We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Quaint with a very good restaurant” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Shelburne Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Shelburne Inn
Ranked #1 of 1 Seaview B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Yachats, Oregon, United States
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Quaint with a very good restaurant”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 May 2014

We stayed here after finding it difficult to locate a fine restaurant in Astoria as most are closed on Sunday and Monday. We enjoyed good service, excellent dinner, and nice breakfast which was included with the room. However, if one has difficult walking be certain to inquire about rooms on the first level as the stairs are very steep and very narrow. I would rate the dinning as superior for lunch and dinner, but as to the room quality be prepared to pay a little more for the quaintness and shy on comfort.

Room Tip: I believe there two rooms on the first level with showers.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Richard C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

198 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    125
    43
    15
    8
    7
See reviews for
30
122
12
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (67)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Portland Oregon
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 April 2014

My wife and I stayed at the Shelburne Inn Bed & Breakfast for two nights. We very much enjoyed our stay, primarily for three reasons: (1) the wonderful breakfasts, which we ordered directly from the Shelburne Inn restaurant's breakfast menu; (2) the incredibly comfortable matresses, which the owner said (and I believe him based on the great night's sleep I got) were of premium quality; and the fact they have no TVs in the rooms, which forced us to go to a neighborhood sports restaurant to watch our home team's NBA playoff game ... and had a good meal there (the Lone Roo). We thoroughly enjoyed our stay and would go there again, if we decide to visit the Long Beach peninsula again.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Richard S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sacramento, California
Level Contributor
44 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 March 2014

We were visiting family on the Long Beach Peninsula for a week. They very kindly ensconced us here at the Shelburne. The whole ambiance is so warm and welcoming. We were in room 12 which overlooks the lovely garden areas. We were able to enjoy the balcony a few times due to the pretty Spring time weather. The breakfast which are included in the room rate are amazing! Not the usual fare...this is full on yummy, you have your choice of about 8 different choices for breakfast, amazing! The servers are terrific and David is a hoot! Our bed was comfy cozy and so relaxing!! Thanks!!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank timskim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
68 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 March 2014

A very comfortable stay at a unique place. I would stay again.

Roughly 25 minutes from Astoria, we stayed here when Astoria was full. We had two rooms, both with doubles, and had a comfortable stay. Breakfast was outstanding! A grocery store across the street was convenient, and the area was close to the waterfront.

This place is not like a normal hotel, so be aware of that. For us, that was a plus, but if you want a "typical" hotel experience, look elsewhere.

Room Tip: They have the doors open to view when not occupied. We looked around at many and found quite a diver...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank John S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 January 2014

This inn is in a small town, which could put you in mind of a New England village if you walk the residential streets. There is a boardwalk in easy walking distance from the inn, and a paved path through the beach grass. (You will appreciate a nice walk after the excellent breakfast at the inn.)

We find the accommodations very comfortable, well-maintained and charming. The owner and employees are unfailingly helpful.

Very much recommend the Shelburne Inn if you appreciate a gracious step back in time.

Room Tip: Use the inn's website to view the rooms to choose the one just right for you. If you have diffi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ElsaAnn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Washington
Level Contributor
137 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 December 2013

The Long Beach Peninsula can be a bit rainy in December...but if you want to cheer yourself (or your spouse) up just head for the Shelburne Inn. The 100+ year-old inn is really authentically charming. If you want a big, modern, slick room and facility this is not the place for you...if you like antiques, period furniture, sincerely nice people and great food, you'll be very happy at the Shelburne. Dinner in the restaurant was first class. The owner, who doubles as your dinner server, was very personable. We told him what kind of wine we liked and he helped us choose an excellent French Bordeaux from his cellar...I was very surprised when it cost under $40 a bottle, it was excellent! We went just before Christmas and the lobby and dining room were very festive. All in all a very great experience!

Room Tip: Room #14 is very comfortable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Maupinman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shelton, Washington, United States
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 October 2013

We stayed two nights, and generally it was a good experience. The lunch in the lounge was very good, ($10 for a martini and $7 for a 1/2 glass of wine was a little much) Dinner was also very good, as was the complimentary breakfast. The large shower in room 16 was great1
I told the lady at check in that we were there to celebrate my 80th birthday, and I was disappointed that it was not acknowledged with even a glass of wine or dessert. You are only 80 one time!
Otherwise it was a pleasant visit.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dick P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Seaview
4.0 mi away
Lighthouse Oceanfront Resort
13.9 mi away
Cannery Pier Hotel
Cannery Pier Hotel
#1 of 14 in Astoria
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,147 reviews
0.8 mi away
Adrift Hotel and Spa
Adrift Hotel and Spa
#1 of 8 in Long Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,575 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Breakers Hotel and Condo Suites
2.3 mi away
The Anchorage Cottages
The Anchorage Cottages
#4 of 8 in Long Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 86 reviews
1.0 mi away
Best Western Long Beach Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shelburne Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shelburne Inn

Property: Shelburne Inn
Address: 4415 Pacific Highway, Seaview, WA 98644-4214
Region: United States > Washington > Seaview
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Seaview
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Shelburne Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located just a 10-minute walk from the Pacific seacoast and established in 1896, the Shelburne Inn is the oldest continuously operating hotel in the state of WA. Period antique American and European furnishings lend authenticity to the decor, which is accented by the work of regional artists. Complimentary gourmet breakfasts are served in the elegant Shelburne Restaurant dining room for guests of the inn. Also open to the public, the Shelburne Restaurant & Pub offer an award-winning wine list and feature micro-brewed beer on tap. The cuisine is based upon the fresh, seasonal bounty of the region. The Shelburne Inn offers modern amenities such as free Wi-Fi and computer library. Freshly baked cookies upon arrival, all-day coffee and tea service and designer toiletries complete the amenity package for inn guests. All rooms have private bath and many have an exterior deck or balcony. The Shelburne Inn is an ideal location for weddings, reunions, group retreats and business meetings, as well as for a romantic getaway for two. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Odigeo, Agoda and Ebookers so you can book your Shelburne Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shelburne Country Hotel Seaview
Country Inn Seaview
Seaview Country Inn
Shelburne Inn Seaview, Washington

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing