We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Hotel But Limited Bed Choices/Availability”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hilton Garden Inn Seattle/Renton
Ranked #2 of 12 Hotels in Renton
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 13 May 2014

This is a nice hotel among three others in this part of Renton. Its the only one of the four with a restaurant. I made a reservation for a king room with the possibility for an upgrade. On arrival, the upgrade was not available, but no big deal, I'll go with my original reservation of the king. Upon entering the room, surprise, it was two double beds not the king. We returned to the front desk and was told the king rooms are all occupied. This reminds me of the Seinfeld episode when Jerry makes a car reservation but did not get a car because they were sold out. He says "You know how to take a reservation, but you don't know how to keep the reservation". Cynthia, at the front desk, apologized and gave us breakfast vouchers to make up for the room change. We ended up moving the two double beds together to make a king. Be for-warned that this hotel has limited king rooms otherwise its double beds. No queen size. They will take your king reservation, but you may not get it!

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PDX-Traveler-Guy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (760)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

480 - 486 of 760 reviews

Reviewed 12 May 2014

All good impression at the first glimpse. Friendly front desk customer service people, efficient check-in. Like all new facilities. Clean guest room with almost brand new towels. Good and hot breakfast. Convenient location near SEA. Reasonable pricing.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank I-chen Edward C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 May 2014

This hotel is worth every penny you would pay. We found this hotel close to the SeaTac airport and needed the free shuttle from the airport. We needed to pick up a rental car a little later and Richard drove us to the rental car facility. He also provided us directions to a very nice restauarant to find the best clam chouder in Seattle, he was spot on. Richard also arranged a driver to pick us up at the cruise port after out crusie. The hotel staff was very nice and the hotel was very clean. The breakfast buffet was also very good.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Garden Inn
Thank Kathy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 May 2014 via mobile

This hotel was nice for a simple overnight stay. The room is spacious. Nothing special. The people at the front desk were very helpful and sweet. I'd stay here again in order to make it to the airport on time. :)

Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Lily K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 May 2014

We typically stay here when visiting our son's family in Renton. It's nice and they have a bar open in the evenings. The breakfast is a good value if you book it online ahead of time, although we did not get breakfast this time.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Garden Inn
Thank carolynt267
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 April 2014

Not A Good Start Bit: Hilton reservations stated that this hotel is located in a re-development area of Renton. The fact that there is a “re-development” part of Renton should be a clue for those unfamiliar with the greater Seattle area. The hotel is most definitely not in that area known as the Landing or Renton Landing. I would guess the hotel was built thinking that more business parks and “corporate” Renton would develop around it. They did not. Hence, the very large “block” where the hotel is situated feels a bit like an island.

Mixed Bits: Location is difficult to describe. While, I would not let my wife go out after dark to pick up a few groceries or a bite to eat, the hotel is remarkably close to SEA-TAC; the airport. That is convenient of course, providing you mind your manners being sure to wave at the passengers as the planes fly overhead. The hotel is next to a Larkspur Landing (Extended Stay) property, and on a rather large “block” that includes some office parks. So, while you can take a stroll through these complexes. I would recommend limiting your strolls to this area. Better still, drive up to the actual Landing (again, where the hotel is NOT) (don’t confuse with name of long-term stay next door) and stroll the new shopping and restaurants there. It is quite a hike however--five exits north on the jam-packed highway 405.

The Sort of Good Bits: If you are flying in and out for one or two nights, you will undoubtedly avoid traffic laden and sometimes nail biting “rides” from and to SEA-TAC, you will not quite a bed to sleep in (see below on demonic linens). For that, and any “proximity” to Seattle and other major cities, you’d do better staying at one of the airport hotels.

The Other Bits: Economical compared to other hotels in the greater Seattle area. Many families, probably a result of lower rates. That said, other clientele reflected the somewhat “extreme economy” of the hotel. There are downsides to the activities that can take place in more economically priced hotels. In my experience, “guests” and “clientele” will raise to the level of cleanliness of a property. (See below for more on “extreme economy.”) There are conference facilities that I was told were “adequate.” A conference attendee told me that they seemed very good at the logistics part of things, but lacked some basics for handling groups, and even electronic devices for large groups. It seemed that my outlandish request for a power strip sapped the entirety of the hotel’s resources. I could see how this would be magnified by the needs of large groups.

Not So Much Of A Business Center Bit: During my stay, quite often, I found the hotel’s somewhat antiquated and very cramped “business center” filled with children playing games online, and laying out on the limited available floor space with tablets or cell phones. I have no problem with young ones, just the cramped quarters, and lack of access. I do wish the hotel would take the initiative to be sure that at least one of their two computers is free for business persons. The “business center” was barely wide enough to accommodate two desktop computers, space for you to push back your chair and then maybe a luxurious extra foot. The room is closed off, which if larger, would be quiet for business work. However, as small as it was, the closed room was simply cramped, stuffy and smelled of gym socks.

The wishing it was so-so bits: The “extreme economy.” The hotel is aged, nearly a historical landmark. Old spotty phones, ancient heating/cooling system with attendant groaning and wheezing throughout the night, worn carpet that smelled of sweaty socks and mildew, door frame to room and bathroom coming undone, door locks in need of attendance, other parts of the room and public areas “coming undone,” mildew in many areas of bath, slow draining sinks, old mildewed towels and demonic linens that did not even fit the beds (threatening to smother you in your sleep).

I am disappointed, as I thought HGI’s generally were on the upswing.. I’d recommend, 1) staying at the airport as a first alternate route and 2) if you must be in this particular area, try the Larkspur Landing long-term stay next door.

Room Tip: As to which dilapidated room, I can’t say, I’d recommend one part of the hotel over another.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mitch-On-The-Move
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 April 2014

I have stayed at this Hotel several times while traveling on business in the Seattle area. I found the hotel staff to be very professional and accommodating. The rooms were clean and quite. All around very nice just what I am looking for after a long day on the road.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Garden Inn
Thank Camilla Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Renton hotels
0.1 mi away
SpringHill Suites Seattle South/Renton
0.1 mi away
Larkspur Landing Renton
3 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Seattle/Renton
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
Hyatt Regency Lake Washington at Seattle’s Southport
0.1 mi away
TownePlace Suites Seattle South/Renton
1.2 mi away
Clarion Hotel
Clarion Hotel
#10 of 12 in Renton
262 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Garden Inn Seattle/Renton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Garden Inn Seattle/Renton

Address: 1801 E Valley Road, Renton, WA 98057-3364
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Washington > Renton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 12 Hotels in Renton
Price Range: £66 - £163 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hilton Garden Inn Seattle/Renton 3*
Number of rooms: 150
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hilton Garden Inn Seattle/Renton hotel is minutes from Seattle-Tacoma Airport (Sea-Tac) and downtown Seattle, as well as attractions such as the ShoWare Center, Starfire Sports Complex, and Seahawks Training Facility. Our Hilton Garden Inn Renton hotel offers a free airport shuttle, free WiFi spacious rooms, an on-site cafe, lounge, convenience mart, and more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Ebookers, Southall Travel, Hilton Hotels Direct, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Hilton Garden Inn Seattle/Renton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Garden Inn Seattle/Renton Hotel Renton
Hilton Garden Inn Renton
Hilton Renton
Renton Hilton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing