We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A Unique Inn it was...”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Shelburne Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Shelburne Inn
Ranked #1 of 1 Seaview B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Coquille, Oregon, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“A Unique Inn it was...”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 November 2012

The Shelburne Inn was indeed unique. We felt like we were back in the 1890's. The Inn was charming to say the least. We stayed in room #12 and it was lovely. We had a beautiful stained glass window in one corner and a view of the gardens from our balcony. We were there with a group of about 10 couples. The innkeeper prepared a special 5 course dinner especially for us, which included a sampling of fine wines specially selected to go with each course. Our innkeeper was charming and treated us like royalty, making sure everything was perfect for our stay. A gourmet breakfast completed our stay. The inn is a short distance from the beach. I'm sure we will return again.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Karen T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

202 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    127
    44
    15
    9
    7
See reviews for
32
124
12
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (69)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Coos Bay, Oregon
Level Contributor
29 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 November 2012

From the moment we walked through the doors of the Shelburne Inn we felt like we were a part of the family. Check in was a breeze, our room was just like the photo on the website and more. We stayed in room #3. We were up there with a group of 10 couples and pretty much took over the inn. The owner was so gracious and very accomodating. Our afternoon wine and cheese party was spilling out into the gathering area upstairs but they did not mind.....We even invited other guests staying there to join us. The dinner we had was very elegant. It was a gourmet meal with wine pairing unlike anything we had ever experienced. There was nothing that I did not like about the dinner. Dave even came out and gave a brief explaination about the different wines and what they go with. The next morning for breakfast we had the mushroom and spinich eggs with potatoes and fresh fruit mmmmmm. Even the coffee was really good! We will be back for sure!

Room Tip: Like I said, we had room 3 upstairs to the right and at the end of the hall. I do not think we share...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stacey M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, Washington
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 November 2012

Stayed here back in June; made the effort to do so again last week. Room 11 has a lovely little balcony and is incredibly charming. The entire environment says "relax."

Phil the bartender in the restaurant is a great conversationalist *and* he is brilliant at recommending -- and mixing -- just the right drink to go with the most amazing meals that come out of the kitchen. On this last visit, the chef had picked some wild mushrooms; I didn't have that brandied mushroom appetizer for dinner (had the Willapa oysters instead...melt in your mouth!), but I did eat his chef's special scramble for breakfast with the porcini mushrooms. Amazing. The bar area is perfect for chatting with fellow guests and diners.

It's a nice walk down to the beach in Seaview. Really can't say enough nice things about the inn and environs. I'll be back for sure!!

Room Tip: Have only stayed in Room 11. I'll try another for good measure next time.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rpanne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portland, Oregon, United States
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 November 2012

The ambiance of the Shelburne Inn is charming. The main common gathering room lends itself to a variety of activities. Guests can find a quiet corner to read, visit around the fireplace, or surround the table for games. The décor mimics an old Irish or English hotel. An abundance of common areas make you feel like you’ve just returned home. Stained glass windows across the front of the hotel were salvaged from a church in England and are late 1800’s vintage. Lots of antique furniture, stained glass, and interesting accessories are found throughout the halls and guest rooms.
Immediately, the helpful, friendly staff made us feel at home, taking care of every need. The common rooms and guest rooms were clean, neat, and well appointed.
The pub is quaint and inviting, and although we didn’t eat there, my husband enjoyed a pint or two. The restaurant offered an interesting array of well prepared and beautifully presented dishes with wild mushrooms as one of the main attractions. Although on the expensive side, the restaurant is well worth it for a special dinner. Breakfast and service personnel were excellent!
I definitely recommend the Shelburne Inn and hope to return there someday.
The Coffeys

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Helen C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liberty Lake, Washington
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 October 2012

My wife and I stayed at the Shelburne and will very likely make it a tradition for that week-end get away! We were greeted by a very friendly and accomodating staff at check in. Having never been to Seaview before we inquired about what to do in the area and were given excellent information. Our room was very comfortable and quiet. It was very clean and my wife and I felt right at home. Now, the best part...The food was excellent and we looked forward to the quiet breakfast each morning. The Inn Keeper's breakfast was outstanding as was the atmosphere. The restaurant served great dinner as well and the personal attention by the owner as he explained teh various ingredients in the specially prepared meal was both intriguing and informative. We love this place!

Room Tip: Ask the staff for a recomendation when making your reservation as rooms vary in size and placement i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jerrol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Australia
Level Contributor
94 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 October 2012

I was looking for an Inn that was somewhere on the Washington Coast and could be reached from both Vancouver and Portland. The Shelburne Inn was the perfect solution. This delightful historic building offers a range of quaint comfortable rooms, plus a bar and formal dining room. Our room was a little on the small side with all our luggage (the end of a 3 week trip from Australia) but it was cosy and cute. We only went there to sleep so no problem. The bar is very English - high risk because it's comfortable enough to stay there all day. Dinner in the dining room was good, no need to leave the premises. I wish we had been able to sample the breakfast but, unfortunately we had to leave at 7am to get back to Vancouver to catch a plane back home to Australia via LA. If you want a few days away with friends, this is a great choice.

Room Tip: Go for one of the bigger rooms, preferably one with a deck
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lyndal C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
160 reviews
67 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 September 2012 via mobile

We only stayed one night here and I wish it could have been more. The place is quite enchanting, with lots of period features and polished wood. It feels like staying in an English country manor house. There is an uplifting restaurant downstairs and also a pub-style bar, both of which are delightful places to linger.... Food was perhaps a tiny bit on the expensive side - but good. Plenty of excellent local wines available too. This hotel is not on the beach (5-10 mins walk) and is also a good few blocks south of the main Long Beach eating area. But in our opinion it was well worth travelling to, and once we were back there, we didn't want to eat or drink anywhere else.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TiredTrotter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Seaview
4.0 mi away
Lighthouse Oceanfront Resort
1.9 mi away
Chautauqua Lodge
Chautauqua Lodge
#7 of 8 in Long Beach
3.0 of 5 bubbles 245 reviews
0.8 mi away
Adrift Hotel and Spa
Adrift Hotel and Spa
#1 of 8 in Long Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,608 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Breakers Hotel and Condo Suites
2.3 mi away
The Anchorage Cottages
The Anchorage Cottages
#4 of 8 in Long Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 87 reviews
0.9 mi away
The #1 Coastal Inn and Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shelburne Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shelburne Inn

Property: Shelburne Inn
Address: 4415 Pacific Highway, Seaview, WA 98644-4214
Region: United States > Washington > Seaview
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Seaview
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Shelburne Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located just a 10-minute walk from the Pacific seacoast and established in 1896, the Shelburne Inn is the oldest continuously operating hotel in the state of WA. Period antique American and European furnishings lend authenticity to the decor, which is accented by the work of regional artists. Complimentary gourmet breakfasts are served in the elegant Shelburne Restaurant dining room which is also open to the public. The Shelburne Restaurant & Pub offer an award-winning wine list and feature hand-crafted cocktails and micro-brewed beer on tap. The cuisine is based upon the fresh, seasonal bounty of the region. The Shelburne Inn offers modern amenities such as free Wi-Fi and computer library. All-day coffee and tea service and designer toiletries complete the amenity package for inn guests. All rooms have private bath and many have an exterior deck or balcony. The Shelburne Inn is an ideal location for weddings, reunions, group retreats and business meetings, as well as for a romantic getaway for two. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Traveltool, S.L.U., Agoda, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Shelburne Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shelburne Country Hotel Seaview
Country Inn Seaview
Seaview Country Inn
Shelburne Inn Seaview, Washington

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing