We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“"Shelburne Superb"”
Review of Shelburne Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Shelburne Inn
Ranked #1 of 1 Seaview B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Surrey
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“"Shelburne Superb"”
Reviewed 4 May 2014

Shelburne is becoming a regular stopover for my wife and I on our trips to Oregon. Food and especially the included breakfast are excellent. The rooms, although small, are very intimate and quaint. The staff are very friendly and helpful and the historic nature , rickety and steep stairs and low ceilings make the Shelburne unique. Location is not the best for shopping or sightseeing but there are stunning beaches nearby. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Michael S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

207 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    131
    45
    15
    9
    7
See reviews for
33
126
13
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (71)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Yachats, Oregon, United States
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 3 May 2014

We stayed here after finding it difficult to locate a fine restaurant in Astoria as most are closed on Sunday and Monday. We enjoyed good service, excellent dinner, and nice breakfast which was included with the room. However, if one has difficult walking be certain to inquire about rooms on the first level as the stairs are very steep and very narrow. I would rate the dinning as superior for lunch and dinner, but as to the room quality be prepared to pay a little more for the quaintness and shy on comfort.

Room Tip: I believe there two rooms on the first level with showers.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Richard C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portland Oregon
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 27 April 2014

My wife and I stayed at the Shelburne Inn Bed & Breakfast for two nights. We very much enjoyed our stay, primarily for three reasons: (1) the wonderful breakfasts, which we ordered directly from the Shelburne Inn restaurant's breakfast menu; (2) the incredibly comfortable matresses, which the owner said (and I believe him based on the great night's sleep I got) were of premium quality; and the fact they have no TVs in the rooms, which forced us to go to a neighborhood sports restaurant to watch our home team's NBA playoff game ... and had a good meal there (the Lone Roo). We thoroughly enjoyed our stay and would go there again, if we decide to visit the Long Beach peninsula again.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Richard S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sacramento, California
Level 5 Contributor
45 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 March 2014

We were visiting family on the Long Beach Peninsula for a week. They very kindly ensconced us here at the Shelburne. The whole ambiance is so warm and welcoming. We were in room 12 which overlooks the lovely garden areas. We were able to enjoy the balcony a few times due to the pretty Spring time weather. The breakfast which are included in the room rate are amazing! Not the usual fare...this is full on yummy, you have your choice of about 8 different choices for breakfast, amazing! The servers are terrific and David is a hoot! Our bed was comfy cozy and so relaxing!! Thanks!!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank timskim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
67 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 March 2014

A very comfortable stay at a unique place. I would stay again.

Roughly 25 minutes from Astoria, we stayed here when Astoria was full. We had two rooms, both with doubles, and had a comfortable stay. Breakfast was outstanding! A grocery store across the street was convenient, and the area was close to the waterfront.

This place is not like a normal hotel, so be aware of that. For us, that was a plus, but if you want a "typical" hotel experience, look elsewhere.

Room Tip: They have the doors open to view when not occupied. We looked around at many and found quite a diver...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank John S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 January 2014

This inn is in a small town, which could put you in mind of a New England village if you walk the residential streets. There is a boardwalk in easy walking distance from the inn, and a paved path through the beach grass. (You will appreciate a nice walk after the excellent breakfast at the inn.)

We find the accommodations very comfortable, well-maintained and charming. The owner and employees are unfailingly helpful.

Very much recommend the Shelburne Inn if you appreciate a gracious step back in time.

Room Tip: Use the inn's website to view the rooms to choose the one just right for you. If you have diffi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ElsaAnn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Washington
Level 6 Contributor
137 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 December 2013

The Long Beach Peninsula can be a bit rainy in December...but if you want to cheer yourself (or your spouse) up just head for the Shelburne Inn. The 100+ year-old inn is really authentically charming. If you want a big, modern, slick room and facility this is not the place for you...if you like antiques, period furniture, sincerely nice people and great food, you'll be very happy at the Shelburne. Dinner in the restaurant was first class. The owner, who doubles as your dinner server, was very personable. We told him what kind of wine we liked and he helped us choose an excellent French Bordeaux from his cellar...I was very surprised when it cost under $40 a bottle, it was excellent! We went just before Christmas and the lobby and dining room were very festive. All in all a very great experience!

Room Tip: Room #14 is very comfortable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Maupinman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Seaview
1.9 mi away
Chautauqua Lodge
Chautauqua Lodge
#7 of 8 in Long Beach
257 reviews
4.0 mi away
Lighthouse Oceanfront Resort
1.2 mi away
Cedars Ocean View Inn
Cedars Ocean View Inn
#8 of 8 in Long Beach
80 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Adrift Hotel and Spa
Adrift Hotel and Spa
#1 of 8 in Long Beach
1,711 reviews
2.5 mi away
Breakers Hotel and Condo Suites
0.8 mi away
Inn at Discovery Coast
Inn at Discovery Coast
#1 of 7 in Long Beach
580 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shelburne Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shelburne Inn

Property: Shelburne Inn
Address: 4415 Pacific Highway, Seaview, WA 98644-4214
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Washington > Seaview
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Seaview
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Shelburne Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located just a 10-minute walk from the Pacific seacoast and established in 1896, the Shelburne Inn is the oldest continuously operating hotel in the state of WA. Period antique American and European furnishings lend authenticity to the decor, which is accented by the work of regional artists. Complimentary gourmet breakfasts are served in the elegant Shelburne Restaurant dining room which is also open to the public. The Shelburne Restaurant & Pub offer an award-winning wine list and feature hand-crafted cocktails and micro-brewed beer on tap. The cuisine is based upon the fresh, seasonal bounty of the region. The Shelburne Inn offers modern amenities such as free Wi-Fi and computer library. All-day coffee and tea service and designer toiletries complete the amenity package for inn guests. All rooms have private bath and many have an exterior deck or balcony. The Shelburne Inn is an ideal location for weddings, reunions, group retreats and business meetings, as well as for a romantic getaway for two. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, 5viajes2012 S.L., Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Shelburne Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shelburne Country Hotel Seaview
Country Inn Seaview
Seaview Country Inn
Shelburne Inn Seaview, Washington

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing