We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not what I had hoped for”
Review of Sequim Bay Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Sequim Bay Lodge
Ranked #8 of 9 Hotels in Sequim
Reviewed 25 August 2013

The one good thing about this room was it had great water pressure in the shower. The mattress was HARD and misshapen. The lighting was inadequate and poorly placed. The walls were filthy. The room smelled musty. The towels were scratchy and paper thin. The smoke detector is just hanging from the ceiling. How difficult would it be to fix that problem? The walls are thin. The shampoo is cheap. The TV is ancient.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Libby B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (194)
There are newer reviews for Sequim Bay Lodge
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

94 - 100 of 194 reviews

Reviewed 19 August 2013

We stayed here, because we have 2 dogs. We had to pay $10/night per dog to stay in a room that smelled like pee. The staff new this and when we told the front desk they didn't offer to let us change rooms or for a discount. It was clear some previous dog had peed and there were stains all over the carpet. The location is ok, the price would've been fine had the room been clean. The people beside us left their great dane unattended so we had to listen to him bark, and the kids at the pool were loud most of the evening. Location was pretty convenient just SE of the city center right on 101. It's a place that's past its prime and needs upgrades. They do offer a continental breakfast.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RWAJ08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 August 2013

I would stay here again. The owners are working to fix up the exterior, but as another reviewer indicated do not let the exterior stop you from staying here. The rooms are spacious, clean and the bed was very comfortable. I stayed here for 5 nights and slept great. The breakfast was muffins, granola bars, cookies, coffee, juice and bananas which was sufficient. If you want anything else there are plenty of restaurants in Sequim that serve LARGE portions. The owners are delightful and working hard to make changes.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Karen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2013

I will stay here again. I stayed here for 2 nights and didn't have any problems at all. If you want a hotel room that is just as good as a room that you would pay $125 dollars or more for then give this a try. The outside is not as well landscaped as it could be, but if you want better landscape then pay for a more expensive hotel. This hotel is about 3 miles out of town but worth the drive to save a few bucks

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank darwin z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2013

We recently traveled to Sequim for the weekend to enjoy the sights AFTER the crazy lavender fest weekend in July. The trip was spontaneous, and after calling several local hotels, this was the only place available. When you drive up, the landscaping is a little wild, sort of overgrown chaos. But don't let the exterior stop you from staying here. The room we stayed in was very clean, maybe a little worn, but this is not a new hotel, so that's to be expected. We had a flat screen tv in our room that had the Disney channel (yes, we have small children). This hotel also has a small, outdoor pool that was lovely. It was perfect to take a dip in and play. And since we are from nearby Edmonds, we don't get to do outdoor pool that often. In fact, most Seattle-area hotels don't have outdoor pools -- not practical. The only negative about the room was the lingering smell of cigarettes. WA does not allow smoking in rooms, but that was not always the case; the odor is difficult to remove. The staff were friendly, and the location was convenient -- think it was 3 miles or so from downtown Sequim proper. I'm not sure if there was a continental breakfast; we ate in town. Overall, a great value especially for families. We would stay there again.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Carolyn R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2013

we decided to change plan and were pleased with our large clean quiet king room. the ac and flat
screen tv worked well.we even had a balcony. the breakfast was perfect for us with juice cookies muffins and granola bars for the hike on the discovery trail across the hwy.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank stan2steve
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2013

We just left this hotel as quickly as we could. My lungs were reacting to the supposedly "non-smoking" room that still had lots of old smoke residue in it. A lot of people are sensitive to that and so you are not non- smoking unless you get rid of everything that was in the room when you allowed smoking.

That brings me to my main recommendation: new bedding - blankets are covered with cigarette burns and bedspreads are hideous and smokey smelling, new carpet (also holds old smoke smell), new towels- I literally scratched my face on the towels.

Do some updates and then maybe I could put up with the horrible tasting water and paper thins walls.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
1  Thank Skyetraveller13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Front D, Front Office Manager at Sequim Bay Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 29 July 2013

Thank you for sharing with us your experience. I apologize for the smoke residue in your room. All of our rooms are non-smoking. We have three signs at the front desk indicating that if a person refuses to submit to this and a guest does indeed smoke in the room, they will incur a $200.00 fine for the cleaning expense. Unfortunately, there is still the occasional guest who refuses to follow this policy. We try our best to clean the bedding thoroughly and air out the rooms best we can before selling this room to another guest. I sincerely apologize that you received a room that still smelled of cigarette smoke.

As you mentioned, the establishment is in need of some updates. This has been an ongoing process throughout the year. We hope that you will choose to stay with us again and that your second stay will be more pleasant.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sequim
2.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites North Sequim
5.0 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites at Olympic National Park
3.3 mi away
Econo Lodge Sequim
Econo Lodge Sequim
#6 of 9 in Sequim
95 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
17.2 mi away
Olympic Lodge
Olympic Lodge
#1 of 16 in Port Angeles
1,891 reviews
12.1 mi away
Manresa Castle
Manresa Castle
#11 of 11 in Port Townsend
319 reviews
18.7 mi away
Red Lion Hotel Port Angeles
Red Lion Hotel Port Angeles
#3 of 16 in Port Angeles
2,185 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sequim Bay Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sequim Bay Lodge

Address: 268522 Highway 101, Sequim, WA 98382-9664
Region: United States > Washington > Sequim
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 9 Hotels in Sequim
Price Range: £52 - £123 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Sequim Bay Lodge 2*
Number of rooms: 54
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Conveniently located off Highway 101, our Sequim, Washington Lodge is quietly nestled on 17 forested, park-like acres. The Sequim Bay Lodge is open all year and consists of many spacious, comfortable and tastefully appointed rooms and suites making it the perfect choice for your visit. Just minutes from Port Angeles, the gateway to the Olympic National Park and just across the water from beautiful Victoria, British Columbia. Our Sunny Sequim Lodge is the perfect place to stay while you are visiting the Olympic Peninsula or Olympic National Park. All of our rooms are non-smoking and are equipped with a microwave, refrigerator, remote control cable TV, and personal coffee maker. The Lodge features an outdoor heated pool (May through September) and a thirty-person conference room with a pool side patio for meetings, retreats, reunions, and parties. Play 'n' Stay Golf Packages including lodging, rounds of golf with or without golf carts are available year round. We have pet friendly units available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Sequim Bay Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sequim Bay Hotel Sequim

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing