We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A one-of-a-kind bed and breakfast experience”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Shelton
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
A Lighthouse on Hammersley Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #1 of 1 Shelton B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Washington state
1 review
“A one-of-a-kind bed and breakfast experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 July 2014

This was my second visit to Phil and Kelly's place and a first-time experience for my husband and the other couple we brought with us. I don't want to jinx these two wonderful hosts by saying this, but it was an absolutely perfect stay. The Lighthouse on Hammersley is very distinctive and classy without being the least bit stuffy, and unlike any other bed & breakfast I have ever known or heard of. This spacious, contemporary home has both the atmosphere of a lodge and a seaside getaway with a coziness and warmth that make you feel not only safe and comforted, but also pampered. Attention to detail are hallmarks of everything Phil and Kelly do. The decor is just delightful and a feast for the eyes with touches of whimsy to bring a lightness to your heart. Kelly's cooking is scrumptious and filling (generous portions!), and Phil's congenial service is so charming and brings a smile to your face. This exceptional accommodation "sings" with hospitality and grace. We were "proud" to share this experience with our friends. Being there is a gift to yourself and those with you.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank midwestgirl50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

240 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    240
    0
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
42
158
9
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (88)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Portland, Oregon, United States
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 July 2014

Well, we have returned once again from Phil and Kelly's slice of Heaven, and as usual, just can't say enough wonderful things. This was the 8th time we have visited, and we have already planned our next 2 visits. The setting is still exquisite. The food is even better than that!! This was our first visit in the Summer months, and we got to enjoy so many things that we have not had a chance to in the Fall and Winter when we normally go. We sat on the water in the most gorgeous weather and read books, watched boats and kayaks go by, visited with each other, laughed, and really found exactly what we needed...an escape from everyday life. It seems that Phil and Kelly have really just thought of everything here, and you just feel so comfortable, cared for, and care free. We were there for the 4th of July this year, and the fireworks shows over the water from the surrounding homes was better than any other I have seen. Each morning and evening, we were surrounded by wildlife, and got to visit and enjoy a mother deer going by with her twin babies several times. And, despite the fact that the place was booked up for all three of our nights there, there is just so much space and options for everyone, that you feel like you are the only ones there!! There is a reason that we continue to go back over and over, and will continue to do so in the future. If you are looking for a truly wonderful place to stay and some of the best food you have ever eaten, then A Lighthouse on Hammersley Bed and Breakfast is exactly what you are looking for!! <3

Room Tip: All of the rooms are phenomenal...you can't make a bad choice!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jillian B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 July 2014

After a wedding in Gig Harbor we searched to find a special place for our family to stay for one night. Special hardly describes this Exceptional & Extraordinary B&B we discovered outside of Shelton! This luxurious custom built home situated with incredible views of the water was decorated with amazing details both inside and out. The extremely clean accommodations were perfect and ideal. Special touches greeted us around every turn such as fresh flowers and yummy cookies. Phil and Kelly were perfect hosts. Words to describe the gourmet breakfast would include……superb, exceptional, creative and beyond delicious. The area outside along the water included lovely flowers and grasses among a variety of cozy sitting areas and a small putt-putt course. On the lower floor of the multi-leveled home we found a theater room with hundreds of movie options, a pool table, foosball table, ping pong table, electric darts and an exercise room. Our only regret was that we could only stay one night.
In our travels around the world we do rely on Trip Advisor to find amazing places. A Lighthouse on Hammersley Bay’s 169 reviews revealed all 5’s….it doesn’t get much better. You will not be disappointed…must see to believe.
Check out their Facebook Page and “Like” them to connect to this amazing place. https://www.facebook.com/ALighthouseOnHammersleyBandB/timeline

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cyoung95
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Issaquah, Washington
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 June 2014

This B&B is a wonderful oasis, a little piece of heaven off the beaten path. The owners, Phil and Kelly, built this beautiful waterside retreat in the quiet town of Shelton, WA and what a treat that they share it with the world. Full of so many thoughtful details, we loved every minute of our stay from the gorgeous accommodations and delicious breakfast to the fun variety of activities available (pool table, surround sound theatre, kayaking, private mini-golf course, puzzles, chess, library, huge fish tank, etc). Our favorite was lounging waterside at dusk, having been skydiving at Skydive Kapowsin also in Shelton, it provided the perfect way to wind down and relax after an adrenaline-filled day.

The owners are welcoming, friendly and kind, ensuring every moment of our experience was nothing short of awesome from the minute we pulled in the driveway. We were celebrating our 12th wedding anniversary and they left some extra special treats in our room for us that made our stay just that much more memorable...the gluten-free peanut butter cookies were unbelievable! The breakfast was equally as exceptional and they were very accommodating to our gluten-free diet. We stayed in the Lighthouse Room, and having received a full tour, we can honestly say all of the rooms are equally as beautiful and spacious.

Well done Phil and Kelly! We will most definitely be back!!
-James & LIz Nolan

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank James N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bay Area
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 June 2014

Having stayed at numerous B&Bs over the past 15 years, A Lighthouse on Hammersley is one of the very best! Few can rival the first-class hospitality and accommodations that Phil and Kelly provided. Their large, stunning, modern home has sublime views, is immaculately maintained and exquisitely decorated.

We stayed here in mid-June 2014 in the Captain's Quarters and were treated to sumptuously prepared and deliciously decadent breakfasts every morning. Meticulous attention to detail in every way possible; for example, despite a late check-in, Phil and Kelly were very understanding, greeted us in person and there were even home-made cookies waiting for us in our room, much to the delight of our daughter. Our room was well-appointed with fresh flowers, and cleaned daily.

This waterfront property has a private beach that offers endless hours of serene rest and a rich source of marine life (e.g. crabs, clams, scallops, etc.) for exploration. Truly "heaven on Earth"!

Phil and/or Kelly were always on site, pleasant and helpful with whatever we needed. My husband and I thoroughly enjoyed conversing with Phil about any topic under the sun. Our stayed was so enjoyable and wonderful that we did not want to leave.

Every B&B should aspire to be what "A Lighthouse on Hammersley" is. Highly recommend. Will return again.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SceneItAll_Traveling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2014

This B&B is done right, in every detail. It is a hidden treasure, but Kelly's directions will get you there without a problem. From the moment we pulled into the drive she and Phil made our stay delightful. The food was terrific, the conversation was terrific, and the site was incredible. Recommended to anyone seeking a day or two of respite in luxury.

Room Tip: Lighthouse has four rooms, each carefully designed and beautifully appointed. Choose any one.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank A_H_Jessup
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, Washington, United States
Level Contributor
37 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 May 2014

It's hard to believe this was our 20th visit to A Lighthouse on Hammersley Bed and Breakfast. It honestly was every bit as grand as our very first visit. We never tire of the fabulous breakfasts that Kelly creates. Both she and Phil are masterful at making their guests fill welcome and at home. It's truly an experience that is best described through your own eyes and taste buds. My wife and I could easily have stayed in our room all day today just looking out upon the incredible view. The pictures we've included really tell the whole story. If you have not yet stayed here you need to call and make reservations today. Your entire body will thank you.

Room Tip: Every room is unique and yet similar. We have stayed in them all and love different things about ea...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sterve
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Shelton
7.2 mi away
Little Creek Casino Resort
6.1 mi away
Super 8 Shelton
Super 8 Shelton
#2 of 4 in Shelton
3.5 of 5 bubbles 247 reviews
10.3 mi away
Robin Hood Village Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.0 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Olympia
13.2 mi away
Hotel RL Olympia by Red Lion
15.0 mi away
BEST WESTERN Tumwater-Olympia Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to A Lighthouse on Hammersley Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about A Lighthouse on Hammersley Bed and Breakfast

Property: A Lighthouse on Hammersley Bed and Breakfast
Address: 292 East Libby Road, Shelton, WA 98584-8133
Region: United States > Washington > Shelton
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Shelton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Newly constructed (completed in 2008) 10,000+ square foot low-bank waterfront bed & breakfast located on beautiful Hammersley Inlet in Shelton, Washington, Mason County. Each of the four spacious guest rooms offers a private bathroom, stunning waterfront view and covered deck to view boats and wildlife all year round. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
a Lighthouse On Hammersley Hotel Shelton
a Lighthouse On Hammersley b&b

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing