We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great neighborhood cafe”
Review of Hills' Food & Wine

Hills' Food & Wine
Ranked #7 of 89 Restaurants in Shoreline
Price range: US$15 - US$20
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Shoreline, Washington
Level Contributor
21 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great neighborhood cafe”
Reviewed 15 April 2014

We are lucky enough to live very close to Hill's. We go often enjoy it very much. We have our "Usual", but think everything on the menu is good. They have great hamburgers, chowder, chicken taco's and good specials. It is nice to be able to sit outside in the patio when the weather cooperates. The cobblers are a great way to finish off a great meal.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Doris709
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

43 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    17
    19
    6
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
seattle
Level Contributor
143 reviews
62 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Delicious food”
Reviewed 4 March 2014

Hill's is located in Richmond Beach and, although the restaurant is difficult to find, it is a real treat to have a meal there. I love the seafood chowder and all their salads are good. We love the salmon, lemon chicken and I have never been disappointed in my meal. Many times my husband and I will call in an order and bring it home and are always happy we did!! This restaurant is a favorite of those in Richmond Beach and I highly recommend it!!

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank nancygSeattle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shoreline, Washington, United States
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great neighborhoo gem”
Reviewed 4 March 2014

This wonderful family-run restaurant has gourmet food. The atmosphere and bar are great for everyone.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Ana S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, WA
Level Contributor
129 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“Pricey for a Neighborhood Restaurant”
Reviewed 14 October 2013

Tucked away behind a fire station and a Parking lot, Hills does not have a view of the sound or even a pleasant view. The menu offers about 5 to 6 main dishes. The choices with all of them are limited to mashed potatoes. I ordered the steak and was a little disappointed for the price. The portion is small and the sauce was non-existent and the vegetable were 3 green beans. Everyone else on my table had the chicken & pork dishes and they seemed much better. The House salad, which was listed in the menu with blue cheese, smoked almonds, tomatoes and raisins, was basic tossed green leaves that did not contain any of the items listed. As the evening went on and the restaurant filled it became very noisy. There are many fabulous restaurants in the area and I would rather spend my money elsewhere.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank PDRtravelbug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kirkland, Washington
Level Contributor
117 reviews
105 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Wonderful discovery”
Reviewed 3 April 2013

Easter Sunday we took a walk around Richmond Beach and developed an appetite. Searching for something close by, we happened upon Hills' -- what a find. It is a great local, unpretentious restaurant in an obscure spot, which is easy to miss. It was a wonderful discovery. The staff was warm and welcoming, the ambiance pleasant, and the food very good. It is true, the menu is not huge; but it's better to do a few things well than to try to please "the world." One of us had lamb shank and the other pork Milanese. Both were tasty. They offer fish tacos (a favorite of ours) but the menu said the fish was battered, which didn't seem to fit with fish tacos. There were both more sophisticated offerings as well as simple ones, helping to please many palates. Our server, while being quite young, was very knowledgeable about the wines being offered . . .which is always appreciated. We live over on the east side and wish Hills' was over there! We really enjoyed the whole experience.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Foodlover_12203
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Hills' Food & Wine also viewed

 

Been to Hills' Food & Wine? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing