We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“BEST PLACE IN SEKIU TO STAY”
Review of Van Riper's Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Van Riper's Resort
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Sekiu
Sequim
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“BEST PLACE IN SEKIU TO STAY”
Reviewed 13 July 2009

This is the best place to stay in Sekiu hands down. Very nice staff & owners, not like the a-holes on the far end of town. We stayed in a two bedroom (cheap room) and it suited our needs perfect. This is a fishing town so the rooms are designed just to suite your needs. There are two bedrooms, a kitchen & a bathroom and that is all, but all we used it for was sleeping and some cooking because we were fishing all day.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank HEWESFSHR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

34 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    16
    16
    1
    0
    1
See reviews for
9
12
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Seattle
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 June 2009

Van Riper's Resort is low-key and friendly. Sekiu is a very small fishing town, so small that it doesn't a grocery store so bring everything you may need or plan to drive to Neah Bay or Forks. The rooms are modest but comfortable. We cooked in our efficiency kitchen and dined on the deck overlooking the marina. The bald eagles would arrive each morning at low tide to feast on whatever the fisherman had left behind. We are already planning a return visit. I have posted a few photos.

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank millspc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
221 reviews
196 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 189 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 May 2009

We feel we made the right decision to stay here after exploring the area. The property is centrally located to go up the coast or to explore Olympic National Park (we had considered staying in Forks). This is a big fisherman motel (as is the town of Sekiu); we didn't find any upscale places to stay on the northwest coast so this may be typical. The views are great and all the units face the ocean with a patio. Our room was good sized and have a queen bed (pretty squeaky with small pillows). The room had a full kitchen with microwave, electric stove and fridge. The bathroom was fine but had a very loud ceiling fan. Rooms weren't that soundproof either. Otherwise everything was good and we would stay here again for a price of $80 per night.

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank rjc260
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canon City, Co
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 June 2008

We paid a little more ($15.00 or so) than the average rate because we have a BEACH FRONT - literally - view. We were able to sit and open the blinds and see boats as they came and went and we heard the waves crashing, saw bald eagles flying around, and had a FANTASTIC tide pool within 5 minutes! Not to mention a gorgeous trail just up the street and a delicious cafe across the street! This was the perfect place to stay. Comfortable, very clean with very friendly and helpful owners. We will look forward to staying here again! You cannot go wrong with this place!

  • Liked — Clean & OCean view
  • Disliked — Honestly - nothing
  • Stayed June 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
4 Thank jambini
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
seattle
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 April 2007

We stayed in the 2nd floor suit which sleeps 6 in a suite with full kitchen and full bath. Its was just the two of us but the extra room really made the difference. Views of the bay where great and the staff was very attentive. We decided that this was the best place to stay for hiking in this area.

  • Liked — comfort
  • Disliked — beds a little stiff
  • Stayed April 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank queenannegirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boise
Level Contributor
63 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 February 2007

My wife and I have been visiting Sekiu every year for the last 35 years to fish the salmon runs that pass through this area. We have stayed at most of the resorts in the town, but now would only consider Van Ripers. First, it is immaculately clean; they are rather compulsive in this regard. I promise you that several other places in town fail miserably in this regard. Second, the family that runs the resort bend over backwards to make your stay a memorable one. Chris will go to great lengths to help people be successful in their fishing endeavors. Many people spend much of the day sitting around a table in the office with the crew, drinking coffee and swapping fishing stories. Finally, the rates are very reasonable. You can't miss with Van Ripers! Mike and Kali

Stayed September 2006
Helpful?
7 Thank jmichael-6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Port Townsend, Washington
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 September 2006

Very well maintained facility. The kitchen was well equiped with utensils, pot,pans etc. Rooms were clean. We had a view of the water from our large living room/dining room window. It was a bit noisy about 0600 when the gulls were fighting over the salmon entrails that the fishermen were providing. But the gulls add to the charm of the location. Staff was very accommodating. This is a wonderful location to home base from while making day trips. Cape Flattery is nearby as well as the Makah Museum. Very highly recommended.

  • Liked — View & convenient for day trips on Olympic Peninsula.
  • Disliked — Nothing.
  • Tips/Secrets — Bring groceries.
  • Stayed August 2005, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
5 Thank martyv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sekiu
22.2 mi away
Forks Motel
Forks Motel
#5 of 5 in Forks
3.5 of 5 bubbles 402 reviews
20.9 mi away
Wild Renfrew Seaside Cottages
Wild Renfrew Seaside Cottages
#1 of 8 in Port Renfrew
5.0 of 5 bubbles 79 reviews
20.7 mi away
Trailhead Resort
Trailhead Resort
#2 of 5 in Port Renfrew
4.0 of 5 bubbles 87 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
22.1 mi away
The Pacific Inn Motel
22.5 mi away
The Dew Drop Inn Motel
21.4 mi away
Ocean Wilderness Inn
Ocean Wilderness Inn
#3 of 24 in Sooke
4.5 of 5 bubbles 96 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Van Riper's Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Van Riper's Resort

Property: Van Riper's Resort
Address: 280 Front St., Sekiu, WA 98381
Region: United States > Washington > Sekiu
Amenities:
Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Sekiu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Van Riper's Resort 2*
Number of rooms: 16
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your Van Riper's Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Van Ripers Hotel
Van Riper's Resort Sekiu, Washington

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing