We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pretty good place, nothing special 2.5/5.0”
2 of 5 bubbles Review of Quality Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Quality Inn
Ranked #6 of 11 Hotels in Renton
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
40 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Pretty good place, nothing special 2.5/5.0”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 February 2014

Just stayed here earlier this week and found the place to be average....nothing more and nothing less. It is right off the freeway in Renton, from the I-5 you take the I-405 turnoff by the SouthCenter Mall, merge onto WA-169S then take exit 4 on Maple Valley Highway. You will see the Quality Inn located up a hill and easy to find atop a Shari's restaurant which will be right in front of you.....easy peezy....one short left hand turn, up the hill and you are there.

On the bright side, the help is nice albiet understaffed as many Choice Hotels seem to be, but they are mature and seemingly interested in making your stay a good one. It is also nice that you can walk down the hill and go to Shari's which is a better-than-average Oregon-born and Northwest staple chain of restaurant/diner/coffee shops. It is obviously easy to find and parking was plentiful. Oh and the wi-fi is free and fairly consistent in terms of navigation speed.

On the dim side...well for some reason the hotel room was inexplicably dark, like being in a cave dark even with all lights "blazing." I don't know why this is, but it is not conducive to getting any work done. This location is beat up, and the smell of smoke seems to have seeped into the carpets even with all the "no-smoking" signs on every door. As far as the plumbing, the sink's water pressure is a little spastic....shooting water everywhere and the shower is average.

The bed was so-so and the blanket/sheets seemed second rate or very much like what you might find in a Motel 6. Consequently, I tossed and turned a great deal made worse by the effect of the heater. Speaking of which, the heater works (needed it...visited in the middle of a PNW cold snap) a little loud and at about 70 degrees seemed to blow cool air...but it worked. Regarding other appliances...the refrigerator worked but the door wouldn't close. The place was a little dirty too as in stains on the ottoman....obviously cleaned but no stain removal.

Many of these Choice Hotels in the PNW operate on a shoestring budget so at any one time there is only one person at the counter, a small number of maids and a mystery maintenance person who leaves maybe at 7pm? I needed a bulb switched out ant the maintenance crew didn't let the staff know where the replacements were located.

Overall an average stay, perhaps I was a little disappointed in that some of the area's other Choice Properties (SeaTac Sleep Inn or the Auburn Comfort Inn) were a little more up-to-snuff. I found the place underwhelming and consequently suggest that f you have high expectations based on a stay at a better maintained Quality Inn....be warned.

Room Tip: The fourth floor has that "smoke smell" once you exit the elevator, so ask the front desk...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Michael S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

128 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    27
    61
    27
    9
    4
See reviews for
32
50
10
20
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Ogden, Utah
Level Contributor
228 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 December 2013

This is a nice motel clean and staff is great to work with we stayed there three days
would stay there agian this place is clost to Seattle and the museum of flight easy access to freeway
The staff was very helpful

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yuma, AZ
Level Contributor
103 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 December 2013

We had a good stay for 3 days. The front desk was friendly. The room was clean. The bed was ok although a bit hard. It was quiet for sleeping except when sirens went by. But that only happened twice. We had a non smoking room but could smell cigarette smoke in the hallway. I asked about it and they said they still have some smoking rooms. We did not eat breakfast there but instead went to Shari's restaurant next door. Overall I would recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Treeless
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kamloops, Canada
Level Contributor
705 reviews
128 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 275 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 October 2013

this is a nice size. not too big. very comfortable. soft beds ! free Wi-Fi. good breakie. fairly quiet.
good value. ** could improve on the room coffee selection. not that much taste. ** and need bigger , better pillows :)

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rocketman000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 October 2013

This is a clean, quiet, well maintained hotel with a very attentive/knowledgeable staff. The location is central to many attractions in the Seattle area and a short drive from the Sea-Tac Airport. The hotel does not have a pool, but was not a concern. Having a small fridge, microwave, wi-fi and fresh coffee in the lobby was a plus. The breakfast room was clean and well maintained even during the "rush" hours of serving time. We plan to stay at this hotel on our next visit.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the top floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Texan4Real
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CA
Level Contributor
59 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 September 2013

We spent four nights at this Quality Inn. The staff was friendly. The room was large with microwave, fridge and free wi-fi. Our room was on the 4th floor and we could actually see skyscrapers of Seattle from our room. The have a nice breakfast room with quite a few tables, two waffle makers and all the usual offerings. The price was right too. We would stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank fungramma51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Spokane, Washington
Level Contributor
182 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 August 2013

We spent a couple of night here to go to a family event nearby. Our checkin and checkout were a breeze. We had a king bed, a desk with lamp and plug-ins and chargers and office chair, a comfy chair, refrigerator and microwave in the wooden armoire below the TV. The TV was flat-screen, cable, but no HighDefinition, so the picture was mediocre. Liked two sinks, one outside the shower/tub-toilet room. Comfortable bed. Only smelled a bit of cigarette smoke once when I entered the hotel; room was fine. Wi-fi was good. Breakfast was good for a continental breakfast: waffles, hard-boiled eggs, yogurt, toast, pastries, cereal, milk, bread. It's a little tricky to drive to/from, depending on your direction, but it wasn't a problem. We loved picking nearby blackberries and wish we were back in a week or so when they'd all be ripe!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jlrmac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Renton
2.8 mi away
Clarion Hotel
Clarion Hotel
#7 of 11 in Renton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 249 reviews
1.4 mi away
Red Lion Hotel and Conference Center-Seattle-Renton
1.9 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Seattle/Renton
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Larkspur Landing Renton
1.9 mi away
SpringHill Suites Seattle South/Renton
2.7 mi away
Hampton Inn Seattle/Southcenter
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Quality Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quality Inn

Property: Quality Inn
Address: 1850 Maple Valley Hwy, Renton, WA 98057 (Formerly Silver Cloud Inn)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Washington > Renton
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 11 Hotels in Renton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Quality Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 105
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Odigeo, Choice Hotels, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Quality Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quality Hotel Renton
Quality Inn Renton
Renton Quality Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing