We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A Wonderful Place to Stay”
Review of Shelburne Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Shelburne Inn
Ranked #1 of 1 Seaview B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Richland, WA
Level Contributor
52 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“A Wonderful Place to Stay”
Reviewed 23 March 2013

We have been to the Shelburne Inn several times in the past 15 years or so and never cease to be amazed at their warm, welcoming and friendly attitude toward their guests. The Inn was running a "by invitation only" special for returning guests which offered two nights in a deluxe room for the price of one plus a Reiki Treatment and discounts on wine and appetizers at dinner in the restaurant. We jumped right on the offer. It was a splendid weekend at the Shelburne. Our room was warm, inviting, immaculately clean and comfortable. The bed was superb and we both enjoyed a good night's sleep. TV is not available, so there is no distraction. The only suggestion for improvement is to install added lighting in the rooms so a guest can read more comfortably in the room. The lobby and fireplace was very inviting for just sitting to while away the time in relaxed comfort, in casual conversation, or for reading. The seating was comfortable and the lighting was satisfactory. We met the owner several times during the weekend and he was sincerely interested in our comfort and enjoyment. Breakfast (part of the package) was an enjoyable experience in the restaurant with a friendly and attentive server and interesting choices on the menu. The first morning I had the "DDD" Special (David's Downright Delicious breakfast) which turned out to be a superb and tasty omlet that morning and I thoroughly enjoyed it. The second morning I went for The Shelburne Standard: two farm eggs, any style, served with turmeric red potatoes, house made toast, and choice of bacon or pit ham. The presentation was well-done and the taste was terrific. You cannot go wrong with either of these choices (probably the same goes for the remainder of the menu selections). We will return to the Shelburne as it is an extremely nice place for a get-a-way at reasonable cost.

Room Tip: Each room is unique and offers its own individuality. Noise is not a problem anywhere in the Inn...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Samuel D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

204 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    128
    45
    15
    9
    7
See reviews for
32
125
13
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (70)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Hillsboro, Oregon
2 reviews
Reviewed 13 March 2013

The Shelburne Inn is amazing!! Our room was delightfully cozy, clean, and unique. Love the bathtub!! The staff is attentive and friendly, the pub fun with great choices in adult beverages, and the breakfast in the dining room was delicious. I would recommend the Shelburne Inn to anyone looking for an experience beyond compare.

Room Tip: Looking at the rooms on-line is a definite plus! We were traveling with our kids and 21/2 year old...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Luanne H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lacey, Washington
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 January 2013

It has been 15 plus years since our last visit to the Shelburne Inn. We had a very special birthday to celebrate and choose to go back and re-connect. We had high expectations (good memories improve with time); these expectations were exceeded. David and Laurie are superb innkeepers who make everyone feel more than special and deliver a quality experience. They always take the time to stop and focus on just you. The Inn is a perfect get away. No phones, no TV’s; just bliss.

My wife wanted to bring our dog along to play and walk on the beach and they recommended the Oceanside Animal Clinic to board our dog. It was just blocks away, very friendly and caring.

Great Breakfasts in the morning followed by a long walk on the beach trail with our dog. Enjoyed a light lunch at the Shelburne Pub with a good micro-brew, and then back to the beach for another stroll. Drop the dog off at 4 and spend the afternoon at the Pub practicing the fine art of doing nothing.

At dinner, my wife had the pork loin & I had the salmon. We asked David to select a wine for us. Not too dry, not to sweet and not too tart. He sat down with us and studied his extensive wine list and came up with the perfect pairing. Both meals were excellent.
It was a perfect weekend thanks to David and Laurie. The only regret was not returning sooner. We are looking forward to another visit.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tom M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Skamokawa, WA
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 January 2013 via mobile

Stayed one night for business, added another for pleasure. We experienced attention to detail from our arrival to departure. The room was charming, comfortable and well appointed (see photos), the onsite pub perfect for lunch and a late drink and I was able to get hot tea as early as 5am in the lobby then settle down with my laptop and wifi to get some early work done. Dinner from locally sourced foods, including wild mushrooms was great and there's something for everyone on the wine list. Looking forward to our next visit.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KathleeenM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 January 2013

We asked at our hotel for a "nice" place to have dinner, somewhere they would go for a special occassion. The Shelburne Country Inn was immediately suggested and we were so glad they did. My husband and I went to Long Beach just to reconnect with each other after weeks and weeks of holiday and work chaos. Dinner here fit the bill. While we didn't stay at the Inn, the dinner was really delicious. My husband had the salmon and they were very accommodating with his changes (mashed instead of rice pilaf) and I had the 5 cheese crab mac and cheese... It was so delicious I asked for the recipe. The chef came out and actually walked me through the entire process of preparing it! The price was lower than we would of paid for the same meal at home, so we were happy about that as well. We will definitely go back!

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BombShell253
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Puyallup, Washington
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 24 January 2013

It is a beautifully appointed Bed & Breakfast with a staff that immediately makes you feel like an old friend. Low-Key atmosphere, great food - eat there at least one night - and very well maintained in every aspect. I can't wait to go back.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pam W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lacey, Washington
1 review
Reviewed 5 January 2013

The Inn has a refreshing atmosphere. Its' elegance transforms you. The charm melts away your anxieties as you become relaxed and pampered by the service. The food is savory as your taste buds awake to a finer dimension of awareness, the suggested wine selections were on the mark of our expectations and yes we thoroughly enjoyed the Shelburne. We woke up renewed and eager to revisit this oasis.

Room Tip: Get a room with a balcony, even if it is one shared. We stayed at room #4 and found it quaint, love...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank vannelli123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Seaview
4.0 mi away
Lighthouse Oceanfront Resort
1.9 mi away
Chautauqua Lodge
Chautauqua Lodge
#6 of 8 in Long Beach
3.0 of 5 bubbles 251 reviews
0.8 mi away
Adrift Hotel and Spa
Adrift Hotel and Spa
#1 of 8 in Long Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,644 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Breakers Hotel and Condo Suites
2.3 mi away
The Anchorage Cottages
The Anchorage Cottages
#5 of 8 in Long Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 88 reviews
0.9 mi away
The #1 Coastal Inn and Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shelburne Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shelburne Inn

Property: Shelburne Inn
Address: 4415 Pacific Highway, Seaview, WA 98644-4214
Region: United States > Washington > Seaview
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Seaview
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Shelburne Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located just a 10-minute walk from the Pacific seacoast and established in 1896, the Shelburne Inn is the oldest continuously operating hotel in the state of WA. Period antique American and European furnishings lend authenticity to the decor, which is accented by the work of regional artists. Complimentary gourmet breakfasts are served in the elegant Shelburne Restaurant dining room which is also open to the public. The Shelburne Restaurant & Pub offer an award-winning wine list and feature hand-crafted cocktails and micro-brewed beer on tap. The cuisine is based upon the fresh, seasonal bounty of the region. The Shelburne Inn offers modern amenities such as free Wi-Fi and computer library. All-day coffee and tea service and designer toiletries complete the amenity package for inn guests. All rooms have private bath and many have an exterior deck or balcony. The Shelburne Inn is an ideal location for weddings, reunions, group retreats and business meetings, as well as for a romantic getaway for two. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Traveltool, S.L.U., Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Shelburne Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shelburne Country Hotel Seaview
Country Inn Seaview
Seaview Country Inn
Shelburne Inn Seaview, Washington

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing