We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Place is a hole that needs serious attention”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Rain Forest Resort Village
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Quinault
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Place is a hole that needs serious attention”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 August 2014

Really, the place is a craphole of a hotel that needs serious maintenance. The toilet rocked back and forth and was obviously leaking from the wax ring based on the damage to the linoleum surrounding the toilet. The laminate wood on the bathroom cabinets was peeling off from the bottom. The in-room coffee maker leaked all over and was a serious electrocution hazard. Leave your socks on in this place, the carpet was "crunchy". Ew. Turning on the air conditioner made the entire room smell like a sweaty gym sock. The "Store/Front Desk" closes at 9pm, so get everything handled prior if there are any issues. Since our coffee maker didn't work, I went to the store to use a microwave; no dice. Not even a microwave. I had to get in line to use the one and only source of hot water they had; a Keurig. 15 minutes later, I had the hot water I needed to make my wife & I some Starbuck's Via instant coffee. Considering what I paid to stay here, it wasn't even close to being worth it.

The only redeeming factor of the stay here is that the lake is right across the street, which can make for a nice view. Also, the Salmon House restaurant across the street was great. All the food was real good. Try the clam chowder if it's the soup of the day. The dill salmon was also very good. Rich, but good.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Aaron S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

245 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    67
    95
    47
    25
    11
See reviews for
64
121
12
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (65)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Huntington Beach, CA
Level Contributor
65 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 August 2014

I would have to agree with most of the reviews. It is in a lovely location but it is very outdated and expensive for what you get. The room lacked ambiance and comfort. One window overlooked the parking lot and the other small window overlooked the stairwell so you could watch everyone walking up/down the upstairs and they could watch us watching them. Granted, we could have paid another $75 for a cabin on the water-side, but you would think with a beautiful expanse of lawn that chairs and tables would have been provided for the guests enjoyment. Next visit, I'm going to save up my money and stay at the Quinault Lodge.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pat T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, Alabama
Level Contributor
31 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 August 2014

As most other reviewers note, it's clean and pleasant but outdated. Would say it was neither cheap nor expensive, as there are limited accommodations in Lake Quinault. Parking is a bit crowded. The lake is very pleasant and the Salmon House restaurant is nice.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Not24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northbrook, Illinois
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 July 2014

I will admit this place was clean (reason for the 3 stars because that is ultimately the most important thing) but it was probably last updated in the 1960s (maybe that was when it was built?) Basically an off the street "Mr. Sandman" motel, but, for the price, I was expecting something a little bit nicer like a Holiday Inn Express might be, for example. Only a couple of options for places to stay right next to the Quinalt Rain Forest area specifically, and this was undoubtedly not as nice as the Lake Quinalt Lodge, but that was full and certainly more expensive. Fine for a night (which is what we did) but not ideal for more nights. You pay for the season around the national parks...

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jeff S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston
Level Contributor
128 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 July 2014

The resort has cabins and a two-story motel-like building. We got a room on the bottom floor filled with a bed. The all wood building made for every step to be heard of the neighbor's on the steps or in their room above.
The Salmon House restaurant overlooking the lake offers good food and drink. Breakfast and lunch are not served.
Behind the lodging is a trail that crosses the Gannon Creek Waterfall. It is a delight to see.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Henry M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Quinault hotels

Atlanta, Georgia, United States
Level Contributor
22 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 July 2014

Great location on the beautiful lake Quinault and near the amazing trails in the National Park. The rooms were basic and clean and at a reasonable price yet the service was outstanding. There was a mix up in our reservation but the staff was unbelievable at finding us a room with kindness and great care. They were helpful to send us to the best hiking spots. I would suggest a cabin by the lake if at all possible. Coffee on your private porch makes your stay better to me than the fancy lodge down the road even if the accommodations aren't as fancy.

Room Tip: A cabin by the river is the best choice with a private porch.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Judy K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edmonton, Canada
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 July 2014

This is a beautiful spot on the lake, surrounded by forest and in an adorable little town. It rains a lot around there, so be advised, but it sure is a beautiful and relaxing setting. We did not check out the restaurant/lounge but it looked interesting. There's also apparently a big Sasquatch carving hidden somewhere in the forest trails, which would be fun for kids to search out if you had the time.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NoodleTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Quinault
0.9 mi away
Lake Quinault Lodge
Lake Quinault Lodge
#1 of 2 in Quinault
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,679 reviews
24.1 mi away
Hi-Tide Ocean Beach Resort
24.8 mi away
Ocean Crest Resort
Ocean Crest Resort
#2 of 3 in Moclips
4.0 of 5 bubbles 234 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rain Forest Resort Village? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rain Forest Resort Village

Property: Rain Forest Resort Village
Address: 516 S Shore Rd, Quinault, Quinault, WA 98575-9706
Region: United States > Washington > Quinault
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Quinault
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Rain Forest Resort Village 2.5*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A wonderful resort on Lake Quinault in the heart of the Quinault Rain Forest with fireplace cabins and suites, Village Inn rooms, the Salmon House Restaurant, a general store with giftshop and more. With a large lawn to the lake and trails to the rainforest, plan on the spectacular scenery. Come on and enjoy! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com and Traveltool, S.L.U. so you can book your Rain Forest Resort Village reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rain Forest Resort Village Hotel Quinault
Rain Forest Hotel Village
Rain Forest Motel Village
Rain Forest Resort Village Quinault, Washington

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing