We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to stay!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Juan de Fuca Cottages
Ranked #4 of 9 Hotels in Sequim
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Hoboken, New Jersey
1 review
“Great place to stay!”
Reviewed 25 November 2011

We were here two nights for a family gathering and were really impressed by both the accommodations and the service! Everything about our reservations was in order, and Missy took the time to show us around first thing. Nice furniture, clean, fixtures and heat all in working order. Tom even made sure that we had extra firewood and set up the fireplace for us to light later on that evening. They had lots of information about other area attractions, and were very helpful. Great experience with a small-scale, local operation.

Room Tip: Lodge makes a great choice for group gatherings.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sequim n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

149 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    88
    38
    11
    6
    6
See reviews for
37
75
6
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
Reviewed 26 September 2011

I was going to spend two nights, but ended up staying for a third, simply because it was so comfy and convenient. Near a great golf course, Cedars, which has a nice restaurant. A couple of hour drive to Hurricane Ridge and Lake Crescent and nearby lavender fields. There is a private beach across the road, and I could see the lights of Victoria from my room, as well as watch the shipping lane traffic. An awesome getaway!

  • Stayed July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank heidij1956
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Victoria, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
47 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 September 2011

This is our second stay at the Cottages. We choose it because of location, and amenities...wonderful view, very well equipped for 4 days of R and R. Internet worked just fine, the office staff were very helpful and pleasant as well. We didn't mind being out of town that short distance, as we enjoyed our meals with the great view.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Annahumm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bainbridge Island
Level 5 Contributor
92 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 September 2011

We've stayed at a number of places around the Olympic Peninsula. And I must say that our 2-night stay at the Juan de Fuca Cottages gets our highest recommendation. The cottages (we stayed in one of the Cottages by the Bay) are well designed, nice bathroom, full kitchen (we did actually use the fridge and microwave), free wi-fi; adirondack chairs on the porch. Units looks like they have recently been spruced up. Comfy beds (though it did sag in the middle; otherwise I would have given the cottages a full *****). Quiet. A double rocker in the lawn area that we used hour upon hour; private access to Dungeness Bay; great view of Dungeness Spit and the Straits of Juan de Fuca. The manager was very nice; lots of suggestions for dining in the area. Highly recommend. (And for a nice dinner out, we had wonderful meals at both the Double Eagle Restaurant at the Dungeness Golf Course and at the Alder Wood Bistro in downtown Sequim.)

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CK2009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lansing, Michigan
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 August 2011

Eagles nest is pretty far from the shore but you can see the strait and Dungeness Spit. The room is pretty nice. There was a telescope in the room, but it required power to adjust where it was pointed and there was no way to get it powered. The advertisement states that there is internet. We were told what SSID to use. Sometimes the SSID was there to select. Sometimes it was not, but we could never get it to work even when it was there to select.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lynchwg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 August 2011

Overall: We enjoyed our stay here. It was way more expensive than I feel the cabins are worth. The decore is dated and the cab ins have a bit of a "old" smell to them. My husband could barely stand in the shower....well, he could, as long as his head was sticking out the skylight. We didn't have any issues with the owners. We delt with a gentleman who seemed pretty nice. He did give off that "don't bug" me vibe...but we really didn't wanna be bothered either. They cabins and grounds have so much potential.

  • Stayed November 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank symplymel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 August 2011

I read the complaints on Trip Advisor before we arrived, but I was convinced by the owner’s responses. But now, after staying at Juan de Fuca, I realize that the complainers were on to something. I am sure the owner will have some explanation about why we, like all the other people who found her hospitality wanting, were terrible guests, with unreasonable expectations. In her responses, Missy refutes in painful detail every complaint, and then attacks her guests further. I am curious to learn what awful things we apparently did, and how these imposed upon them as hosts, and how they made every effort, etc. etc. Believe whom you will. But don’t say you weren’t warned.

First, the pluses. Juan de Fuca has a spectacular location, with ocean on one side and huge mountains on the other. The gazebo is thoughtfully supplied with games, puzzles, a foosball table and Frisbees and footballs. Every cottage has two Adirondack chairs outside, in which you can contemplate the view (if you are dressed warmly—the Olympic Peninsula is cold!). The kitchens are kitted out quite nicely, and bathrobes and an ironing board are supplied, and there is wireless internet in every room. The rooms were very clean when we arrived (but see below for caveats).

Juan de Fuca is both spectacular and also a spectacularly bad value, both in terms of the rooms, but especially in terms of the hospitality and service. Our cottage in high season cost $225/night. No one in our party had spent this much for a hotel room, condo, or apartment in the past year. And no one had gotten less for their money. Yet we are not hoity toity, as a previous reviewer accused other negative reviewers. We backpack, camp, climb, and stay in Motel 6, although we also have stayed in five and six star hotels in Europe, Asia and the US in the past year. But when we pay $225/night for one room, we expect to have a very different quality of experience—especially in terms of service and hospitality.

First, Juan de Fuca is bad value. The cottages do not stretch down to the ocean. A county road separates the cottages from that gorgeous Sound frontage. The cottages stand in a semi-suburban subdivision. The cottages are decorated in a distinctly 1980s style, they are small, and the carpeting and towels are rather worn. Instead of individual bottles of shampoo and soap, there are huge tubs of green shower gel the texture of jellyfish (it didn’t move!), and Dove shampoo from the Dollar Store. Although the cottages usually sleep four, there is an additional charge for more than two guests. The housekeeper brought more coffee and straightened the bedding and might have vacuumed, but made no other visible effort to clean the room—the bathroom sink was still dirty after s/he came. There is a grill, but you have to bring your own charcoal briquettes.

Second and most importantly, service and hospitality is the real problem at Juan de Fuca, especially for larger groups. Supplying a grill but no briquettes and matches really sums up the attitude towards hospitality at Juan de Fuca. The owners seem to have a problem dealing with large groups, children, and dogs—in short, any guests who might inconvenience them. Guests, especially ones with children or dogs (we had one but not the other), are made to feel that they are imposing upon the owners and causing problems. Never mind your age—the owners treated all of us like small children who needed to be corrected and reprimanded. (Just for context: We are a large extended family, with an average age of 48, with people ranging in age from 83 to 7, primarily physicians and lawyers, with an average bedtime of 9:30 pm. Not exactly people who tear up hotel rooms.)

To make guests feel unwelcome contradicts the definition of hospitality. Hospitality means making people feel welcome and comfortable. The owners at Juan de Fuca spoke to us in such a way that we felt that we were imposing upon them. As my mother used to say to us as children, “It’s not what you say, but how you say it.” The owners made some reasonable requests but other arbitrary demands—but the real issue was how they made those requests. The owners spoke to us as if we were inconveniencing them—and not, as a group, spending about $5000 for a long weekend at the cottages.

The Dungeness Bay cottages are right down the road and are a much better value—and it doesn’t sound as if the owners make their guests as if they are an inconvenient hassle.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
12 Thank GigiSingapore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sequim
11.3 mi away
Olympic Lodge
Olympic Lodge
#1 of 16 in Port Angeles
1,697 reviews
6.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites North Sequim
5.3 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites at Olympic National Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.4 mi away
Red Lion Hotel Port Angeles
Red Lion Hotel Port Angeles
#3 of 16 in Port Angeles
2,051 reviews
9.2 mi away
Sequim Bay Lodge
Sequim Bay Lodge
#8 of 9 in Sequim
185 reviews
0.5 mi away
Greenhouse Inn by the Bay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Juan de Fuca Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Juan de Fuca Cottages

Property: Juan de Fuca Cottages
Address: 182 Marine Dr, Sequim, WA 98382-9577
Region: United States > Washington > Sequim
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 9 Hotels in Sequim
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3 star — Juan de Fuca Cottages 3*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in sunny Sequim, Washington, the Juan de Fuca Cottages and Suites are perched on a 50’ bluff at the edge of Dungeness Bay with our own private beach. The Juan de Fuca Cottages and Suites offer spectacular views of the Dungeness Spit, the New Dungeness Lighthouse, the Strait of Juan de Fuca, Hurricane Ridge, the Olympic Mountains, and Victoria, B.C., just across the water. We share our beach with the National Wildlife Refuge. All of our cottages have Queen beds, completely equipped full kitchens, whirlpool tubs/shower with skylights, CD player, cable TV, VCR/DVD and over 200 classic movies to entertain you. The suites each enjoy all of the above as well as a fireplace and a two-person whirlpool tub. Wireless Internet access with a view!Three Diamond hotel rating - the highest rated accommodations on the Olympic Peninsula. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Juan de Fuca Cottages reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Juan De Fuca Cottages Hotel Sequim

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing