We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A delightful spot”
Review of Shelburne Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Shelburne Inn
Ranked #1 of 1 Seaview B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Seattle, Washington
Level 6 Contributor
566 reviews
95 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 185 helpful votes
“A delightful spot”
Reviewed 10 October 2013

I came here with 8 other college sorority friends and we felt very welcome. It started with little printed welcome messages which carried the insignia of our sorority, and then was followed up with a special bouquet of roses in our colors. Very nice ! The staff could not have been any more gracious and accommodating. They even let us put some of our snack hors d'oeuvres in the front desk refrigerator, along with our wine. This is an old, old hotel, which has been updated, but as a result, not everything is perfect. It sits on a busy highway, so the traffic can be a bit noisy, especially at night. Some of the rooms had roof top porches, which was very enjoyable for sitting outside with a glass of wine. We ate in the dining room, which features a well known and highly rated restaurant. Dinner was delicious, with the exception that it could be even better if the plates were heated. Some of the dishes were on the luke warm side. Also, the salmon was overcooked. Our server was very nice, but sometimes a bit slow as dinner did not arrive until an hour and 10 minutes after we sat down. We did ask for individual checks and it took an awfully long time.

After dinner, we were delighted that the two chefs came out along with the owner, and talked to us about the various dishes and mushrooms which were in season.

Room Tip: Try to get on the back side, to stay away from the road
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sandy N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

207 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    131
    45
    15
    9
    7
See reviews for
33
126
13
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (71)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
portland
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 September 2013

We have never stayed at a B&B or inn before so this was a new experience and we have nothing to compare it to. The woman at the front desk was very friendly and made check in quite simple.

The inn was very interesting, lots of amazing woodwork and stained glass. The room was small, yet comfortable and the 2nd floor patio was great. It was a bit warm so we left the patio door open all night and enjoyed the ocean air :) I was wondering if it would be noisy from other guests but we did not hear anyone.

We wished that the pub stayed open a bit later as there are no bars/restaurants really within short walking distance but we managed.

In the morning we went to the dining room for breakfast and although the service was honestly a bit ..... different ( not bad, not great.. not sure how to explain it ) and they were out of almost everything on the menu what we ended up with was absolutely delicious so I would certainly give the food 5 stars.

This was not a place I would stay if the kids were with us, I would be afraid that they would make too much noise or break something! Maybe the suites have more room but I would not have put more than the 2 of us in the room we had.

If you are someone like us that likes a little distraction before bed and are used to TV at night I'd just bring a laptop or tablet - we did just fine that way!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank PDXbree
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Virginia
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 September 2013 via mobile

Two days at the Shelburne!
From the Pub, a charming old word feel.
To the Dining Room, a truly delightful culinary experience!
The Inns wine list was exceptional.
An accommodating staff,made our stay a delight
G & L

Stayed September 2013
Helpful?
Thank LCQ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
Reviewed 4 September 2013

Top (TOP!) quality all the way. From the furnishings to the friendly folks working there to exquisite dining (great wine list...world class), lovely setting....Everything tasteful, comfortable and guest-centered. I want to come back.....for a vacation next time.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dick F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shoreline, Washington, United States
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 August 2013

my husband and I stayed just stayed at the Inn in a suite for our first anniversary....the room was $200 a night!!....the room wasn't worth that cost. The bed was not comfortable....the Victorian furniture wasn't either....the shower curtain surrounding the claw foot tub was a nightmare...right outta Psycho..room was not the cleanest ...opened a big cabinet and found an old boom box with a broken CD player (which is what we wanted)...and behind it was an old empty bottle of wine rollin around. The gardens are run down and unkempt which is a shame...the lobby junked up with the owners ugly pottery and mismatched junky furniture. The pub food was good but dinner was a joke....the owner was waiting tables..a very nice man...but his kitchen staff really fell down....we ordered an overpriced appetizer and had to wait a half hour or more and mind you this is a small place!! he apologized but at the same time didnt offer anything else except a bottle of wine we bought...no bread or salads on the house kinda thing...and then when dinner finally came my husbands Fettuchini dish was soooo salty it was inedible! so quality control was off! it had to go back. My duck was rubber! it was total $120 the owner NEVER compd a thing! and well he should have. He was too interested in selling his ugly pottery to the half drunk couple next to us! Dont waste your money...eat lunch have a beer and stay elsewhere..its just not what it used to be and the value is not there.

Room Tip: if you stay get the least expensive room....The Inn is on a main street with the only grocery store...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Meegan D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, Washington
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 12 August 2013

Do you want to have a birthday of a lifetime? Come to the Shelburne Inn. Innkeepers David Campiche and Laurie Anderson make the historic Shelburne Inn a dream come true. My wife and I spent my 60th birthday weekend with the inn keepers and their guests: .the room, classic; the food, incomparable including wild mushrooms foraged by David and other delights of the earth including fresh greens and sea beans, breads by Laurie, the staff were friendly, attentive, polite, helpful, and so much more including two 1985 bottles of Pinot Noir from David's private collection...breakfast is heaven to wake to including David's special of the day, like scrambled eggs with wild foraged mushrooms and water cress...the ambiance is quite eclectic and the inn quite historic...comfortable, peaceful, quiet, happy, personable...rooms and public spaces filled with interesting gift ideas and incredible pottery from the innkeeper's pottery wheel. This is an inn in the historic sense with space to find your own space or have fun exchanging your adventures with the other travelers in the inn. Our visit was visit was truly memorable. Thank you David and Laurie... Michael and Judi Hoffman

Room Tip: We like room 17 down stairs since the bedroom is separate from the sitting room and it looks out ont...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michael H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
Reviewed 26 July 2013 via mobile

We stayed in the area but went to the Shelburne Restaurant and pub 3 times. The food and drink were truly exceptional. The service was dazzling and a true "historical Inn" experience. My highest recommendation.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank 49dave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Seaview
1.9 mi away
Chautauqua Lodge
Chautauqua Lodge
#7 of 8 in Long Beach
257 reviews
4.0 mi away
Lighthouse Oceanfront Resort
1.2 mi away
Cedars Ocean View Inn
Cedars Ocean View Inn
#8 of 8 in Long Beach
81 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Adrift Hotel and Spa
Adrift Hotel and Spa
#1 of 8 in Long Beach
1,715 reviews
2.5 mi away
Breakers Hotel and Condo Suites
1.0 mi away
Best Western Long Beach Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shelburne Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shelburne Inn

Property: Shelburne Inn
Address: 4415 Pacific Highway, Seaview, WA 98644-4214
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Washington > Seaview
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Seaview
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Shelburne Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located just a 10-minute walk from the Pacific seacoast and established in 1896, the Shelburne Inn is the oldest continuously operating hotel in the state of WA. Period antique American and European furnishings lend authenticity to the decor, which is accented by the work of regional artists. Complimentary gourmet breakfasts are served in the elegant Shelburne Restaurant dining room which is also open to the public. The Shelburne Restaurant & Pub offer an award-winning wine list and feature hand-crafted cocktails and micro-brewed beer on tap. The cuisine is based upon the fresh, seasonal bounty of the region. The Shelburne Inn offers modern amenities such as free Wi-Fi and computer library. All-day coffee and tea service and designer toiletries complete the amenity package for inn guests. All rooms have private bath and many have an exterior deck or balcony. The Shelburne Inn is an ideal location for weddings, reunions, group retreats and business meetings, as well as for a romantic getaway for two. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, 5viajes2012 S.L., Booking.com, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Shelburne Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shelburne Country Hotel Seaview
Country Inn Seaview
Seaview Country Inn
Shelburne Inn Seaview, Washington

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing