We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Bed & Shower were 'average'....but that's as good as it got”
2 of 5 bubbles Review of Sundowner Motel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Sundowner Motel
Ranked #9 of 9 Hotels in Sequim
NZ
Level Contributor
649 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 239 helpful votes
“Bed & Shower were 'average'....but that's as good as it got”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 June 2012

We travel frequently & review a lot...when we have a 'good one', we like to return. THAT is why, 2 years on, we came back to the Sundowner. It had been redecorated in 2010, staff were upbeat and we looked forward to seeing them again in June '12.
1st the good news; bed, shower and TV were 'average'...but that was as good as it got
Sorry to say, standards have slipped....a lot. It hurts to have to report that the carpet was stained & smelled, sink was rusted, table sticky and not cleaned properly.
Had we done a pre - inspection, we would have moved on...It was only our 'trust from 2 years ago' which allowed us to pre pay and go to our room. 'dismay' followed.
In all our travels, this is the ONLY motel without morning HOT H2O for tea and /or coffee in the office. Staff were unconcerned. Use your room microwave & a paper cup filled with H2O 5 times for your thermos to make tea she suggested? "we did have coffee pre 0900h but it's finished"
As tea drinkers, we could only shrug & move on.
Hope this management regains their enthusiasm for the business....soon.

Room Tip: Pre inspection required....Look 1st, then pay & stay if it's ok
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank r s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

90 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    17
    25
    8
    14
    26
See reviews for
20
33
15
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 May 2012

This place was awful! The room was filthy. I opened the nightstand drawer and it was filled with porno magazines. There was food left in the refrigerator from the previous guests. We brought this to the attention of the office and asked for our money back. She refused and said "how does she know that we didn't bring in the porno" I told her that I was renting the room with my 64 yr old mother and that was absurd! This place was a joke

Room Tip: The Diner next door was excellent
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Barb G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Sequim hotels

San Diego, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 May 2012

Because of my work I travel a lot. And for last few years every time I'm in Sequim staying
in Sundowner Motel.
I'm so happy the I found the nice place to stay.
I would recommend Sundowner Motel to everybody.
Jerzy

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jerzyst1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 May 2012

My daughter and me are making a roadtrip in Washington. The stay at the Sundowner Motel in Sequim was in a good clean room. Very friendly people....had a good night sleep.

  • Stayed May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gloffie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Victoria, Canada
Level Contributor
22 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 March 2012

This was the worst place I have stayed. The chairs were filthy, the bathroom fan was missing and the hole filled with dust. Bathroom has small white bugs. No coffee served out of the office.
Look elsewhere!

Room Tip: Go somewhere else. Econo lodge was nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank mamasue605
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, Washington
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 October 2011

I travel to Sequim off and on and always stay at the Sundowner. No its not the Hyatt or the Red Lion but....its ALWAYS clean and quiet and everything works great ! I have never been more satisfied. The price is good, and the owner is always accomodating even on short notice. I would recommend the Sundowner to anyone who wants a fair price and a good nights
rest !

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank chris m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle
Level Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 October 2011

Our room with one queen bed was located furthest from the street which made for a quiet sleep in a comfortable bed with a good pillow. Total cost of $55 was reasonable for a good night's rest. We would stay again.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank d_squaredSeattle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sequim
1.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites North Sequim
1.3 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites at Olympic National Park
4.1 mi away
Sequim Bay Lodge
Sequim Bay Lodge
#8 of 9 in Sequim
3.0 of 5 bubbles 182 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Econo Lodge Sequim
Econo Lodge Sequim
#7 of 9 in Sequim
3.0 of 5 bubbles 87 reviews
13.5 mi away
Olympic Lodge
Olympic Lodge
#1 of 15 in Port Angeles
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,490 reviews
1.2 mi away
Days Inn and Suites Sequim
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sundowner Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sundowner Motel

Property: Sundowner Motel
Address: 364 Washington St, Sequim, WA 98382
Region: United States > Washington > Sequim
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 9 Hotels in Sequim
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Sundowner Motel 2*
Number of rooms: 33
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline and Traveltool, S.L.U. so you can book your Sundowner Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sundowner Hotel Sequim
Sundowner Motel Sequim

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing