We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Experience”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Shelton
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
A Lighthouse on Hammersley Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #1 of 1 Shelton B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 9 March 2012

As we write this, A Lighthouse On Hammersley has 76 traveler reviews here and not one is anything less than “Excellent.” Having spent last weekend there we can now add our own Excellent Rating. What an amazing place. We believe the Ranking of #1 would be the same in Seattle as it is in Shelton.

If you don’t think of yourself as the B&B type please don’t let that stop you. This is not the stereotypical Bed and Breakfast. It is more a miniature lodge or resort. (Though miniature is not exactly the right word for this grand and spacious accommodation.)

Anyone would undoubtedly be impressed by the attention to detail that goes far beyond the usual. The house itself is spectacular. Clearly much thought was given to creating the most pleasing and remarkable layout imaginable. And the decor is so beautiful that we were surprised to learn Kelly isn’t a professional decorator. We can’t imagine anyone walking in for the first time and not saying “wow.”

Breakfast was delicious and elegantly served down to the candlelight and quiet music playing in the background. The special touch of a different theme for the place settings each day showed a great love of entertaining.

The location is not really as far from the highway as it might seem and the directions are easy to follow. It’s just rural enough to provide peaceful, relaxing surroundings. The grounds and view of Hammersley Inlet are the very definition of “serene.” For anyone worried about finding nearby entertainment: the well-stocked theater room, game room with pool &ping-pong table, exercise room and library are all included in the very reasonable rates. And all can be reached without putting on your shoes! If you don’t arrange for dinner at the B&B, try venturing into Shelton -- there are some good restaurants in town.

Last but certainly not least, A Lighthouse on Hammersley has the best hosts imaginable. Friendly, helpful, and fun doesn’t begin to describe them. They are also extremely considerate and caring. We were in town for a funeral and their thoughtfulness was much appreciated. Do yourself a favor and spend as much time talking with Phil and Kelly as time allows. Phil’s stories of his life and how he and Kelly put this place together from the ground up are fascinating. They could literally write a book on how to run the perfect B&B.

Room Tip: Not a bad room in the house!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Loren C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (252)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

174 - 180 of 252 reviews

Reviewed 23 February 2012

Everyone has their favorite B&B. It certainly did not take long for this B&B to become our favorite of all those we have visited. We knew that this place was a cut above the rest from our very first stay in November 2011. I have written a previous review, from that visit, which you may enjoy reading. We stayed a second time this last New Years Eve. Our first visit was one night, our second visit was two nights and we've made reservations for later this year for three nights. Can you tell we like it here LOL!!!!!

Kelly did such a beautiful job of decorating for Christmas. It gave us the sense of being in a "Winter Wonderland". The Christmas background music that was being played just added to that magical feeling. So cool!!!

Since we had a little extra time on this visit we were able to enjoy the game room and the exercise room. We played pool, ping-pong, darts and used the exercise equipment. We also watched a movie on New Years Eve in the movie room. We could see some pretty fireworks from our room around midnight on New Years Eve. They were from the surrounding homes so they were fairly close. I imagine there would be even more on the 4th of July.

We had breakfast twice and dinner on New Years Eve.
Kelly's meals are fantastic, delicious and very filling. If Kelly ever decides to write a cookbook I will be the first to buy it. It'll be a best seller.

Like I mentioned in my first review the rooms are very comfortable and roomy. There are two sinks in the generous sized bathroom. The bed is very comfortable. The view is awesome and so peaceful. You can sit in your room reading and see the beautiful view or sit out on the deck in the warmer weather. Enjoyed the chocolate mints in our room and the other treats.

How many places have you looked up on Trip Advisor that have all 5* for the reviews. I don't recall any that I've seen. Congratulations to this B&B and Phil and Kelly. That's quite an accomplishment. Cool!!!! Trust me, if you book a room here you will really enjoy yourself.
Have a great time. We're looking forward to our next visit!!!

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lilyofthefield
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 February 2012

We almost always select a B&B when traveling throughout Washington State for one of our weekend get-aways. After staying two nights at A Lighthouse on Hammersley in Shelton, we now have a new favorite! All aspects of this B&B were fantastic! This B&B has many wonderful ammenities and activities on-site, or you can choose to chill in your spacious room with a lovely view of the water and wildlife. The breakfasts are filling and delicious. Phil and Kelly are gracious, helpful, and very friendly hosts. We highly recommend this B&B if you are traveling around or through the Hood Canal and Olympic Peninsula.

Room Tip: We stayed in the Lighthouse room and had our own dining area in the top tower and a bird's nest...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Karen Q
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 January 2012

My wife, Karen, surprised me with a birthday trip a few days before Christmas. On a recommendation from a friend, Karen took a chance on this place despite not being much of a B&B person. We were both pleasantly surprised with the entire experience. Our two night stay seemed all too short. Phil and Kelly are wonderful hosts and definitely make you feel right at home. Breakfast was served to us seated in a breakfast nook that overlooked Hammersley Inslet. The water view is exceptional and our time spent gazing outward was extremely relaxing. We had the unscheduled bonus of watching a healthy looking doe who just decided to take up residence in the yard. Phil attempted to hand feed her and while the doe did get extremely close, it still kept a little distance.
I guess the best thing I can say about this place is that we look forward to going back again.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dan G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 January 2012

We flew into Seattle and stayed here overnight on the way to Olympic National Park. Just beginning a 3 week trip through Olympic National Park and the Canadian Rockies, we wanted our first night stay to be somewhere "special" -- to get away from the city & airport and feel like we started our vacation the same day we landed. One look at the water view and we were in vacation mode! We only planned to stay one night, had this great trip scheduled... and my husband didn't want to leave this B&B. Restful, great food, great views, super host & hostess, activities to fill a week's stay. Easy drive from Seattle and the airport, but totally away from the city in beautiful, wooded, quiet surroundings.
Easily the best breakfast we have ever been served (in 40 years of traveling to 20 countries, 46 states & 1 territory). We stayed in the Zen room and loved it.

There's no point in reiterating all the wonderful things being said by the other reviewers. I want you to know that this is a great place to come for a special weekend, a weekend away from the city, a vacation week or just an overnight on the way to Olympic National Park.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Ali2Raleigh_NC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 January 2012

This Bed and Breakfast has great customer service and amazing food. It’s very quite with a beautiful view. I would recommend this place to anyone looking for a romantic weekend away or someone wanting to curl up with a book and enjoy the large fireplace. Owners are very kind and enjoy getting to know everyone who stays.

Room Tip: All rooms are the same size.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 January 2012

I was sick and never should have left home, and yet I could not imagine a more restful place to regain my health. Phil and Kelly are experts at making their guests feel comfortable and at home. Between the incredible food and the comfortable room I was able to get plenty of rest so that by the time we left I was beginning to feel much better. The home was beautifully decorated for Christmas and the view from our room was magical. This is by far the best B&B I have stayed at in the past decade and I look forward to many more opportunities to enjoy restful nights at A Lighthouse on Hammersley.

Room Tip: All the rooms are the same size and it's just a matter of what decor suites your fancy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sterve
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Shelton hotels
7.3 mi away
Little Creek Casino Resort
6.1 mi away
Super 8 Shelton
Super 8 Shelton
#2 of 4 in Shelton
270 reviews
4.9 mi away
No photo provided
Shelton Inn
#3 of 4 in Shelton
44 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Arcadia Romantic Getaway
Arcadia Romantic Getaway
#1 of 1 in Shelton
5 reviews
Show Prices

Been to A Lighthouse on Hammersley Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about A Lighthouse on Hammersley Bed and Breakfast

Address: 292 East Libby Road, Shelton, WA 98584-8133
Region: United States > Washington > Shelton
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Shelton
Price Range: £102 - £117 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Newly constructed (completed in 2008) 10,000+ square foot low-bank waterfront bed & breakfast located on beautiful Hammersley Inlet in Shelton, Washington, Mason County. Each of the four spacious guest rooms offers a private bathroom, stunning waterfront view and covered deck to view boats and wildlife all year round. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
a Lighthouse On Hammersley b&b
a Lighthouse On Hammersley Hotel Shelton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing