We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Built for comfort and entertainment, with beautiful views.”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Shelton
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
A Lighthouse on Hammersley Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #1 of 1 Shelton B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 20 November 2010

This home was built to be a bed and breakfast, so it has the comfort of a luxury hotel combined with all the quiet intimacy of a really excellent bed and breakfast. The large guest rooms have large private bathrooms. Everything is fresh and clean. Each room has its own theme, not kitschy, the themes are really nice. The proprietors have their own section of the house, since it was built with the intention of having guests. The proprietors really like to entertain, they are warm and engaging people. Everything is very well conceived. We watched the sun come up over the water from our bed, we walked out of our room onto the deck, and looked across the private miniature golf holes and gardens. It was a misty morning that was opening up into a sparkling day. We had a sumptuous homemade breakfast served upstairs overlooking the water. There are numerous spaces to relax, the spacious living room with big fish tank and fireplace, the bright and airy breakfast area, the reading area upstairs, your own room, outside on the deck, and an entire floor downstairs just for entertainment including a private theater, pool table, dart board, foosball table, an exercise room, and more. I don't enjoy being without the internet and there is wifi, my cel and laptop had no problems connecting and the connection speed was excellent.

  • Stayed: November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank nridgway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (252)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

210 - 216 of 252 reviews

Reviewed 30 October 2010

My husband and I wanted to get away for 2 nights and tried A Lighthouse on Hammersley at Shelton, Washington. We found a keeper! Relaxing and quiet. 4 themed bedrooms and all have a great views of the inlet. Breakfast was amazing and dinner was 4 courses for $20 and was excellent also. Very clean and Phil and Kelly were engaging hosts. Give it a shot and you won't regret it.

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lynnebowles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 September 2010

Wow! this must be one of the finest Bed and Breakfast houses in the World!

We were made very welcome on arrival even though we arrived 2 hours earlier than I had told them. The host gave us a full tour of the property and was very helpful in giving directions to a restaurant which he rang for us and asked them to keep a table with a view. The facilities in this one off building are out of this world and the house caters for everybody, young and old.
Sadly we were only staying for 1 night on our way from Seattle to Vancouver Island via the Car ferry at Port Angeles.
I had mentioned our holiday was a 25th Wedding Aniversary treat for my wife when I booked 9 months earlier but I didn't expect the bottle of champange provided at no extra cost. In the morning we had fresh coffee and homemade muffins provided in the kitchen ( who wouldn't be envious of this space ) for an early morning walk along the beach. On our return the Kelly served a great breakfast in the lovely upstairs lookout room with great 180 degree views to the sea inlet. Seals could be seen just off the beach and we were provided binochulors to watch them and the water traffic passing by. It was nice to have the easy sound of Kenny G in the background from the house sound system.
Nothing was too much trouble for the owners, you can relax in any part of the building and make yourself at home.The bedroom was huge and so comfortable with another great view. I was so sorry we had to leave after such a short stay. I wish the owners the great success they deserve with this venture.
If you are in the Seattle area please be sure to stay here for that special not to be missed experience of this fantastic building put together with so much love by the owners. Thank you for making this part of our trip so special.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PAUL R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 September 2010

This is the most delightful of places - Phil and Kelly are wonderful hosts and the house they have created is truly spectacular. They have managed to create a very upscale lodging but still maintain a warm friendly atmosphere. Breakfast in the loft area is a treat and hard to move away from. We had 'movie night ' in the basement with popcorn personally served to us. If we lived closer this would be a regular 'get away'
The only caution I would state is to eat early evening or late afternoon and stay once you reach the house. The 4 stars for location is not in regard to the actual house which is in an amazing location but the lack of amenities close by .There is no where really close for dinner - you really won't want to leave once you arrive anyway - if you like fabulous accomodation with amazing people for hosts this is the place for you

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank glynandsiobhan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 September 2010

The best way to describe the Lighthouse at Hammersley B&B is that of a boutique Bed and Breakfast. Phil and Kelly make each stay as unique as each guest. We’ve stayed seven times during all four seasons, over three years, enjoying a different experience each time.

The one thing never changes is Phil and Kelly’s genuine warmth when they invite you, quite literally, into their home. This is the real bed & breakfast experience: you will be in intimate contact with the proprietors and other guests. The interior is spacious and open creating a natural gathering place near the kitchen with views of waterfront. Each of the four rooms has a great view of the waterfront, are spacious and fully self contained, including a small refrigerator, and offer plenty of privacy.

The bed and breakfast is located on a point of land with a spectacular 270 degree view of Hammersley Inlet. The low bank waterfront allows easy access to the beach for small water craft (canoes, kayaks, etc) or just beach combing. During our stay last summer we launched our 8ft inflatable with a small outboard and spent an afternoon “cruising” the inlet to Shelton and back. Even if you’re not into the beach, morning and evenings are great times to view the local wildlife of deer, otters, seals, and abundant waterfowl and birds.

So why go to Shelton, WA? Shelton is a true small town where logging is the main industry. Located near the Olympic National Forest and Park, Hood Canal, and about an hour and half from the Washington Coast, the opportunity for outdoor recreation is enormous. The Lighthouse at Hammersley provides an excellent base from which to start each day’s activity. There also a growing number of wine tasting opportunities in the Hood Canal area. Be sure to enquire with Phil or Kelly regarding local events to add to your activity choices.

One word of caution: while Shelton has some very good restaurants, most are not open on Sunday or holidays. The Alderbrook Resort or the Olympia area is your only real choices.

We’re already planning trip number eight!

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank M_and_R1295
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 September 2010

We were looking for a B&B near Shelton, WA for a couple of nights since we were attending family events nearby. We were surprised at the limited choices for B&B's in the area, but thru the internet found " A Lighthouse on Hammersley ". We were pleased with the presentation on the website and it was only uphill from there. The owners, Phil and Kelly Bergh, greeted us warmly concerned that we arrived later than we had planned; not concerned as a no-show for them, but a real concern for our welfare.

We had the lighthouse keepers room and thus had the special upper nook to have breakfast. They provide a variety of choices to have breakfast; privately or communally.
The whole "experience" was beyond expectation. We actually came back the 1st afternoon to just relax on the property since it was so beautiful and restful. We slept very well due to the comfortable beds and quiet setting. We stayed over a Sunday night and the other guests had left, so we had the place to ourselves with excellent food and great conversation with the Berghs.

We highly recommend this B&B and we have stayed at many in the Northwest and California.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank prewett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2010

From the arrival and greeting, to their helping us out with luggage to the car, it was beyond normal and beyond expectations. The drive there helps put civilization's hustle behind you, and once inside peace and welcome just sweep over ya'. I had no idea what to expect since it was a surprise; I slept in until 8am and I NEVER do that; such is the tranquility and fresh air here. The owners have thought of EVERY detail and appointment to the place, indoors and out. EVERYthing is first class for a very reasonable rate; the food is fabulous and prepared meticulously, the view from each room and dining areas is waterfront and picturesque. We bought a gift certificate for family on the spot. It's like we spent a week at the ocean; hated to leave. The building is a careful, spacious, gorgeous expression of planning, theme-based structure and items down to the smallest detail (and the largest!!) in the rooms, common areas, outside...and yet it feels like home right away. Do yourself a favor and go there; it is WELL worth it.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AussieTwink
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Shelton hotels
7.3 mi away
Little Creek Casino Resort
4.9 mi away
No photo provided
Shelton Inn
#3 of 4 in Shelton
44 reviews
6.1 mi away
Super 8 Shelton
Super 8 Shelton
#2 of 4 in Shelton
271 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Arcadia Romantic Getaway
Arcadia Romantic Getaway
#1 of 1 in Shelton
5 reviews
Show Prices

Been to A Lighthouse on Hammersley Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about A Lighthouse on Hammersley Bed and Breakfast

Address: 292 East Libby Road, Shelton, WA 98584-8133
Region: United States > Washington > Shelton
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Shelton
Price Range: £102 - £117 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Newly constructed (completed in 2008) 10,000+ square foot low-bank waterfront bed & breakfast located on beautiful Hammersley Inlet in Shelton, Washington, Mason County. Each of the four spacious guest rooms offers a private bathroom, stunning waterfront view and covered deck to view boats and wildlife all year round. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
a Lighthouse On Hammersley b&b
a Lighthouse On Hammersley Hotel Shelton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing