We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“OK, but luke warm hospitality” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Huckleberry House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Roslyn
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Huckleberry House
Ranked #1 of 1 Roslyn B&B and Inns
Toronto
Level Contributor
36 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“OK, but luke warm hospitality”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 June 2012

The woman of the house was away. The man was kind of busy and distracted. The price was Ok. The room was nice enough. Our main beef was that the breakfast didn't get going until 9 AM. If we knew that, we would asked for a bed only rate and been on the road by 8 AM.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jmk60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

47 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    40
    3
    3
    1
    0
See reviews for
11
28
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Gig Harbor, Washington
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 May 2012 via mobile

Don and Sibyl make you stay AMAZING! Our first stay was 12 years ago and we had fond memories! Coming back this stay was great! I even got an amazing scone recipe to boot! We will be back!

  • Stayed May 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank drewangus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kirkland, WA
Level Contributor
43 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 May 2012

This was our 3rd visit to Huckleberry House. We meet friends in Roslyn to go mushrooming and while they stay in several "boarding houses" across the street, we stay at our favorite B&B! Don & Sibyl are great hosts. We feel like friends when we stay here and love that they have a room for us folks that can't leave their dog at home. The food is yummy and they even had vegetarian sausage for those of us who don't eat meat. Sibyl's scones are to die for! While the bed in the "dog room" is small, its comfortable and cozy. We love that we are right in town, but its very quiet up on the hill. A nice view over the town. We used our coupon from our Chinook Book and received 50% off the 2nd night. We love Roslyn and the Huckleberry House!

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank captainzap71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bellingham, Washington
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 May 2012

I took a few says off during the week to get away, and wanted to go somewhere quite. The Huckleberry house turned out to be an excellent choice. The Cicely Suite was large, comfortable and quiet. The downtown area is about a block away, and the historic cemeteries were just a few minutes walk from the house. There are trails, beautiful hikes, outstanding pizza (just down the street), the historic Brick, (historic both for being the longest operating saloon in Washington, and "Holling's Bar in Northern Exposure), and the Roslyn Brewery, just a few steps from the B&B. There's lots to do, but a few of us spent one of the mornings just hanging out the kitchen, talking about our travels with Don, the owner.

All in all one of the best short getaways I've taken. They say the town is less subdued on weekends in the summer, which could be a lot of fun.

I'll be heading back there as soon as I have the chance.

Room Tip: If you can get a room on the second floor, take it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank scott s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eugene
Level Contributor
25 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 May 2012

Came to see the buildings were Northern Exposure was filmed. My wife and I learned a lot about the history of Roslyn back in it's coal mining days. Our room was very nice and we both slept well after walking the town. We took many pictures and can't wait to return. Both Don and Sybil were great hosts. The food was very good and the other people who were there when we were had interesting stories to tell.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tom B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Spokane
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 January 2012

Stayed here two nights for a snowshoeing getaway. Don and Sybil were so friendly and down to earth. They built a house next door so the B&B is dedicated to the guests. This means you have the kitchen and common rooms availalbe to you, which makes it a home away form home. The rooms are fantastic...clean and cozy. It was a "full house" while we were there but never felt crowded or noisy. Would definatelyt stay here again!

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lvpassport
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 January 2012

Super charming. Breakfast was delicious. A wonderful area to get away and very close to Seattle. We hiked up the hills on the outskirts of town and the views were wonderful.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mary C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Roslyn
2.7 mi away
BEST WESTERN Snowcap Lodge
3.1 mi away
Timber Lodge Inn
Timber Lodge Inn
#4 of 7 in Cle Elum
4.0 of 5 bubbles 65 reviews
4.1 mi away
Econo Lodge near Suncadia Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Stewart Lodge
Stewart Lodge
#6 of 7 in Cle Elum
3.0 of 5 bubbles 68 reviews
4.2 mi away
Cle Elum Travelers Inn
Cle Elum Travelers Inn
#7 of 7 in Cle Elum
3.0 of 5 bubbles 31 reviews
24.2 mi away
Hampton Inn Ellensburg
Hampton Inn Ellensburg
#2 of 11 in Ellensburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 458 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Huckleberry House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Huckleberry House

Property: Huckleberry House
Address: 301 Pensylvania Avenue, PO Box 327, Roslyn, WA 98941
Region: United States > Washington > Roslyn
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Roslyn
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Home away from home located in historic Roslyn WA. Walking distance to down town. Filming site of Northern Exposure. All rooms have private baths. Use all natural, organic and recycled products when ever possible. Great views of the area. Full house available for small groups. Lots of outdoor recreation available right outside your door. Innkeepers Don and Sibyl ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing