We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“wonderful spot, great hosts”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Shelton
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
A Lighthouse on Hammersley Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #1 of 1 Shelton B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 5 September 2012

Kelley and Phil do a great job of making you feel special... in a very special place. The house and the grounds are beautiful. Add great views of the bay (and the lazy seal) and here's a place you can relax and get away from it all.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Deane W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (252)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

148 - 154 of 252 reviews

Reviewed 3 September 2012

We had a wonderful stay at the Hammersley B&B. Phil and Kelly are accommodating innkeepers that made us feel at home from the time we arrived as guests and until we left as friends. We stayed two nights and the breakfasts were to die for. Very scrumptious! We went kayaking two days. Each day we could take a different route. We went to Shelton one day for 4 nautical miles (8 round trip) and to Arcadia Point the next day for 4 nautical miles (8 round trip). There are plenty of other things to do or if you just want to relax, it is very quiet and peaceful at the inn.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jennifer_K1414
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 August 2012

My wife and I stayed at the Lighthouse on Hammersley B&B on the last night of our two week summer motorbike trip down the coast.
Kelly greeted us we pulled up the driveway, and we then spent the next 15 minutes being amazed as Kelly gave us a tour of the house, property and our room.

My wife was very impressed with how clean the entire property is and the beautiful kitchen and furnishing throughout. I was caught up in the quality of workmanship illustrated throughout the building.

Kelly and Phil are very thoughtful hosts, from all the special soaps and creams, suntan lotion, robes and extra large and comfortable towels and a little refrigerator in our oversized private bathroom. In addition to the very comfortable beds and bedding and all the many extra touches such as additional lighting over the bed for night time reading, a lovely writing desk, comfortable chair to enjoy the view and fireplace to snuggle in front of.
To keep the guys entertained, there is a large “Man Cave” which includes Foosball table, a pool table, a dart board, putting green AND Large Screen TV with dozens of popular DVDs.

My wife and I tend to shy away from B&Bs, as we feel we might be intruding, however, Phil’s design of this purpose built B&B allows for many areas of privacy for the guests and provides a separate living space for the hosts.

Kelly and Phil have successfully designed their property to be a destination resort, rather than just a place to spend the night, get a great breakfast and then leave in the morning.

When I first called to book our room, Kelly asked if there were any special dietary requests. My wife is sensitive to dairy products. Kelly and Phil prepared special treats and a breakfast for my wife that she found: “To Die For!” . My breakfast was simply outstanding and the outer guests, all of which are return customers, shared this opinion.

My wife was so impressed with her experience, that am instructed to book a weekend with Kelly and Phil for her 50 birthday.

Rick and Sandra

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RickYYJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 August 2012

The group before us told Phil that they would make the last four recommendations so that they would have 100. I see someone had failed. But if one reads back through the other reviews almost everything is covered, so maybe they figured that there was nothing else to to talk about. Or maybe they are busy. Several reasons we stayed with Phil and Kelly for one night. 1. The 1964 Alaskan Earthquake. 2. My wife's neighbor from Valdez celebrated her 85th birthday in Hoodsport. 3. There were canoe races and pot-latch festivals all around the south sound that week and lodging was filled up. 4. Phil said he would not surprise us with liver and onions for breakfast unless that is what we wanted. 5. All the rooms were taken on the previous night.
This is one of the rare experiences you can enjoy again and again and not feel guilty. We will go back. Maybe you will be there. Good luck Read slowly what Goody1 has said

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Gerald M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2012

Phil and Kelly are wonderful people with an attention to detail rarely seen. The house is immaculate and is set on a picturesque inlet. The delicious breakfasts combined with the views of the inlet make for a relaxing yet invigorating start to the day. This is a great place to stay whether you are by yourself, or on a trip with your family. They instantly make you feel welcome, so it is very hard to leave when your check-out day arrives!
- Will

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Will B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2012

We had the pleasure of staying with Phil and Kelly for three nights in late July. The home is spacious and comfortable, the setting peaceful and beautiful and the breakfasts quite possibly the best we've had. We look forward to our next visit!

Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Guy J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2012

Every now and then you stumble onto something special. This B&B is really something special. I think what sets it apart from every other B&B we've ever stayed at is the level of effort that Phil and Kellie put into all aspects of this operation. Not only is this large, beautiful home perfectly situated on a magnificant piece of waterfront but they complement that with warmth and service that exceeds anything we have experienced in our travels. For two people with full-time jobs to put in that much energy into this operation it must be truly a labor of love. Lucky us!!!!

Room Tip: They are all good!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Goody1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Shelton
7.3 mi away
Little Creek Casino Resort
6.1 mi away
Super 8 Shelton
Super 8 Shelton
#2 of 4 in Shelton
268 reviews
10.3 mi away
Robin Hood Village Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.0 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Olympia
12.4 mi away
The Governor Hotel, a Coast Hotel
15.0 mi away
Best Western Tumwater-Olympia Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to A Lighthouse on Hammersley Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about A Lighthouse on Hammersley Bed and Breakfast

Address: 292 East Libby Road, Shelton, WA 98584-8133
Region: United States > Washington > Shelton
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Shelton
Price Range: £102 - £118 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Newly constructed (completed in 2008) 10,000+ square foot low-bank waterfront bed & breakfast located on beautiful Hammersley Inlet in Shelton, Washington, Mason County. Each of the four spacious guest rooms offers a private bathroom, stunning waterfront view and covered deck to view boats and wildlife all year round. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
a Lighthouse On Hammersley Hotel Shelton
a Lighthouse On Hammersley b&b

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing