We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Mediocre Taste and regular price”

Thai Ginger - Redmond
Ranked #52 of 241 Restaurants in Redmond
Price range: US$5 - US$20
Cuisines: Asian, Thai
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, Kids
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Delivery, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Takeout, Validated Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Description: Edit While many Thai restaurants serve dishes domesticated to Western palates, Thai Ginger is known for authentic artfully crafted selections made with the freshest and finest ingredients. Thai food is considered one of the most balanced cuisines on the planet. At Thai Ginger, we provide a variety of dishes from all of Thailand's geographical regions. With each dish you will enjoy proportional sweetness and acidity, along with fresh aroma and spice per your personal request. Come experience the energy and excitement of our exhibition kitchen while our fast and friendly staff assure you have an experience to remember.
Virginia
Level Contributor
82 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Mediocre Taste and regular price”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 March 2013

This is a chain Thai restaurant and as expected, the quality of food was just average. I would not return to this location as the area as many other options.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank Brian R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

103 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    29
    44
    20
    6
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
New York City
Level Contributor
188 reviews
63 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Awesome food and great service”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 February 2013

Try their appetizers.........well worth the wait sometimes and also reserve in advance if it is a weekend or some holiday

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank Harry37NewYorkCity
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richmond, Virginia
Level Contributor
92 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
“A hometown favorite!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 January 2013

I was introduced to Thai Ginger almost a decade ago when I moved to the Redmond area. It quickly became a favorite of mine, to the point that I will always make sure to have at least one lunch or dinner there when I'm home, and actually miss eating there when I'm on the road for extended business travel.

Located in Redmond Town Center, Thai Ginger is easy to find for visitors and residents alike. Parking is more than ample, thanks to its location. It is a smaller floor plan, and so can get crowded and noisy on some evenings. As with a lot of area dining options, it is sometimes more prudent to go earlier rather than later.

The service - no matter whether you are a solo diner or with a family/group - is almost always very good. They are quick and responsive without making you feel rushed. Also, you never feel like you're left "abandoned" at any point of the meal.

Meals are always fixed to-order, and so are presented in excellent quality. They use a lot of fresh ingredients, and as such, everything always smells and tastes great. Also, when you are asked at the time you order how spicy you would like your food, it always comes at the proper level. I have not once felt like they made it spicier than I preferred; if anything, they err on the side of caution - and even that is rare.

Prices are more than reasonable across their entire menu. They will frequently have lunch and dinner specials that are run for a limited time - or that are a seasonal run - that are often excellent options.

People more knowledgable - or presuming to be more refined - than I will have their own interpretations of how "authentic" Thai Ginger's cuisine is, and I will gladly stay away from that minutiae. All I know is that Thai Ginger is easily my favorite Thai restaurant, to the point that it is hard to find Thai food elsewhere - at home or on the road - that compares. Visitors and residents alike should also have a very good experience here.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Generic90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
373 reviews
280 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 182 helpful votes
“Great Thai Food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 January 2013

This is a great place to dine at. Try the Phad Kee Mao. It's a very good noodle dish with your choice of meat, broccoli and tomato. Very tasty! My friend had the Cashew Nut with Chicken and he said it was good.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank Vitamin_Vito
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Earth
Level Contributor
22 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Very good. A Redmond favorite.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 November 2012

Thai Ginger can get very, very busy and take out is exceptionally popular. The food is excellent but sometimes the noise and congestion can detract from the overall experience. Larger groups often have to wait a while to be seated. But the food is worth it and the prices are reasonable which explains why this location, which has been open for over a decade, has been successful from day one.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank Nunio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Thai Ginger - Redmond? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing