We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Absolute quiet and soothing charm made our stay memorable”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Juan de Fuca Cottages
Ranked #4 of 9 Hotels in Sequim
GreenLeadersGold level
Tennessee Ridge, Tennessee
Level Contributor
18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Absolute quiet and soothing charm made our stay memorable”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 August 2014

The check-in process was quick and Shelly was most helpful in helping us get our bearings before heading out to the Dungeness Spit Wildlife Refuge and also the lavender fields that were in full bloom when we arrived in mid-July. We stayed in Cottage 4 with views of Dungeness Sound. This is the quietest place! We would occasionally hear other guests come and go but that was only the crackle of gravel from their cars arriving and departing. Our room was immaculate and we prepared several meals in the full kitchen that includes a counter top dishwasher -I almost missed that feature as I had never seen one before. The bathroom has a skylight above the shower and it gave a very spa-like feeling to the area. This is a quiet, understated place with tons of charm. I use the word charm in a positive way and not to mean something negative like a shabby chic dump as I have seen it used recently. It felt cozy, it felt relaxing, it was the perfect spot to begin our tour of the Olympic Peninsula. Even in July, we slept with the windows open all night but still needed extra blankets. Coming from the South, it was a welcome treat to sleep with windows open since our a/c has been on non-stop since April. Juan de Fuca Cottages were a pleasant surprise and a place we would return to if visiting Sequim in the future. For the nutrition and health minded (and fellow vegetarians), I only found out as we left that there is a fabulous restaurant called Nourish that serves local, fresh, organic food for lunch and dinner. It was booked solid so we could not enjoy it. Also there is an organic food market five minutes from the cottages called Nash's. The Heirloom tomatoes were so wonderful that we ate them by themselves with a little sea salt.

Green Features: Recycling bins were available on the front porch and we were encouraged to reuse towels by the standard note cards left in most hotel bathrooms.
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank honeybee03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

145 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    86
    36
    11
    6
    6
See reviews for
36
72
6
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
La Verne, California
Level Contributor
47 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2014

The owners are very nice, from reservation to check out. The property sits on 11 acres, surrounded by pastures. On the east were llamas, on the west, cows, and sometimes geese.
In close proximity to beautiful lavender fields which are best to be visited in Mid-July.
There is a game room in the middle of the property in the shape of a gazebo but protected from the elements.
Two night minimums in July and August, but they allowed us to stay only one evening as it was a Thursday, and they had some openings. They have a private beach to Dungeness Bay. Unfortunately, I visited at low tide, and it was a bit smelly from the seaweed. Beautiful rocky beach with nice views. Could not see the Olympic mountains, as it was cloudy.
Nice room with the following objections. The bath towels could have smelled a bit fresher.
The 'faux' fireplace an in room refrigerator were a bit noisy. The owners are not on site at night or early morning, but can be called in case of an emergency. The alarm clock went off blaring late at night, quite annoying, but the owners apologized about it. I thought that the room rate would have been reasonable had it been a bed and breakfast.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ww11hort
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Puyallup, Washington, United States
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 June 2014

My wife and I arrived at this little gem on a Sunday and stayed until Tuesday. The weather was great and the view was magnificent. Our cottage was right on the water. The staff was pleasant and the locals were very friendly. We rented bikes and took a trip around town checking out the sights. We also ate at the 7Cedar casino, where I won $400 playing my favorite game roulette. I highly recommend!

Room Tip: All the cottages are nice but we were in number 1 which is closest to the water with the best view
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Diesel2167
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Port Orchard, Washington
Level Contributor
127 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2014 via mobile

We were in Sequim for an annual golf tournament & wanted an alternative to the hotels options. Juan de Fuca Cottages was the answer. Each is independent of the other with views of the water and/or mountains, llamas, cattle or eagles. Sunsets are incredible. Rooms so quiet, blissful!

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Marydeane F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TUCSON
Level Contributor
45 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 May 2014

We are here now! Drove into Port Angeles and stopped at a McDonalds to search the internet for an alternative to 4 nights camping, hopefully a cottage with kitchen and a view of the Strait Juan De Fuca, nr Port Angeles. We phoned ahead and they had a cottage.....with kitchen, spa tub, beach, clamming, etc. It is beautifully, comfortably appointed (incl. robes and slip ons), and a view that is incredible of the Strait. Even have DVDs to take to your room, and a gazebo with games etc. Probably great for children. But we are a 60-ish couple and it fits us perfectly. Clean, clean, clean. Missy, one of the owners, was helpful and very welcoming. We love it here!!! I cannot recommend this spot highly enough! I think we shall be back on another trip from Arizona. It is close to the Hood Canal, Seattle, Victoria, the Olympic Natl Forest....wow.

Room Tip: All cottages look great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank copilotpreston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Las Vegas, Nevada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 May 2014

I was looking for a quiet place to relax when I booked this trip. I had never stayed anywhere in this area before and wasn't sure what to expect. When I arrived I was surprised at the how close to the bay the property sat and very pleased with the cottage and location. Everything you need is in the cottage except for the food. There are many local markets in the area including an organic market. The cottage I stayed in was roomy and perfect. I couldn't have asked for anything different. From one window was the view of the Olympic mountains (snow-topped) and from the other window was a view of Dungeness Bay. And a private beach. I loved sitting on the bench looking out over the water along the beach. The hosts were so pleasant and truly made me feel at home (I wish it were my home!). I am planning my next trip there for next year. I highly recommend staying here. Oh, and the deer walking outside by my window was another unexpected surprise.

Room Tip: Consider the length of your stay and your needs before you book which I recommend to anyone travelli...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Irene B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Katy, Texas
Level Contributor
31 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 May 2014

My friend and I stayed for 3 nights at Juan de Fuca Cottages. We were in Cottage #4. Wonderful views, clean, full kitchen, gazebo outside our front door, bicycles to rent, eagles nesting nearby. Just beautiful. There is a picnic table for guests, comfortable places to sit outside to watch the sunset or just relax and Tom and Missy served a delicious hot breakfast to our room in a basket with cloth napkins--there is an extra charge for this which is well worth it. Owners, Tom and Missy, went over and above to make us feel welcome; we would definitely stay again.

Room Tip: Cottage 4 great views of the water and the mountains.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kattodd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sequim
6.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites North Sequim
11.3 mi away
Olympic Lodge
Olympic Lodge
#1 of 15 in Port Angeles
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,490 reviews
5.3 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites at Olympic National Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.4 mi away
Red Lion Hotel Port Angeles
Red Lion Hotel Port Angeles
#3 of 15 in Port Angeles
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,842 reviews
9.2 mi away
Sequim Bay Lodge
Sequim Bay Lodge
#8 of 9 in Sequim
3.0 of 5 bubbles 182 reviews
0.5 mi away
Greenhouse Inn by the Bay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Juan de Fuca Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Juan de Fuca Cottages

Property: Juan de Fuca Cottages
Address: 182 Marine Dr, Sequim, WA 98382
Region: United States > Washington > Sequim
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 9 Hotels in Sequim
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Juan de Fuca Cottages 3*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in sunny Sequim, Washington, the Juan de Fuca Cottages and Suites are perched on a 50’ bluff at the edge of Dungeness Bay with our own private beach. The Juan de Fuca Cottages and Suites offer spectacular views of the Dungeness Spit, the New Dungeness Lighthouse, the Strait of Juan de Fuca, Hurricane Ridge, the Olympic Mountains, and Victoria, B.C., just across the water. We share our beach with the National Wildlife Refuge. All of our cottages have Queen beds, completely equipped full kitchens, whirlpool tubs/shower with skylights, CD player, cable TV, VCR/DVD and over 200 classic movies to entertain you. The suites each enjoy all of the above as well as a fireplace and a two-person whirlpool tub. Wireless Internet access with a view!Three Diamond hotel rating - the highest rated accommodations on the Olympic Peninsula. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Odigeo, Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Juan de Fuca Cottages reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Juan De Fuca Cottages Hotel Sequim

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing