We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a real treat”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Red Caboose Getaway
Ranked #6 of 10 Sequim B&B and Inns
NYC
Level Contributor
44 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“What a real treat”
Reviewed 15 November 2013

Like going back in time, to a long lost era, a trip to Red Caboose Getaway is a worthwhile adventure that we truly enjoyed. Unique in all regards and operated by people who pay attention to detail and labor out of love, you'll walk away with a truly enjoyable stay!

Room Tip: Lavender Room is a real treat!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Piperman2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

90 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    72
    11
    1
    2
    4
See reviews for
10
62
4
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Nevada
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 October 2013

I love to meet people who are passionate about what they do, and Olaf, the engineer and conductor of this unique B & B definitely fits the bill. We spent one weeknight at the end of August in the Casey Jones car, and as there was only one other couple staying that night, Olaf treated us to a tour of several other cabooses as well. The attention to detail and creativity that he and his wife put into each caboose is remarkable. He has several works in progress right now, and I want to go back and stay in the ocean theme caboose when it is finished. The breakfast, served on fine china in a gorgeous dining car, was just as creative and tasty.

Room Tip: If stairs or bathtubs are a problem, choose the Casey Jones caboose.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank goodtogo2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
62 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 August 2013

My son, husband and dad stayed here for one night, while the girls had a room in a boring hotel down the street. My son is quite train crazy and loved every minute spent here. The caboose was comfortable and the service was great. From what I heard about breakfast, it was delicious. I did see the menu and wish I could have had that too instead of an omelette from the Bear restaraunt next to the hotel.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lisa W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mukilteo, Washington, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 7 August 2013

We had great time!! My parents came from Japan, and I wanted them to have a fun experience that they've never had. Friendly owners made us feel very welcome. Breakfast was fabulous. Very quiet. I want to go back with my husband next!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SetsukoHansen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tacoma, Washington
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 July 2013

This was so much fun! It is not cheap but worth the price for the decor, friendliness of the owners, and the uniqueness of the setting and "rooms." The breakfast was delicious, also, served in a real dining car. We want to go back.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Maureen V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Olympia, Washington
Level Contributor
32 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 July 2013

Whether you are a train nut or not, you will certainly enjoy this experience of sleeping in a caboose. We were in the Lavender Caboose #5 while our relatives were in The Circus, #3. The décor is charming, thoughtful, railroad authentic, playful and well appointed. Every need is taken into consideration. The bed is extremely comfortable. A soak in the Jacuzzi tub is a delicious and relaxing way to get cleaned off. (Who needs showers?). In this case, the water comes out of an old iron stand pump while the controls for the water are stop cocks on copper pipes protruding from the beautifully tiled tub surround. A wall painting of lavender fields and the mountains is a backdrop to the tub.
The duck pond in the center of the caboose circle is delightful and the breakfast was superb.Our host, Olaf and Charlotte were pleasant and helpful and gave us a very informative introduction to the property and our rooms.

Room Tip: Not good for people who have mobility problems. The steps into each Caboose are steep. We are senior...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Gwendoline S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, WA
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 July 2013

When my husband surprised me with reservations at the Red Caboose, I was so excited! Once we arrived we were pleasantly surprised! Olaf greeted us with excitement and happily showed us to our caboose and explained the available features. We stayed a single night in the Western Caboose and it was a VERY enjoyable experience. After spending the day hiking to the lighthouse at Dungeness Spit, the LARGE soaking tub was a wonderful surprise! We were not disappointed. We were too tired to enjoy the western movies provide but the bed was comfy and I was surprised at how warm the caboose stayed at night with the upper windows open. Olaf gave us great restaurant recommendations and information about the best Lavender Farms in the area. BREAKFAST was exceptional! I can't wait to return!!!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank tsharer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sequim
0.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites North Sequim
2.7 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites at Olympic National Park
14.9 mi away
Olympic Lodge
Olympic Lodge
#1 of 16 in Port Angeles
1,614 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
Sequim Bay Lodge
Sequim Bay Lodge
#8 of 9 in Sequim
182 reviews
0.6 mi away
Econo Lodge Sequim
Econo Lodge Sequim
#7 of 9 in Sequim
87 reviews
2.1 mi away
Olympic View Inn
Olympic View Inn
#5 of 10 in Sequim
104 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Red Caboose Getaway? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Red Caboose Getaway

Property: Red Caboose Getaway
Address: 24 Old Coyote Way, Sequim, WA 98382-9025
Region: United States > Washington > Sequim
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 10 B&Bs / Inns in Sequim
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
"Not just a room in a house" but your own private luxury railroad car- A Caboose! Gourmet breakfasts elegantly served in our restored private 1937 Zephyr dining car, "The Silver Eagle". ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Red Caboose Getaway reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing