We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (223)
Filter reviews
223 results
Traveller rating
140
47
17
9
10
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
140
47
17
9
10
Show reviews that mention
All reviewslong beachwild mushroomsantique furnitureenglish gardenclaw foot tuboystersstep back in timeguest roomsthird floorpeninsulatubslodgingseattle
Filter
Updating list...
12 - 17 of 223 reviews
Reviewed 1 September 2017

If you are not interested in beauty and romance, then do not waste your time reading this. The owner of the Shelburne has hit the ball out of the park with this little cottage. The cottage itself belongs in a woodworking museum, it is simply a work of art. It's setting is truly unique. Visualize yourself sitting on your own front porch, or in its outside soaking tub, watching the fishing boats come and go past a quiet wetland of birds as you think of Captain George Clark and ten men of the Lewis and Clark expedition walking past on your very beach on November 18th of 1805 as they hiked up to explore Cape Disappointment. Or you could visualize Captain Robert Gray and his ship the Columbia, anchored in 1794 in the little bay in front of your cottage as they became the first European to discover the River then named for his ship. It is beyond magic. If you are with the one special person you love this cottage will light new fires you both had probably forgotten, it did for us.

Room Tip: This cottage is a stand alone building with two bathrooms and a small kitchen
  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank robertm12038
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2017

We enjoyed our stay. At first I was concerned due to the old fashioned nature of the inn but came to appreciate it. It is a beautiful old inn with some interesting antiques, art and pottery. We took some time enjoying the perennial gardens and chatted with the gardener who gave us a plant start. No TV got us to socialize a bit with other guests, play cards in the lounge and go for evening walks. The breakfasts were delicious and I enjoyed being able to order off the menu (only complaint was the potatoes were not cooked quite enough but the flavor was great). We had a delicious dinner there. We enjoyed getting to know the owner and some of the staff which makes it more fun than staying in an anonymous chain motel.

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SusanBellingham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 August 2017

First the pros: If you like wild flower gardens they have them. There was someone caring for them both days we were there and they use the herbs in their menu. If you like historic places, this is one and it seems that the people who like this sort of thing appreciate the “character” that comes with that.

Now the cons: We were not at all happy with our room. It was extremely tiny, you could not even walk around the bed. There was a desk in the room that could not be used by us, taking up most of the usable space. But, for now I’ll chalk this up to me making the wrong room choice and focus on why I would not recommend this inn. The place was not being maintained properly. It was filthy; examples include debris on the floor of our room, a used towel on the threshold of the shower that was not removed even after the first day. The shower curtain was not being cleaned or this towel would have been noticed and the dirty curtain itself was evidence of lack of cleaning. The bed coverings were so dated and worn that we peeled them off the bed so that we wouldn’t have to have contact with them. We did have a balcony but it was unusable because the plastic furniture was old and weathered/dirty to the point that we would have ruined our clothes if we sat on the chairs. We found a sitting area outside with wrought iron table/chairs to use but they were also rusty/in need of scrapping/repainting. There was a lack of amenities that you’d expect at any hotel/inn/b&b; no air conditioning (and it wasn’t advertised as such), no TVs, no tissues, no closet (we had two hangers for two people/two days).

The leather chairs in the lobby (the place you see when you come in) were worn beyond their useful lives. The carpet in the dining room had not been swept before we had breakfast either morning we were there. During breakfast, one morning, I could see into the hall going to the kitchen. That floor was extremely filthy. When we got served our water for breakfast on another day, there was debris in the water. The waitress tried to tell us it was coffee grounds. It looked more like pepper to us.

We understand that this is an older hotel and that brings a level of challenge to the maintenance but it can and should be done if it is going to serve the public, especially the basic cleaning aspects.

We also did not find the staff to be caring like we’ve found in other recent b&b/hotel visits. Do yourself and your budget a favor and head 1.5 mi north to the Best Western in Long Beach.

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Nancy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Coast14, Owner at Shelburne Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 19 August 2017

Dear Nancy B,

Thank you for bringing to light the imperfections you noted during your recent visit. We only wish you had brought them to our attention while you were here, so that we might have done something about them.

We are truly sorry that we failed to meet both your and our standards during your stay. We have made corrections to all the areas you mentioned. There had been a delay in replacing the lobby and deck furniture, as the owner couldn’t do the moving himself, due to a recent back surgery. It has now been replaced. The furniture had already been purchased when you were here, but had not been installed yet.

We have used your letter as a teaching moment for our staff on the importance of keeping the floor and all areas clean. We apologize that members of our staff had let that slip during your stay.

You had rented our smallest room, with one double bed. It is also our least expensive and some people on a budget prefer to pay less, accepting the fact that they will be in smaller quarters. While you may have decided never to return to our establishment, should that change, I would encourage you to rent one of our larger rooms or one of our suites.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2017

We were in the Long Beach area for a wedding, stayed just one night at the Shelburne Inn and needed to leave just after breakfast, so were weren't able to explore all of the nooks and cranies of this quaint and historic Inn. There are antiques galore in every room and a very nice collection of First Nation masks at the front desk. Our room was small and a bit lacking in places to unpack and hang clothing (we were room #4), but we were there just one night so it didn't matter. The beds are comfortable and I really appreciated the fact that there was a night light in the bathroom and an emergency flashlight on the bedside table. Our breakfast was delicious. We tried the daily special (that Thursday is was an omelet with wild mushrooms, grilled onions and herbs) and a frittata with wild mushrooms, potatoes, herbs and cheese. We will definitely stay here again if we are in the area.

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Barb S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Coast14, Owner at Shelburne Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 August 2017

Thank you so much for your kind comments. We're delighted that you enjoyed your brief stay with us. I should mention that the masks you referred to are definitely native in style, but they are made in Bali, Indonesia and we procured them via friends of ours from Washington, who live there and have an export business. Our rooms here come in various sizes and if having more space is important to you, then you might prefer room #12, #14, #15, #16 or one of our suites #9 or #17. This is wild mushroom country. In the Fall of each year (provided we get enough rain, and we usually do) we have an abundance of wild mushrooms. If you're a wild mushroom lover, you might want to plan your return visit in October some time.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 July 2017

First of all we got the wrong room, that we booked in advance. We even printed out a picture. We paid extra for a balcony room. It says it's a Bed and Breakfast. My Uncle owns a B&B. The Headlands INN, so I know what to expect. They usually bring the food to you. But, ok food vouchers, fine. But the food is so expensive, that most items don't come with a side of bacon. You order an omelet, and that's what you get. The rest is more of a continental breakfast. Plus they're playing music so loud from early morning until night. Forget sleeping in. I tried to give my husband my breakfast coupon so he could get a bigger breakfast, they don't allow that. And they won't let him bring me, the breakfast in bed at a bed in breakfast. We took our losses and left a day early. I would not recommend this place to anyone. Add bacon to your breakfast with all items. Really. Fruit, sausage, or bacon option. How cheap can you be. It's a 15$ omelet.

Room Tip: check in advance to make sure you have the right room. Only a few have a balcony.
  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank hmacarthr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Coast14, Manager at Shelburne Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 August 2017

I am sorry that you were unhappy with your experience at the Shelburne Inn. After reading your comments I thought I would try to address your issues. First of all, when you book through booking.com you book a room type, not a specific room. You booked a standard room and paid for a standard room. You did not get charged extra for a balcony. Sometimes a guest will request something specific such as a balcony. I have gone back to look at your reservation and I do not see any reference to a balcony. We are a bed and breakfast and therefore you received complimentary breakfast. You mentioned the food being expensive but you should not have been charged. Instead of our guests sitting at a large table full of strangers and eating what is the offer of the day, we give our guests the opportunity to have breakfast in the dining room at the table of their choice. We also let the guest order their breakfast off the menu. We use a voucher system because we are open to the public and the voucher is a way to let the server know that the guest is not to be charged for their breakfast. As for what comes with breakfast, each guest receives their choice of coffee or tea, cranberry or orange juice, an entree of their choice which comes with potatoes, fruit and toast. Several of the entree options also include bacon or ham. We do have rooms that a guest can request breakfast be delivered but you did not book one of those rooms. I am sorry if the music in the dining room woke you. We usually do not turn the music on until breakfast service begins at 8 a.m. and then it is off by the end of dinner service which is usually 8 p.m. Again, I am sorry that you did not enjoy your stay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews