson is to plan ahead for trips in summer to popular resort areas like this.) We went expecting little, because of a less than positive recent experience in Crystal Mountain (see that review). We were very pleasantly surprised - the room was clean, comfortable and spacious, with a small kitchen (it would have been good to know about this beforehand - it did not show up on the website), and lovely views of the forest. There was a queen size bed and they had put in a roll-out bed for our son, as promised on booking. It is very close to the largest spruce and the lake. The people were friendly and helpful, and the price was very reasonable. I would certainly go back if I am in this area again - though it is a long way from the northern part of the park, it was a good base for our onward drive.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank IanDogless
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 August 2013

We stayed several nights in the Village Inn at the Rain Forest Resort Village in Quinault. Note in addition to the Village Inn there are the Parkside Suites, Fireplace Cabins, and the RV park. Choose the room or cabin that best fits your preferences and requirements.

The Village Inn has four different room layouts. Ours was suite-style with the "living room" overlooking the lake. This is truly the million-dollar view. This room features a large sofa-bed, desk, coffee table, and two chairs aimed toward the large picture window. Perfect for coffee in the morning! There is also a balcony or deck with two chairs.

The bedroom has a comfortable bed and the usual dresser and nightstands. There is AC and heater in this room. The front room has electric heat. I mention this as people who are not familiar with the Olympic Peninsula may be surprised to discover that heat can be helpful at any time of the year! Remember, this is rain forest territory and you are surrounded by mountains.

Our room had either new or recent carpets and the furniture was perfectly acceptable. The room was also completely spotless. The staff is very efficient and friendly. Bathroom amenities included the usual goodies. We had two closets, extra pillows in each, and extra towels in one. No problems there.

The Village Inn is an older type of motel room. It has wood paneling and retains the feel of being in the forest. It reminds me of the good old days and we were very comfortable. There are a couple of things you should be aware of. The WiFi is more "why" than "fi." Ostensibly it comes from the restaurant across the street, but even there it is very weak. Don't plan on using it. The room does not have tissues, so either make sure you have a pack or pick some up in the Resort's General Store. Bring your own alarm clock, if you need one. There is a flat screen TV, but we never turned it on. Who wants TV when one of the world's greatest national parks is across the lake? It does not have a refrigerator, which is about the only thing we really would have liked.

You should be aware that the Village Inn walls are a bit thin. You can hear muffled voices. If you are sensitive you may want to take this into consideration. The bathroom fans sound like Model-Ts being thrown into a jet engine. This is apparently true in all or most of the Inn's rooms as we heard our neighbors' running. However, the lake and mountains have a weird effect on people and everyone seems to speak in hushed tones. The beautiful view makes for "issues."

(Visitors to the ENTIRE region should be aware that cell service is very, very spotty. It will depend on your carrier. T-Mobile customers will probably be out of luck. The Peninsula is a place to get away from it all, not bring it all with you.)

The Rain Forest Resort has a nicely stocked general store with all of the odds and ends you will really need, but not any extra stuff. This is a general store, not supermarket. They also have lots of great advice and assistance. If you have a question, as the staff. There are very nice people behind the counter.

The Salmon House restaurant is on the property, across from the general store. I reviewed it separately, so let me just say that all by itself it is worth the visit. Not fancy, mind you, but quite good and reasonably priced. Breakfast is not served, it is dinner only. The grilled salmon is about the best I have ever had, and I have had a lot of grilled salmon over the years!

The Resort has a broad lawn which is perfect of watching the sun go down, a game of Frisbee, walking the dog, or turning the kids loose. There are hiking trails nearby.

If you are "green-conscious" you will be interested to discover that the staff uses electric vehicles on the property. Very cool ones, too.

If you are looking for a low-key place with a great location, fabulous view, and helpful staff this is the place for you. The Rain Forest Resort is a fine place to relax, take a break, and chill out. Take a walk, for for a hike, enjoy the Olympics. That's what we did, and that's what we hope to do again.

Room Tip: Is you stay in the Village Inn, select a room that faces the lake.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rogerl53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Quinault
0.9 mi away
Lake Quinault Lodge
Lake Quinault Lodge
#1 of 2 in Quinault
1,830 reviews
24.1 mi away
Hi-Tide Ocean Beach Resort
24.3 mi away
Moonstone Beach Motel
Moonstone Beach Motel
#1 of 3 in Moclips
179 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
24.8 mi away
Ocean Crest Resort
Ocean Crest Resort
#2 of 3 in Moclips
266 reviews
Show Prices

Been to Rain Forest Resort Village? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rain Forest Resort Village

Address: 516 S Shore Rd, Quinault, Quinault, WA 98575-9706
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Washington > Quinault
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Quinault
Price Range: £79 - £124 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Rain Forest Resort Village 2.5*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A wonderful resort on Lake Quinault in the heart of the Quinault Rain Forest with fireplace cabins and suites, Village Inn rooms, the Salmon House Restaurant, a general store with giftshop and more. With a large lawn to the lake and trails to the rainforest, plan on the spectacular scenery. Come on and enjoy! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com and Ebookers so you can book your Rain Forest Resort Village reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rain Forest Resort Village Hotel Quinault
Rain Forest Hotel Village
Rain Forest Motel Village
Rain Forest Resort Village Quinault, Washington

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing