We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Relaxation on the rails”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Red Caboose Getaway
Ranked #6 of 10 Sequim B&B and Inns
Seattle, WA
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Relaxation on the rails”
Reviewed 31 March 2008

We booked a weekend stay at the Red Caboose in the hope of escaping our weekday city lives and exploring the Olympic Peninsula. We were not disappointed. Olaf and Charlotte were wonderful hosts, keeping our caboose clean/stocked, making/serving us exceptional breakfasts, and offering us tips on local restaurants and hikes. The decor of our caboose and the dining car was great. Our caboose was warm, well lit, and supplied with plenty of hot water. Nature was ever-present outside; Canadian geese honked, red-winged blackbirds sang, local ducks waded in the pond, and occasional raindrops pattered our caboose's metal top. We could also view several snow-capped Olympic peaks from our caboose's lookout.

  • Stayed March 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank pntrmn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

90 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    72
    11
    1
    2
    4
See reviews for
10
62
4
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Bigfork, Montana
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 January 2008

It is with disappointment that I write this review fueled less by facility issues and more by poor customer service. Upon our arrival, Olaf gave us explicit directions on how to use the whirlpool tub. (The only form of bathing available in the caboose.) He explained that the tub would run out of hot water if filled more than half way. This seemed a bit odd, but I followed Olaf's directions and filled the tub halfway. After entering the tub, I found the water was lukewarm, and the romantic whirlpool tub experience for which we selected the “Lavender Limited” became instead a race to get the shampoo out of our hair as fast as possible to avoid prolonged exposure to the lukewarm water.

Next was the leak in the roof. It was a rainy night in Sequim, and water began to pool up on the floor, because there was a leak in the roof. There was so much water collecting on the floor, I laid a couple of towels down, to prevent the wood floor from being damaged. The leak dripped constantly throughout the night. Lastly, the power went out sometime in the night. We had to catch an early ferry to Victoria and would not have woken up, if not for our reliance on the alarm clock AND cell phone alarm. We dressed in the dark, with the light from our cell phones, our only means of illuminating the pitch black caboose. We tried to appreciate the adventure of the whole experience, but we were not staying in a forest service cabin, we were staying at a purportedly romantic and comfortable bed and breakfast.

We left a bit unsatisfied, but not upset about our experience. Because we had to get on the road, we did not discuss all of these issues with Olaf until we returned from our trip and had ample time to call him. Based on the reviews of the Red Caboose illustrating a commitment to customer service, we assumed that Olaf would be interested in hearing our concerns to improve the experience for his future guests. Unfortunately, this was not the case. Olaf did not listen to our comments, and did not apologize for the inconvenience. He was dismissive and rude.

If Olaf had demonstrated any compassion for our experience or a commitment to customer service, I would not be writing this review. The problems we encountered with the facilities could have been easily overlooked if Olaf had recognized the inconvenience, offered to discount our stay, OR merely apologized. I would not recommend the Red Caboose.

Stayed December 2007
Helpful?
7 Thank flavorfull
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bmw850, owner at Red Caboose Getaway, responded to this review, 8 January 2008
Our guests requested a refund 5 days after staying with us the one night. Had we been made aware of any challenges we could have addressed them that evening. A severe winter storm did cause a morning power outage )out of our control) but each caboose is heated by a gas fireplace and also comes with a working R.R. flashlight. We were still able to provide the requested breakfast to go with hot coffee at 6:45AM.
Our Track #5 has been enjoyed by many appreciative guests before and after with no issues.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colorado
Level Contributor
18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 November 2007

My husband and I spent six days in Washington prior to taking a ten day wine cruise from Vancouver, B.C.
My only regret I had was not spending more time with Olaf and Charlotte. They were very efficient hosts and captured us with stories during breakfast of how their dreams came true. The struggles and triumphs of their journey was precious memories for us.
Olaf focused on our total comfort. The breakfast every morning were duplicates from past train menus. The fine china made us feel like 1st class passengers.
As a bird lover, the sanctuary was filled with ducks and occasional blue heron visits. Olaf has a nice story of the blue heron.
We visited the B&B on October 29th and 30th. The sun was shining but there was still a chill in the air. Olaf turned on our fireplace in the Orient Caboose prior to our return home from visiting the Olympic National Park and Ruby Beach.
Olaf was able to provide us with popular sites to visit.
There is no doubt in my mind that I will book a longer stay with Olaf and Charlotte at the Red Caboose B&B. We are eager to hear more stories of their journey.
What a pleasant surprise for our 10th anniversary trip.

Carolyn and Mike

Aurora, Colorado

  • Liked — The fine detail and dedication of the owners.
  • Disliked — The surrounding houses, a few trees may help alleviate this ;o)
  • Stayed October 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank imusttravel2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle
Level Contributor
33 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 July 2007

We stayed in the Orient Express caboose, and it was every bit as beautiful as the photographs. Lovely furnishings; the refrigerator & coffeemaker were very unobtrusive. The Jacuzzi tub was probably best suited to two guests (or one large one) because the little hot water tank couldn't fill the tub high enough before running cold, which we'd been warned would happen. But I'm a small person, and at that moment I preferred to take a bath alone! But, it was fun to climb up in the cupola and look around, and we did take advantage of the gas 'woodstove' as the night became a little chilly. Unfortunately, the mattress sagged & needs to be replaced, but I've slept on worse. The worst thing was a loud bass thump that started about 9:50PM, coming from one of the nearby houses, that went on until well after midnight. I suppose one of us could have put our clothes on and gone to tell Olaf, but it was late and we just hoped it would cease soon, plus the innkeepers should have been hearing the same noise we were, so we figured there was no point in complaining (so I can't blame Olaf). Breakfast was such a nice treat - the railcar is truly stunning, and the china and tablescape was just beautiful. And the food was perfectly cooked. We were barely hungry for dinner!

  • Liked — I slept in a caboose!
  • Disliked — the noisy neighbors
  • Stayed April 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Pomegranate206
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, WA
Level Contributor
15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 October 2006

Won't find anything else quite like this anywhere. Especially if you love trains. Not only has Olaf carefully restored and plumbed the caboose with all the modern ammenities, he did it without removing the original details. From the door to the toilet stall, the original hardwood floor, all the handrails in a caboose, storage lockers... to small touches like the original signage that asks you not to flush while the train is at the station. Oh and the cupola with the original chairs. My wife and I kept climbing up to watch the sunrise and sunset over hot chocolate while overlooking the pond and the distant hillsides. Yet all the modern comforts are in place, from a very comfy feather bed, to the jacuzzi tub for 2, terry robes, pedestal sink, hairdryer, gas fireplace, mini fridge, TV/VCR/CDplayer... oh and on that note, we stayed in the Orient Express and they provided a library of movies including Murder On the Orient Express which we did watch. And remember, you have your own caboose on your own track. No ajointing walls. You won't hear the shower at 4am next door, or kids running the hallways, or someone pacing above you. Complete silence! The breakfast in the Dining Car brings back memories of the 40's. Olaf and Charlotte were in full uniform and the gourmet breakfast was spectacular. No oatmeal or toast here folks. We had freshly baked cinnamon swirl bread, baked stuff apple and Dutch Baby. Even the orange juice was really orange tangerine. All served on fine china worthy of a 1937 Silver Eagle Dining Car. Olaf's painstaken hobby of locating original pieces from around the country in recreating this experience is unparallel. We've gone home and have told all our friends about our experience at the Red Caboose. My wife and I have already started talking about our next return visit.

  • Liked — Unique experience that is hard to fine
  • Disliked — No A/C
  • Tips/Secrets — Explore the coast. John Wayne boughtr 200 acres of beachfront here for a reason
  • Stayed September 2006, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
4 Thank tykwong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NC
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 April 2006

This place is a real find!

Olaf and Charlotte are delightful hosts. Olaf really loves the trains and knows some fascinating details about their history and features. Charlotte's breakfasts are simply amazing. Multi-course affairs with everything you could think of included, served in a sleek, silver, restored 1930s dining car.

Our caboose was a highlight of our week-long vacation in the Olympic Peninsula area. It was very spacious -- more so than we'd imagined. Olaf has not gutted the interior, so the caboose retained features like the original wood floors, central observation platforms with swivel chairs, the original built-in storage cabinets, and the original bathroom cubicle. On the other hand, he HAD installed a mini-fridge, gas fireplace, and oversized jetted tub. It is not plush like a downtown hotel in a big city, but it is about as luxurious as you can get inside a rail car.

And if you like ducks, you will be pleased to meet a whole pond full on the property.

The only drawback is the location -- it is in a residential area with new homes next door in a little subdivision. However, the terrain is attractive anyway.

  • Stayed April 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank NCCoast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bakersfield, CA
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 April 2005

What a treat! The Red Caboose Getaway and its proprietors, Olaf and Charlotte, are gems! I took a chance on something different, booking my husband et moi into the Western Caboose from afar (we live in Bakersfield, Calif). Actually, it was the positive comments I found here at TripAdvisor that convinced me this B&B would be kind of a kick. Well, it was that and more.

The cabooses are truly special, comfortable and thoughtfully appointed by Olaf, the resident craftsman. We loved our Western one, with lots of fun old west detail, and plenty of 21st century comfort. I particulary cherished sinking into a good old-fashioned bubble bath in the clawfoot tub. An unexpected touch was the towel warmer! Cute little fireplace, cosy furnishings, plus coffee maker, refrigerator, and TV (with Old West movie videos, of course!)--all placed harmoniously into the decor. Comfort all the way.

Breakfast in the dining car (beautifully restored) was truly outstanding, thanks to Charlotte. Fresh bread hot out of the oven starts you off, with each following course a pleasure to see as well as devour. As vegetarians, we usually resign ourselves to granola and toast while everybody else has the house specialty. Not at this place! Charlotte made sure she understood our dietary requirements, then made us the veggie version of what everybody else got! (Such as, the baked Washington apple stuffed with sausage.... worked just fine with soy-based sausage. Yum!!!)

Long n short of it is, we really enjoyed the Red Caboose Getaway. There are currently five variously-themed cabooses ready to occupy, with five more to come. We think that's a great thing!

  • Stayed April 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
10 Thank MBanshee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sequim
0.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites North Sequim
2.7 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites at Olympic National Park
14.9 mi away
Olympic Lodge
Olympic Lodge
#1 of 15 in Port Angeles
1,483 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
Sequim Bay Lodge
Sequim Bay Lodge
#8 of 9 in Sequim
182 reviews
2.1 mi away
Olympic View Inn
Olympic View Inn
#5 of 10 in Sequim
97 reviews
1.9 mi away
Sequim West Inn & RV Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Red Caboose Getaway? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Red Caboose Getaway

Property: Red Caboose Getaway
Address: 24 Old Coyote Way, Sequim, WA 98382-9025
Region: United States > Washington > Sequim
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 10 B&Bs / Inns in Sequim
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
"Not just a room in a house" but your own private luxury railroad car- A Caboose! Gourmet breakfasts elegantly served in our restored private 1937 Zephyr dining car, "The Silver Eagle". ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Red Caboose Getaway reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing