We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“First time here”
Review of Malay Satay Hut

Malay Satay Hut
Ranked #54 of 245 Restaurants in Redmond
Price range: US$1 - US$20
Cuisines: Asian, Malaysian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, Groups
Dining options: Reservations
Redmond, Oregon
Level Contributor
54 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
“First time here”
Reviewed 5 July 2013

I was up visiting a friend in Seattle and was taken here for lunch one day. I was uncertain what to order and left it up to my friend.
Roti Canai was up first... I can not believe how amazing this dish was. Delish! The sauce was so tasty that I wanted to lick the bowl!
Belachan String Beans was next. The beans had a nice crunch but I wasn't excited by the seafoodiness (yes, I know that is not a word!) taste of them.
Pad Thai was also amazing! I am not a big Pad Thai lover, but this dish had amazing flavor! The noodles were nice and wide and it had a really nice flavor all around!
Also had a pork chop dish, which was okay, a little too sweet and barbecued for my taste.
I will have to return and definitely have more of these tasty dishes!

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Boxerdawgz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

58 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    18
    22
    14
    2
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
47 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“As authentic as one can get”
Reviewed 12 May 2013

The assam laksa and mixed platter are delicious. The desert ice kacang and 'bobo chacha' use substitute ingredients but still taste good. So far, the most authentic Malaysian food here.
Service is fast and lots of seats. Good place to have a quick meal.
The restroom is so dimly lit it's creepy.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank JY2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bellevue, Washington
1 review
“Yummy, Yummy, Yummy”
Reviewed 3 April 2013

I have been to this restaurant in Redmond many, many times. I love it. The food is absolutely fantastic. Whether you are an carnivore, an omnivore, a vegetarian, or a vegan, all are welcome and will be delighted with the excellent cuisine. If you don't want MSG, just ask. If you want an alcoholic beverage, you will be pleased with the choices. The owner, Sam, is quite the character, and can speak many languages. Highly recommended!

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank 39MarkK39
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
“Scores above 4 stars”
Reviewed 21 February 2013

Hole in the wall restaurant.. Scores big in my culinary adventures! Over 200 items in the menu. Gotta try the vegie dishes? And their lastest addition: hotpot seafood! Fantastic soupbase also

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Alvin T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Jose, California
Level Contributor
317 reviews
148 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 438 helpful votes
“Good Malaysian food”
Reviewed 28 December 2012

Have been to this restaurant several times and their Roti Canai and Roti Telur are simply the best. The other dishes are good too. Service can be a little slow but is ok in general. The restaurant 'can' get crowded during lunch time which may result in a bit of a wait if you are looking for a quick lunch.

  • Visited May 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Sushar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Malay Satay Hut also viewed

 

Been to Malay Satay Hut? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing