We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unique stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Red Caboose Getaway
Ranked #5 of 10 Sequim B&B and Inns
Reviewed 16 October 2012

A verry unique place to stay. I always looking for something special and the Red Caboose Getawaay is the most special place that I ever found! It is verry funny. Each caboose is restored with a lot of love for each detail - and the theming of each caboose is amazing. Breakfast was more than faboulous. Olaf and Charlotte (the owner) were extremely welcoming. I highly recommend the Red Caboose Getaway and I would definitely stay there again when I am in the area. We have stay in the Western Cabosse: really great!

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Moonbaer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (96)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

58 - 64 of 96 reviews

Reviewed 13 October 2012

My husband and I own are own small business so the only real way for us to not work on the weekends is to get away. I do many of the local deals when they come up for get aways for us.
This by far is the most unique and romantic place we have stayed. Each train has its own theme and is so unique. I did wait to get the grape escape train and so glad I did. The best one out of the selection I think. Fire place copper tub. So nicely decorated. The breakfast in the morning is served in the dining train and WOW amazing...
The owners are to wonderful and we loved to ask questions about all the trains and where get got them ect. Right now Olof is working on the next trains with a Vegas theme and sea theme.
We will be back to stay when they are done. So private and unique bed and breakfast.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tasha S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 October 2012

We just got back from a two night stay at this little B&B. Olaf and Charlotte, the owners, have taken old caboose cars and renovated them with unique themes. Each one is different. We stayed in the Circus car which was a blast. All cars come with with extra large tubs, gas heat, small frig, coffee pot, wine glasses etc. Other possible cars are:Lavender Express, Western, The Orient Express, as well as our Circus car. This is a very quiet venue, and there is a lot to see and do in Squim. Our hosts were full of great information. Be aware this is an adult place, no children are suggested unless they are over the age of 12. (You would have a better time without them). Breakfast is served in a period dining car. Yesterday we had hot cinnamon bread, baked apples with sausage stuffing, a blackberry dutch baby, a choice of juice and hot drinks, and of course, dessert. This time chocolate dipped oranges. Each day is a different breakfast. Highly recommended place to stay!!.

Room Tip: Ask what themed cars are available. E-mail works the best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Patricia S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 October 2012

We stayed two nights in the Lavender Caboose and the entire set up is amazing. To fully restore the cabooses into individual hotel suites is just wow. To get a soaker tub through the not so big door was another amazing feat. In the morning breakfast is at 8:30 am and they have a printed card on each table telling you what is on the menu. To give you an idea one morning we had Orange pull-apart mini loaf, baked banana with greek yogurt, honey & nutes, ham & cheese frittata on greens roasted garlic herbes potatoes, then the chocolate dipped strawberry. Both breakfasts we had were just amazing. I would have hated to be one of those fussy eaters or allergic to something because I would have hated to miss out on the food. Charlotte does all the cooking and Olaf plays the role of the Maitre d' which he does very well. We loved it.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BurnabyWanderlust
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 October 2012

A very fun place to stay. Very unique. I would definitely stay there again when I am in the area. Each caboose is restored with amazing detail - and the theming of each caboose is great fun. Olaf's attention to detail is magnificent. Breakfast was fabulous. Olaf and Charlotte were extremely welcoming. I highly recommend the Red Caboose.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank apricots-raspberries
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 October 2012

We stayed in the red-painted "Orient Express" Caboose. It was very fun and the decor, videos, etc. were perfectly suited to the car's theme. The owners of this B&B have a fantastic attention to detail and offer an excellent value (with a breakfast not to be missed).

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AdventureTraveler113
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 September 2012

We stayed here in late June during our honeymoon before our cruise to Alaska. I wish we would have stayed here another night, it was that awesome! First, realize that this is not the Four Seasons so forget about having a pool, spa, room service, and workout room...that is not what this place is about. What makes the Red Caboose so cool and unique is not only the first class service from your hosts Olaf & Charlotte, or the great breakfast in the morning (more on this later), but you are actually spending your night relaxing in a little bit of history in one of several different Caboose's!

Each Caboose is it's own private little hideaway, we stayed in "Track 2" The Red Orient Express. It has it's own TV with DVD player, mini gas fireplace, whirlpool bathtub, a sitting area in the top part of the Caboose (i can't remember what this part is called). The other Cabooses each have their own theme as well. We really enjoyed the Orient.

Olaf is such a nice man, and he really takes great pride in his work, restoring the Cabooses himself! It really shows, because the rooms are spotlessly clean, and it felt very homey....just a home on rails! We got into town a little later than we'd liked, but he called up a nice restuarant and got us a table.

The one thing you do not want to miss with this place is the breakfast! It was out of this world good! It would help to go for a run/jog or walk before hand so you can make room for the yummy goodness you'll be eating. Olaf only does things "First Class" in this fully restored dinning car. An asortment of fresh squeezed juices, coffee's, hot coco, the best orange honey bread I've ever eaten, greek yogart bannana, poached eggs, rosemary roasted potatoes, chocolate covered strawberries...picked from his own garden....it's the best!

I would stay here again in a heart beat, and hopefully next time we'll be able to make it two nights instead of one!

Room Tip: Do Not Miss The Breakfast!! It's the best you'll have had in a long time! Gormet all the w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Austinmike28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sequim
0.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites North Sequim
13.5 mi away
Manresa Castle
Manresa Castle
#10 of 11 in Port Townsend
328 reviews
14.9 mi away
Olympic Lodge
Olympic Lodge
#1 of 16 in Port Angeles
2,032 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
Sequim Bay Lodge
Sequim Bay Lodge
#8 of 9 in Sequim
194 reviews
6.4 mi away
Juan de Fuca Cottages
4.3 mi away
Lost Mountain Lodge
Lost Mountain Lodge
#1 of 10 in Sequim
400 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Red Caboose Getaway? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Red Caboose Getaway

Address: 24 Old Coyote Way, Sequim, WA 98382-9025
Region: United States > Washington > Sequim
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 10 B&Bs / Inns in Sequim
Price Range: £175 - £178 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
"Not just a room in a house" but your own private luxury railroad car- A Caboose! Gourmet breakfasts elegantly served in our restored private 1937 Zephyr dining car, "The Silver Eagle". ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Red Caboose Getaway reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing