We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lots of good food, definitely not fast”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Black Bear Diner

Black Bear Diner
Ranked #8 of 86 Restaurants in Sequim
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$8 - US$15
Cuisines: Contemporary, American, Diner
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, Kids, Cheap Eats, Groups
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Brunch, Dinner, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Description: The Black Bear Diner is dedicated to providing the very best food and service anywhere. You'll enjoy delicious family meals, perfect burgers, frosty shakes, and healthful salads. We'll treat you like we invited you over for diner! Enjoy outside seating on our deck in the Sequim sunshine. We are located next to Holiday Inn Express Hotel in Sequim. Don't forget our pet-friendly deck when the weather is nice!
Coupeville, Washington
Level Contributor
93 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Lots of good food, definitely not fast”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 August 2014

It's summer, so, slow down and enjoy lunch at the Black Bear Diner in Sequim, WA. You've got time, you're not rushing anywhere, and the food is abundant, large portions, served in a clean, interesting, tasteful atmosphere. Lots of wood sculptures and bear-themed food items. The service was not quick, but it was friendly. The food was very tasty and there was plenty of it. The pancakes are huge. Bet you can't eat two. Price was quite reasonable. We enjoyed our fine lunch even though it took a little longer to reach the table than we had planned. We would definitely stop again.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Tom J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BlackBearDiner, Owner at Black Bear Diner, responded to this review, 20 August 2014
Thank you for your great review. We are pleased that you enjoyed your meals and the atmosphere and service at the Black Bear Diner. We will continue to work on being more efficient in the kitchen while retaining quality food. We hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

387 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    154
    126
    55
    27
    25
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Greybull, Wyoming
Level Contributor
22 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Slow but Tasty”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 August 2014

Huge menu with something for everyone. Food was really good, but service was slow on a busy day. Fun decorative touches of course with bears on the mind. At the south end of Sequim (pronounced squim)on the Olympic Peninsula, easy on-off to Hwy 101 exits.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Becky A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carlsborg, Washington
Level Contributor
47 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“Diner Food with Pizazz”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 August 2014

Nice atmosphere with outdoor seating and a Koi Pond. The staff ensured all our need were met with a smile. Each staff member was professional and accomodating. The food was served well presented, with large portions. (We asked for go boxes upon delivery.) We did have a 15 minute wait for seating, however it was well worth it. Enjoy.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank HollywoodMontana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Antarctica
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“10-15 minute wait? Hohoho...sure.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2014

First warning: If the parking lot looks a little full, turn around now.

If you're sitting in the waiting area and the place is crowded, the host just took your name and told you it was going to be 10-15 minutes: Add AT LEAST another 10 minutes to that. If she said 20 minutes just head back out the door, cause, you're going to be sad and its not going to be just 20 minutes. They don't seat people fast here. Once you get your table add another 20-30+ minutes to your wait get your food on a busy day. This place is ALWAYS frustratingly busy and has been EVERY time we've visited. Waiting an hour from start to finish (food actually on table) is not unheard of.

Their location is right next to the Holiday inn, so they get that crowd + traffic coming into town + locals who want big meals + tourists during tourist season who think that its a local diner and not a chain + families that want to show their kids the bear sculptures + large parties that seem to always want to celebrate birthdays at black bear.

Right now you're thinking "well the food must be really good then!" and its decent, but I do think it was probably better food when the diner was newer and less overclocked. For me it went from yum to "eh so-so" the past year or so. It makes sense, its just hard to put a lot of TLC into your food when you are constantly dealing with so many customers. I've got nothing but respect for whoever is in that kitchen back there, they have to be running at full tilt non-stop. Also several times our meals were missing corn muffins when they were big dinners that were supposed to have them, so watch out for missing muffins.

Ok so you decided to ignore my warning and you're going for it anyway: Their fried chicken is pretty good, if they haven't run out (which they do all the time). If that isn't an option I'd recommend their Big Grizz breakfast platter which is insanely huge. Not in a big breakfast mood? The pot roast dinner is really good too and you get a lot of extras with it. I've never been disappointed with it. More of a veggie person? What the heck are you doing at Black Bear? hah kidding, get that new veggie flatbread sandwich. Its good. :)

Good luck and god speed... heck bring along a deck of cards for the wait. AnD BBD? seriously consider opening a second location somewhere to deal with all the people, or turning all that outdoor seating into indoor seating somehow. Its crazy.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Penviews
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BlackBearDiner, Owner at Black Bear Diner, responded to this review, 20 August 2014
Thank you for your review. You make good points. We are pleased that you like many of our entrees and have dined with us several times. We are constantly working to improve efficiency while preparing good food. We make a lot of our meals fresh, so it does take time, especially when we're busy. Thanks for the feedback and we will continue to strive to serve good meals as quickly as possible while retaining quality.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sequim, Washington
Level Contributor
27 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Generally, I do not like the food here!”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2014

This restaurant is beautiful, with the bear carvings and all, but most of the food is way too greasy for my taste. I have eaten here a few times due to family requests. The muffins are really good and I have had a salad that was edible, but those were the only things I liked here. The service was very slow.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank GrandmaB212
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Black Bear Diner also viewed

 

Been to Black Bear Diner? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing