We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Rustic charm”
Review of Shelburne Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Shelburne Inn
Ranked #1 of 1 Seaview B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Bangkok, Thailand
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Rustic charm”
Reviewed 8 July 2014

The room was a bit small, but somewhat surprisingly for such and old Inn, it had it's own bath. There are bigger rooms, but I'm cheap. I was not disappointed in any way. The staff was charming, the room was charming and comfortable, and the breakfast was splendid.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank scottchamberlin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

210 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    132
    45
    15
    9
    9
See reviews for
34
128
13
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (72)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Auburn, Washington
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 24 June 2014

My wife Cathy and I spent our wedding anniversary at the Shelburn. The decor was fantastic, the staff was extremely accomodating, and the food and drink were A++. David the owner made us feel at home!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Angel L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
california
Level 5 Contributor
73 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 June 2014

Staying at the Shelburne Inn is like taking a step back in time. It's in the small town of Seaview on a long peninsula on the PacificCoast, just across the Washington state border, past Astoria, WA. The inn is quite old yet nicely kept, with a wide choice of rooms. The host, David, is very hospitable, as is his wife, Laurie. The staff is friendly and experienced and the meals are wonderful. Ingredients are superb up here-for a small area it has quite a few really good restaurants. We loved the beautiful beaches and relaxing atmosphere. Summer is the liveliest time.

Room Tip: Bathtub/showers small and four legged.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hotellooker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Crozet, Virginia
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 June 2014

The Shelburne Inn is the perfect spot to relax and be pampered! The entire Inn, including the guest rooms, are furnished with antiques, as well as contemporary art. The cuisine was fantastic and the wine list wonderful. Evening musical entertainment added to the exceptional experience. The host and owner, (David), as well as all of the staff, bent over backwards to ensure we enjoyed the hospitality of the Inn. We look forward to another visit in the near future.

Room Tip: A call to the Inn might ensure the best room/size depending on your needs and comfort. There are som...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank delgro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wilsonville OR
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 29 May 2014

This B&B is quaint and lovely with great food. The problem is that its old-fashioned uniqueness doesn't lend itself to the limited movement of the old and feeble. Too many steep stairs, beds that are very high, room lighting and uncomfortable chairs that limit enjoyable reading, and tubs with crawl over rims that don't have grab bars to keep wobbly legs from collapsing make getting around a chore. The decor is remarkable with lots to look at, something like my grandmother's house. The food in both the dining room and the pub is delicious and well-prepared. It's not fair to downgrade David and Laurie's lovely facility simply because we're old so I won't. If you are physically active and enjoy being in period surroundings, this is a good bet.

Room Tip: Try to get a room location that fits your mobility.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Schuyler W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Surrey
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 May 2014

Shelburne is becoming a regular stopover for my wife and I on our trips to Oregon. Food and especially the included breakfast are excellent. The rooms, although small, are very intimate and quaint. The staff are very friendly and helpful and the historic nature , rickety and steep stairs and low ceilings make the Shelburne unique. Location is not the best for shopping or sightseeing but there are stunning beaches nearby. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Michael S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yachats, Oregon, United States
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 3 May 2014

We stayed here after finding it difficult to locate a fine restaurant in Astoria as most are closed on Sunday and Monday. We enjoyed good service, excellent dinner, and nice breakfast which was included with the room. However, if one has difficult walking be certain to inquire about rooms on the first level as the stairs are very steep and very narrow. I would rate the dinning as superior for lunch and dinner, but as to the room quality be prepared to pay a little more for the quaintness and shy on comfort.

Room Tip: I believe there two rooms on the first level with showers.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Richard C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Seaview
1.9 mi away
Chautauqua Lodge
Chautauqua Lodge
#8 of 8 in Long Beach
261 reviews
1.2 mi away
Cedars Ocean View Inn
Cedars Ocean View Inn
#7 of 8 in Long Beach
86 reviews
4.0 mi away
Lighthouse Oceanfront Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Adrift Hotel and Spa
Adrift Hotel and Spa
#2 of 8 in Long Beach
1,759 reviews
1.0 mi away
Best Western Long Beach Inn
2.5 mi away
Breakers Hotel and Condo Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shelburne Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shelburne Inn

Property: Shelburne Inn
Address: 4415 Pacific Highway, Seaview, WA 98644-4214
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Washington > Seaview
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Seaview
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Shelburne Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located just a 10-minute walk from the Pacific seacoast and established in 1896, the Shelburne Inn is the oldest continuously operating hotel in the state of WA. Period antique American and European furnishings lend authenticity to the decor, which is accented by the work of regional artists. Complimentary gourmet breakfasts are served in the elegant Shelburne Restaurant dining room which is also open to the public. The Shelburne Restaurant & Pub offer an award-winning wine list and feature hand-crafted cocktails and micro-brewed beer on tap. The cuisine is based upon the fresh, seasonal bounty of the region. The Shelburne Inn offers modern amenities such as free Wi-Fi and computer library. All-day coffee and tea service and designer toiletries complete the amenity package for inn guests. All rooms have private bath and many have an exterior deck or balcony. The Shelburne Inn is an ideal location for weddings, reunions, group retreats and business meetings, as well as for a romantic getaway for two. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Odigeo so you can book your Shelburne Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shelburne Country Hotel Seaview
Country Inn Seaview
Seaview Country Inn
Shelburne Inn Seaview, Washington

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing