We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great local "Cheers" type hang out”
Review of Islander Pizza & Pasta Shack - CLOSED

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Islander Pizza & Pasta Shack
Cuisines: Pizza
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Port Angeles, Washington, United States
Level 6 Contributor
301 reviews
177 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
“great local "Cheers" type hang out”
Reviewed 30 October 2012

We always have a great time when we visit the Islander. The staff is very friendly and after a few visits know our drinks when we walk in, no waiting for service! The pizzas are the best around, with homemade dough and most ingredients. The" barstool bingo" is a fun way to spend Tuesday evenings with lots of laughs and camaraderie. The Seahawks football games always draw a crowd and there are prizes and drawings throughout. This is a fun place to relax and enjoy good company and good food in a very casual atmosphere.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank DNWA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Debbie S, Owner at Islander Pizza & Pasta Shack, responded to this review, 5 November 2012
Thank you for the review. We pride ourselves in creating a home town friendly atmosphere and our chef's create an array of home made house specials. We are happy that you enjoy visiting the Islander. Please ask for Debbie the next time your in town. I would like to personnaly say hello.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

18 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    7
    7
    1
    1
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Renton
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“SERIOUSLY!? Complete rip off”
Reviewed 13 September 2012

We used to live in Sequim and never went here due to the horrible reputation this restaurant has around town. We ended up going one time and the food was OK, not "good", but OK. We had a few drinks and we did actually like the bartender. After we moved away, we decided to get married in Sequim and The Islander has a fairly large private room in which my friends decided to have my bridal shower. We also could not find anywhere else to rent kegs from, so we got 2 kegs for the wedding from here.

Starting with the bridal shower, our experience was just terrible. They made us feel the entire time as if all they cared about was money and they sent in one waitress to take care of all 25 of us. She was super overwhelmed and freaked out on us when, after we ordered and before the food came, we got up to play a game. She was worried since we had gotten up we might not sit back down in the same seats and she wouldn't know who ordered what, so she had to go get a pen and paper and write down all our names and what we ordered. So imagine when the food did come, she stood and shouted out plates and names and we raised our hands so she could bring it over to us. While I get she was overwhelmed, she definitely over-reacted. Also, we played a game with toilet paper and we ran out of toilet paper. My maid of honor asked the owner if we could possibly get a roll from them and she rudely responded with, "All we have are the HUGE rolls, you don't want that." My MOH said that would be fine and that she'd be glad to pay for it and when her bill came, the owner had charged $10 for the toilet paper!! Once many of us were finished eating, a lot of people were still ordering drinks and they were pushing us out. The owner kept walking around and cleaning up OUR things and asking very rudely if we needed anything else or if we wanted to just keep "hanging around." We cleaned up and left before our time slot was even up.

As for renting kegs from here, the owner was rude from the very start when I asked if our out of town in laws could call and pay for the beer over the phone with a credit card. She said she refused to pay the credit card fees when we will get the deposit back, so its money lost to her. We searched for a different place and finally ended up getting the kegs from this place, however, the second keg didn't tap correctly and wouldn't give our guests anything but foam. My in laws took the keg back the next day to get their deposit back, and the owner wouldn't give them even an extra dime back for not even drinking the 2nd keg.

We will not ever go back here or ever recommend it to anyone we know, I tell people often in fact that there are many restaurants in Sequim and this place isn't worth it, why give money to someone who can't even be cordial?

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Razzy_Razz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sequim, Washington, United States
2 reviews
“Tastey and friendly place to gather”
Reviewed 5 August 2012

Islander Pizza and Pasta Shack has a wide variety of pizza, sandwiches, and pasta... nice salad bar too.

Great place to take kids! Prices are good and staff is friendly. I particularly enjoy their Smoked Salmon Tortellini along with their fresh salad bar. Nice family restaurant.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank Cheeksmeeks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portland, Oregon
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Hang in the lounge”
Reviewed 13 July 2012

Great service despite the fact the bartender had her hands full with 8-10 regulars competing for her attention. Gotta love the taxidermy cougar, swinging saloon doors, and margaritaville crap stuck to the ceiling.

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jess B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bellingham, Washington
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Good food”
Reviewed 30 March 2012

Local hangout - good Italian
not much on decor...don't worry, still good

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
Thank toquer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Islander Pizza & Pasta Shack also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing