We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cozy cottages, great location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Juan de Fuca Cottages
Ranked #4 of 9 Hotels in Sequim
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
A TripAdvisor Member
324
Reviewed 29 June 2006

We stayed here for a long weekend in June and loved it. The cottages are adorable, well-appointed, and very clean. Great location with beautiful views of the Strait of Juan de Fuca right across the street. Sequim is a friendly small town, but it has a Costco and several supermarkets. There is plenty to do nearby, especially if you enjoy outdoor activities like hiking, kayaking, etc. The place is convenient to the Olympic National Park, Port Angeles, Port Townsend, and other atttractions along the north side of the Olympic peninsula.

The cottages have new owners as of about 6 weeks ago. They are very friendly and went out of their way to be as helpful to guests as they could.

One other note - this place is pet-friendly. We brought our German Shepherd and we all had a great time. The owner told us they don't allow pets in July, though, as they are too busy at that time of year to do the extra cleaning required after a pet's stay. Finally, for people traveling with pets, be aware dogs are not allowed on the trails in Olympic National Park. We were looking forward to doing some hiking with our dog and were disappointed that we couldn't.

Overall a great place to stay, and we are hoping to return, perhaps in the fall or winter. Very relaxing place.

  • Stayed: June 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (157)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

150 - 156 of 157 reviews

Reviewed 17 June 2005

The rooms come with everything you could need, except the food. Friendly, rural area. If looking for a bargain, try nearby places without the view.

If you don't mind the strong sea smell (if you do, avoid 3 crabs as well), then this is a great place to go to relax. Take the family or just get away.

Be sure to visit the Animal Park. Drive/bike/hike to the park/beach. It's a mile long, sometimes steep hill down to the beach. Great views available without all the walking.

Be sure to try the huge german pancakes or apple pancakes at the restaurant in town. I prefer the apple, it's like a dessert. You may want to share.

  • Stayed: April 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank UncleFishy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 August 2004

We've stayed at the Juan de Fuca Cottages twice now, once in the spring and just again during Lavender Season (mid-late July). The Dungeness Spit and the Strait of Juan de Fuca are literally right across the street and the views are outstanding. The little cottages are immaculate, built in the 30's and 40's, and perfectly self-contained with full kitchens so you have the option to cook in if you like. We wanted to stay for a week but maybe next time...

11  Thank SillimanDodge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Kennewick, WA
111
Reviewed 10 April 2004

With the breathtaking view and relaxing atmosphere we look forward to our next visit. No detail was overlooked in making sure our stay comfortable. Truly a JOY!!!

11  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Fall City, Washington
114
Reviewed 5 April 2004

My family is located such that Sequim is an ideal meeting point. We have stayed at the Juan de Fuca cottages for several years and this last time was especially fabulous. Sheila and her crew found out it was my grandmother's 90th birthday and had picked flowers from her garden and had them waiting in the cottage grandma stayed in.

Every time we've been dumb tourists, Sheila and staff have taken extra time to show us -- not just tell us -- where the better points in Clalam County are, not just Sequim.

The cottages themselves are quiet and comfy and cleaner than any we've ever stayed in.

They are also located in a spot with an outstanding view of a very beautiful body of water.

I can't imagine ever staying anywhere but in these cottages and we'll be back again and again.

14  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
lakeville mn
112
Reviewed 25 March 2004

get it in writing! the lady who runs it is nice enough, but seems veery forgetful. we would get different and vaguely odd responses from her that changed by the hour.

caveat emptor!

12  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Tucson, Az
122
Reviewed 10 May 2003

We have gone to Sequim many times and stayed at the Juan de Fuca Cottages. They are the best!! Everything possible is done to assure you of a perfect vacation. The view of the Strait of Juan de Fuca from the cottages is beyound words---the most relaxing place we have ever been. The owner, Sheila Ramus, sees that the cabins are clean, has flowers on the table when you arrive and even supplies the popcorn. I can't say enough good about the place. The people at the stores where we have bought groceries, etc. always treat us like family. I would highly recommend this place to anyone looking for a nice quiet, relaxing vacation!!

22  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sequim
11.3 mi away
Olympic Lodge
Olympic Lodge
#1 of 16 in Port Angeles
2,032 reviews
6.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites North Sequim
5.3 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites at Olympic National Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.4 mi away
Red Lion Hotel Port Angeles
Red Lion Hotel Port Angeles
#3 of 16 in Port Angeles
2,305 reviews
9.2 mi away
Sequim Bay Lodge
Sequim Bay Lodge
#8 of 9 in Sequim
194 reviews
17.5 mi away
Manresa Castle
Manresa Castle
#10 of 11 in Port Townsend
328 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Juan de Fuca Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Juan de Fuca Cottages

Address: 182 Marine Dr, Sequim, WA 98382-9577
Region: United States > Washington > Sequim
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 9 Hotels in Sequim
Price Range: £97 - £232 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Juan de Fuca Cottages 3*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in sunny Sequim, Washington, the Juan de Fuca Cottages and Suites are perched on a 50’ bluff at the edge of Dungeness Bay with our own private beach. The Juan de Fuca Cottages and Suites offer spectacular views of the Dungeness Spit, the New Dungeness Lighthouse, the Strait of Juan de Fuca, Hurricane Ridge, the Olympic Mountains, and Victoria, B.C., just across the water. We share our beach with the National Wildlife Refuge. All of our cottages have Queen beds, completely equipped full kitchens, whirlpool tubs/shower with skylights, CD player, cable TV, VCR/DVD and over 200 classic movies to entertain you. The suites each enjoy all of the above as well as a fireplace and a two-person whirlpool tub. Wireless Internet access with a view!Three Diamond hotel rating - the highest rated accommodations on the Olympic Peninsula. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers and Booking.com so you can book your Juan de Fuca Cottages reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Juan De Fuca Cottages Hotel Sequim

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing