We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful Location, Friendly and Welcoming Cabin”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Sequim
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Sunset Marine Resort
Ranked #5 of 9 Hotels in Sequim
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed 28 July 2013

We recently spent time at the Sunset Marine Resort with our extended family. The resort was PERFECT for our group. All of the cabins are well-appointed with everything you might need for your stay, and more. I personally stayed in the Eagle's Nest....it was lovely. Great space indoor and outdoor for family dinners and hanging out to enjoy good food, yummy drinks, and gorgeous sunset views. The owners were very friendly and helpful, the cabin was clean, and the location was beautiful. I'm looking forward to visiting again in the future! Thanks for your hospitality! :)

Room Tip: Eagle's Nest has great space for larger groups--easy to access, and would be perfect for anyone...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Becky B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SunsetMarineResort, Owner at Sunset Marine Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 30 July 2013

Hi Becky B...and the rest of the family. It was great to finally meet you all in person and we feel privileged to have hosted one of your family reunions. Considering some of the amazing previous locations you have chosen, we're glad to know that ours was a perfect spot. We love that you make it a point to be together at least every other year and that everyone looks forward to it...even the "yutes." :) (youths) On Kauai....that is considered Ohana - togetherness/family - and it is what shapes our time here at the resort.
Thanks again~
Tracie & Lavon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (115)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

68 - 74 of 115 reviews

Reviewed 28 July 2013

Stunning sunsets, eagle sightings, and an incredible view of Sequim Bay - Sunset Marine Resort has all of this, and more! My partner and I love it here (especially the Tree House). We make it a point to treat ourselves to a stay at the resort three or four times a year. The cabins are cozy, and the staff is friendly. We like to hunker down, prepare delicious meals and enjoy a quiet romantic weekend free from all of the craziness of the "real" world. This place is a dream, and we can't wait for our next chance to come back.

Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank Karen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SunsetMarineResort, Owner at Sunset Marine Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 30 July 2013

Karen M. and Partner....THANK YOU for the incredible meal. You truly spoiled us. It's always a treat to see you two. Next time we hope to wrangle in some crab for a good crab boil on the beach.
Cheers~
Tracie & Lavon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2013

I recently stayed a third visit at Sunset Marine Resort with my family, who arrived from out of town. Our cabin, the Eagle's Nest, was sparkling clean, comfortable and had all the amenities we needed to enjoy our four day vacation. Arriving late after a long travel day, we especially appreciated the informal and easy self check-in procedures, which was included with our confirmation, via email. The owners, Lavon and Tracie, were fantastic hosts and promptly answered our questions regarding wood for the firepit, the best dining spots and hiking trails on the peninsula. It was hard to tear ourselves away from the tranquility and beauty of the property to enjoy all the peninsula offers, however. I recommend renting a kayak and paddling around the bay or jumping on a mountain bike and exploring nearby trails. My family will have to come back to explore areas away from the resort! We look forward to our next stay at Sunset Marine Resort.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank gkite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SunsetMarineResort, Owner at Sunset Marine Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 30 July 2013

Thanks for the review GKite. It was great to hang out with you and your family again and catch up on the wonderful things happening in your lives. You folks are what makes Sunset Marine Resort such a special place. We're glad you like the self check in - that comes from many years of guests letting us know that they prefer to come and go on their own schedule. We recently incorporated the Resort Map in the reminder email that goes out 24 hours in advance, just to make sure everyone knows where to go and what to do. Of course you all know the routine already. :)
We definitely recommend heading out to the National Park or Dungeness Recreation Area next time you are here. Give that big wonderful pooch a hug for us!
Thanks again~
Tracie & Lavon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 July 2013

Posted the same review on FB which was promptly removed .......
We called the owner after waiting and waiting. She was picking blueberries, told us to get the clipboard with our name on it and follow the map to get to our cabin. We did, had to maneuver our luggage through a NARROW path with steep stairs. The rooms were moldy smelling. the bathroom a closet size with thin/well worn towels, and the sink faucets leaking.
The fridge was very noisy, and the other bedroom had a big water heater concealed by a linen curtain abutting the bed. Very noisy every time it cycled.
We were the downstairs to a 2 story cabin. We heard the high heels click click on the wooden deck at 5 in the morning, the washing machine and dryer at 6, and of course every time they flushed it came down to one of the room. Poor plumbing.
We asked for towels one evening, found them on the deck the following morning. NEVER met the owner, she probably was too embarrassed about the place. View mostly blocked by trees in front of the ample deck. Please do your homework before booking this place.........

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Simone W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 July 2013

My wife and I booked a last minute room at the Sunset Marine Resort. The actual cabin was the Skipper's Cabin. The cabin was nice but the deck was in the trees with only peek a boo views. The two bottom cabins (Clam Cottage and Boat House) have fabulous views because they are on the water. While I did not look at decks further up the hill side (Captain Quarters, Tree House, and Eagle's Nest), they appeared to suffer the same problem - too many trees in view and not water.

To get a view you needed to go down to the water. There you had a dock with table and chairs and a fire pit back on the beach.

The cabin is clean and has only a small refrigerator, microwave, small coffee machine and two cups, two wine glasses). We had to eat out for our meals.

Other complaint is the lack of any shampoo. We had small soap bars but that was it.

If you have any walking issues, this cabin is not for you. The path is well lighted but narrow and the railing is not for someone who has to hold on for stability.

You might want to check it out before you reserve. To be fair, the other visitors who stayed on the beach in the two cabins seems very happy with the accommodations.

Room Tip: Use the Cabins on the beach for full views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank BEC308
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SunsetMarineResort, Owner at Sunset Marine Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 17 July 2013

Thanks for the review. We're not sure why this guest thought we were a marina, but this is an accurate description of the Skipper's Quarters. It is our least expensive rental since it does not have a kitchen and is located beneath the Captain's Quarters rental where the view is partially limited by our large madronas. It's a great spot if you plan to head out and tour the area. It's often the only rental left with any availability in the summer months, since most of our other cabins book up in advance. Although we are happy that we were able to provide accommodations at the last minute, we definitely recommend making advanced reservations if you prefer to stay in a larger rental. If you are looking for a view, be sure to check our website for photos of views from the decks of our other rentals. The Eagle's Nest in particular is pretty spectacular.
Cheers~ Lavon & Tracie (owners)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 July 2013

Excited to arrive at the Osprey and see how roomy and awesome the view was. Once inside discovered that the bedrooms had holes in the walls, cob webs everywhere, bumpy - dirty bed, fireplace and TV didn't work, no drapes on bedroom windows, no shampoo or soap, closets full of debri etc. once the manager was advised of our dilemma, she became unconcerned, defensive and accusatory.

We left early. What a waisted day/night. I never complain, yet my wife suggested we post this to warn potential visitors. Stay away, unless they 'really' promise you a clean, well maintained space.

Here comes the defensiveness, just watch.

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
11  Thank Steve4416
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SunsetMarineResort, Owner at Sunset Marine Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 10 April 2015

We've tried to respond to this review before, but the response has been removed. In fairness and full disclosure, it would be helpful to know that Steve (the reviewer) wrote in our guest book that this was a wonderful place for his family. He is exactly right - he doesn't complain. We're honestly not sure what was happening. The only issue we were made aware of was the gas fireplace - which worked prior to their arrival. Having been notified of it not working, our only recourse was to offer apology and call a technician to come check it. Unfortunately we did not know that they had changed the settings in the unit which disconnected the thermostat control.

Regarding the other complaints - We never heard of any of these until after their departure, and only because we contacted them to let them know they had left something behind. It saddens us that Steve offers the impression that we knowingly disregarded their concerns, when in reality we hadn't been made aware of any issue. That they felt it necessary to "warn' others by cross posting on multiple sites under different names shows how important it has been to them. We wish it had been important enough to talk to us during their stay.

When we came in to clean, we found a chair and a stool wedged against the adjacent laundry room door which was bolted from the other side. We found out later, that his wife was also appalled that windows were open (in july) rather than closed and locked.
We're not sure what "holes" he is referring to. The bedrooms do not have holes in the walls. The home was built in 2005 and was only 8 years old when they stayed. The bedrooms have since been painted again. We do our best to get cobwebs, but sometimes we don't see them when the walls and ceiling are white. We do not offer tv service currently in any of our rentals except the Eagle's Nest (the tv unit in the Osprey's Nest was a dvd only and was operational. it now has apple tv connected and we offer free wifi). The closets hold dressers, an extra table, cushions for outdoor furniture, additional chairs, blankets, etc. The beds had clean linens which came directly from the adjacent laundry.
Regarding the absence of drapes - the Osprey's Nest is very private. We've considered putting drapes or blinds up on the many windows - but the view is amazing and the location makes it difficult for anyone to see inside. That said - we're still considering and appreciate feedback.
We cannot stress enough - how important it is to notify inn keepers immediately if there are any issues. It's really the only way to be sure that your experience is exactly what you want it to be.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 June 2013

We keep coming back. We have brought family and friends and pets. Other friends have ventured there on their own based on our recommendations and we all love it. We always stay in the Boat House, lots of room. Our friends that we meet with stay in the Clam Cottage. The rooms are always very clean. The seals, eagles, sounds and smells of the bay keep us coming back. There is something here for everyone! Our last visit included a group of all ages, from 10 to 73. Everyone enjoyed it. There are kayaks available to rent, fire pits and barbecues. We take bikes and the porch is a great place to watch the sunset. WE LOVE THIS PLACE and we can't say enough about Tracie and Lavon. They go out of their way to make sure we have everything we need. This is a gem you don't want to miss out on.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kathie G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SunsetMarineResort, Owner at Sunset Marine Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 7 September 2013

Kathie & Paul - You have it a bit backwards - SMR is a special place in part...because of YOU. Each time you come, you bring such a sense of warmth, friendship, kindness and joy to the Resort. Thank you for your lovely smiles, for the conversations and for inviting us to share in your time here. As always - we're looking forward to your next visit with the furry kids. :)
Best~
Lavon & Tracie - (& Kukui of course)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sequim
3.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites North Sequim
1.9 mi away
Sequim Bay Lodge
Sequim Bay Lodge
#8 of 9 in Sequim
194 reviews
18.4 mi away
Olympic Lodge
Olympic Lodge
#1 of 16 in Port Angeles
1,961 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.1 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites at Olympic National Park
19.9 mi away
Red Lion Hotel Port Angeles
Red Lion Hotel Port Angeles
#3 of 16 in Port Angeles
2,237 reviews
10.3 mi away
Manresa Castle
Manresa Castle
#11 of 11 in Port Townsend
321 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sunset Marine Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunset Marine Resort

Address: 40 Buzzard Ridge Rd, Sequim, WA 98382-8612
Region: United States > Washington > Sequim
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 9 Hotels in Sequim
Price Range: £75 - £256 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our location provides for spectacular sunsets, and with a 500ft bulkhead, it's one of the closest waterfront access lodging options around. Cabins range in size from studio to 3 bedroom homes - all with amazing water views. No roads separating you from the view or from water access. The natural landscape of coastal madrona trees and pacific northwest salal make this location beautiful and private. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Sunset Marine Hotel Sequim

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing