We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Circus Caboose”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Red Caboose Getaway
Ranked #5 of 10 Sequim B&B and Inns
Reviewed 25 July 2013

This was so much fun! It is not cheap but worth the price for the decor, friendliness of the owners, and the uniqueness of the setting and "rooms." The breakfast was delicious, also, served in a real dining car. We want to go back.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Maureen V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (96)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

42 - 48 of 96 reviews

Reviewed 16 July 2013

Whether you are a train nut or not, you will certainly enjoy this experience of sleeping in a caboose. We were in the Lavender Caboose #5 while our relatives were in The Circus, #3. The décor is charming, thoughtful, railroad authentic, playful and well appointed. Every need is taken into consideration. The bed is extremely comfortable. A soak in the Jacuzzi tub is a delicious and relaxing way to get cleaned off. (Who needs showers?). In this case, the water comes out of an old iron stand pump while the controls for the water are stop cocks on copper pipes protruding from the beautifully tiled tub surround. A wall painting of lavender fields and the mountains is a backdrop to the tub.
The duck pond in the center of the caboose circle is delightful and the breakfast was superb.Our host, Olaf and Charlotte were pleasant and helpful and gave us a very informative introduction to the property and our rooms.

Room Tip: Not good for people who have mobility problems. The steps into each Caboose are steep. We are senior...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Gwendoline S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 July 2013

When my husband surprised me with reservations at the Red Caboose, I was so excited! Once we arrived we were pleasantly surprised! Olaf greeted us with excitement and happily showed us to our caboose and explained the available features. We stayed a single night in the Western Caboose and it was a VERY enjoyable experience. After spending the day hiking to the lighthouse at Dungeness Spit, the LARGE soaking tub was a wonderful surprise! We were not disappointed. We were too tired to enjoy the western movies provide but the bed was comfy and I was surprised at how warm the caboose stayed at night with the upper windows open. Olaf gave us great restaurant recommendations and information about the best Lavender Farms in the area. BREAKFAST was exceptional! I can't wait to return!!!

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank tsharer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 July 2013

A year has gone by since our last visit and nothing has changed. We stayed in the Orient Express again this trip. It is still a wonderful, charming place to stay and Charlotte & Olaf are still as wonderful and charming as always! The breakfasts in the dining car again were amazing and we got good use of the jacuzzi tub after visiting Hurricane Ridge. We look forward to visiting again sooner than a year from now.

Room Tip: It doesn't really matter which caboose you stay in. Look at them on the website and decide on yo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Velvet21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 June 2013

We enjoyed our stay at the Red Caboose way more than we thought we would! Somehow you have this sense that a train car really won't be that spacious or comfortable, but it was very comfortable and had plenty of room to move around. Granted, a caboose has it size limitations but it was fascinating to see how Olaf utilized every inch of the space in the refurbished car. We were in the Grape Escape and had some very nice Sofia champagne and several containers of fresh flowers which I REALLY enjoyed. My partner and his 22 yo daughter had relaxing rainy afternoon in the caboose just talking and planning... it was a highlight for them. Another surprise was the gourmet breakfast... using fresh local herbs and produce. It was fabulous! We had a great time and enjoyed every encounter with Olaf, Charlotte and Leif! It was a great time for us all!

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank D C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 June 2013

We stayed in the Lavender car and found it absolutely delightful! The bed was comfortable and we watched the sunset from the captain chairs in the cupola. The 4 course ''DON'T MISS breakfast' was served in a real dining car with silver/china/linens by the owner, Olaf. If you can, have him take you on a tour of cabooses!

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank barbturtlo73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 June 2013

I can find nothing bad to say about this B&B. The food was SPECTACULAR. I wanted to stay another night just so I could have another breakfast. The host and owner, Olaf, obviously has a passion for what he is doing.
We stayed in the caboose names the "Grape Escape" and also toured the Lavender caboose as well as the Western caboose. The dining car was a treat to eat in and visit with the owner while he served our food.
I loved the feeling of privacy the caboose provided. No detail has been over looked in the restoration, or in the guests comfort. From the vase of flowers, the bottle of champagne, or the good night chocolate, they provide it all.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank 766PattyB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sequim
0.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites North Sequim
13.5 mi away
Manresa Castle
Manresa Castle
#10 of 11 in Port Townsend
328 reviews
14.9 mi away
Olympic Lodge
Olympic Lodge
#1 of 16 in Port Angeles
2,032 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
Sequim Bay Lodge
Sequim Bay Lodge
#8 of 9 in Sequim
194 reviews
6.4 mi away
Juan de Fuca Cottages
4.3 mi away
Lost Mountain Lodge
Lost Mountain Lodge
#1 of 10 in Sequim
400 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Red Caboose Getaway? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Red Caboose Getaway

Address: 24 Old Coyote Way, Sequim, WA 98382-9025
Region: United States > Washington > Sequim
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 10 B&Bs / Inns in Sequim
Price Range: £174 - £179 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
"Not just a room in a house" but your own private luxury railroad car- A Caboose! Gourmet breakfasts elegantly served in our restored private 1937 Zephyr dining car, "The Silver Eagle". ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia and Priceline so you can book your Red Caboose Getaway reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing