We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Glamourous outside, stale on the inside”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Spokane Downtown
Ranked #17 of 46 Hotels in Spokane
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 21 July 2014

We always wanted to stay at this particular Holiday Inn Express because it looks so beautiful on the outside. So glad that we did, because now it is out of our system. The exterior is eye-catching, as the hotel sits high on a hillside with it's castle-like spire reaching for the sky. The lobby is very large and inviting, the area where you eat breakfast. The staff is friendly, so it was a good start. Then, it was downhill from there. The room had a stale aroma in it, despite being a smoke free room. We called down for 2 extra towels, but they never showed up. The hotel is pet friendly, so you hear barking dogs all the time. Twice in the hallway we were accosted by loud barking dogs, even though the owners were pulling the leashes to keep them down and quiet, you still get a hostile reception. The breakfast was poorly stocked, as hot water, yogurt and breads for toast were not around until were were nearly ready to go back upstairs. Also, the beds were extremely soft, to the point you 'sunk in a V shape towards the middle of the bed', as though the mattresses had lost their structural integrity - new mattresses for our room were a 'must do'. So now we know about the castle like hotel on the hill top....

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank natshats
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lscook, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Spokane Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 23 July 2014

Gosh, I am so sorry that you felt that way about your stay with us. I will certainly check in to the situation with the odor in the room and the possibility of a mattress that has lost its integrity. That is not normal. We do work to keep everything inside and out in tip-tip condition. We are pet friendly and do accommodate dogs. Most of our four legged guests are very well mannered. We also do our best to accommodate them with and outside entrance to minimize the disruption to other guests. I do appreciate that you stayed with us and I would like to ask you to come back and give us another chance.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (414)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

216 - 222 of 414 reviews

Reviewed 17 July 2014 via mobile

The service here is terrific. We travel so much and it's nice to have a welcoming helpful staff. I miss having a pool a little but the surrounding area parks provide plenty to do and see. Great location. But the real star is the customer service.

Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
Thank Athena C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lscook, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Spokane Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 19 July 2014

Thank you for staying with us! And thank you for your great comments about the staff. We talk a lot about great customer service and I am grateful to hear they are delivering it. I will share your comments with the staff! Stay safe until we see you again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 July 2014

This HIX is one of the most scenic ones I've been to and as a Platinum Priority Club member I've been to a lot of them. It sits on a hill in Spokane and has a very unique architecture. The staff are very friendly and the lobby/breakfast area is quite large and roomy. The rooms are good size and there is plenty of free parking. On this trip I was staying using points but was treated as if I was a full price paying customer. It is within easy walking distance from Riverfront Park, the SkyRide over the falls, several excellent restaurants and the downtown area where you can visit several winery tasting rooms and the grand Davenport Hotel. It is smaller and more personable than the several nearby larger hotels such as the Red Lion and Doubletree.

Room Tip: South facing higher floor rooms have a better city view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Herb C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lscook, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Spokane Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 15 July 2014

We do have a very unique location in a beautiful city with lots to offer. The thing I like best next to our great views is that we are very close to everything that downtown has to offer and yet far away enough to be out of (and above) the hustle bustle. We value each of our guests and want to thank you for staying with us. I hope that you will come stay with us again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 July 2014

OMG! Where should I begin?

Called on July 3rd to book a room for July 4th and was amazed to be able to get a room in the first place! The exterior is very welcoming. Lets call it rustic, yet modern.

The beds were the best beds I have ever slept on. The option of pillows was amazing. There were two soft and two firm pillows on the bed which made that night probably the most relaxing/peaceful night I have ever slept.

I was not able to hear any of the other occupants of the building at any time during our stay.

Great view for the Fourth of July Fireworks display in Downtown Spokane!

One thing that I would recommend to the owner of the hotel is to correct a design flaw in their porch "fire tables." You should have separate switches for each table that way if one guest wants the fire on at their table, and the a guest at the other table does not want the fire on, you would not have an inconvenience to one customer or the other.

Would return to this location.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TacMedic_E68W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lscook, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Spokane Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 7 July 2014

You do have many choices when traveling for lodging accommodations; thank you for choosing us! I am so glad to hear that your stay was great! I will certainly take your suggestion about the separate controls for the fire tables to the ownership for consideration. That is a great suggestion! Please come stay with us again, next time you are traveling to or through Spokane!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 June 2014

We will not be back, although the staff is friendly, the lobby is attractive, and our room was fine. We had an expensive (locked) bike stolen from our car bike rack, in broad daylight. We were parked 3 cars away from the office. We understand that the hotel will not take responsibility for something stolen in the parking lot. However, Spokane ranks the highest in Washington state for car thefts, so why don't they at least have security cameras for the parking lot? In addition, if the hotel wanted to leave us with a good taste in our mouths, they could have been more sympathetic about our experience, and/or offered to deduct something from our room charges. Our extended family had at least 4 rooms booked in this hotel, and I doubt that any of them will return.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BBSammamish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lscook, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Spokane Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 7 July 2014

I am so sorry to hear about your bike being stolen off your car! I wish we would have known that you had bikes on your vehicle. We have encouraged guests that we knew had bikes to lock them right outside our front office window so that we can keep an eye on them. Visibility from the front desk to the parking lot is limited. Please accept my sincere apology. I will take your concerns about security cameras to my ownership for their consideration. If you would like to discuss this further, please feel free to contact me at the hotel. Lori, GM.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 June 2014

As others have commented, this hotel has been recently refreshed, and its site in downtown Spokane is striking, located on a rocky bluff near Riverfront Park, convenient to downtown attractions and Gonzaga University. The building shows thoughtful architecture with a pleasant "Old Spokane" feel. Our room had an excellent walk in shower (body jets!), best I've ever experienced in an HIE. Breakfast seemed subpar on Monday morning, much better variety and freshness on Tuesday. Perhaps a delivery was late? The hotel's satellite TV package is less than optimal, no A&E, HGTV, Food, or similar cable channels. All in all a pleasant stay, though.

Room Tip: If you like a walk in shower, some of the rooms have them, we were told.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bksgrrrl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lscook, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Spokane Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 25 June 2014

Thank you for staying with us and thanks for sharing your comments about our walk in shower with body jets. That is a nice feature of our suites. I hope the next time you come to Spokane, you will stay with us again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 June 2014

This is the first time I have stayed since their remodel and WOW, this place could easily be a Marriott. The location is perfect, walkable to downtown shopping and dining and to Riverfront Park. Beautiful views and the facility itself is breathtaking. You simply can not do better than this HI express!!

Room Tip: Rooms on the south side of the hotel have a river view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jsguyrus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lscook, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Spokane Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 25 June 2014

Thank you so much for staying with us and sharing your experience! We appreciate you and hope that you will come stay with us again next time you are in Spokane!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Spokane hotels
0.1 mi away
Oxford Suites Downtown Spokane
3.6 mi away
Hampton Inn by Hilton Spokane Airport
0.3 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Spokane City Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel RL by Red Lion Spokane at the Park
0.1 mi away
Red Lion River Inn
Red Lion River Inn
#23 of 46 in Spokane
793 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Davenport Grand, Autograph Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Spokane Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Spokane Downtown

Address: 801 N Division St, Spokane, WA 99202-1614
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Washington > Spokane
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Spokane
#7 Family Hotel in Spokane
#13 Romantic Hotel in Spokane
Price Range: £85 - £167 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Spokane Downtown 2.5*
Number of rooms: 119
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Express Downtown Spokane hotel is an excellent location for business and leisure travelers alike. Perched above the city with a 360 degree view, our hotel in Spokane is close to Spokane shopping, dining, and all that downtown Spokane has to offer. We are a stone s throw from the Spokane Convention Center, and serve as a home away from home for visiting Gonzaga University, EWU, WSU, and Whitworth University. Our Spokane Hotel is also a great place to stay when coming to Spokane to see a Broadway Show at the INB Performing Arts Center, Concerts at the Knitting Factory, Concerts at the Spokane Arena, Chiefs WHL Hockey and Spokane Shock Arena2 Football at Spokane Veteran s Memorial Arena. For the best service in any Spokane hotel, search no further than the Spokane Holiday Inn Express on the rock! We are 100% non-smoking, complete with exercise facility, business center with free printer use and Internet access, free high-speed wired Internet in every guest room, free deluxe Continental breakfast as well as cookies and milk every evening. Make your reservation now; your room awaits. All you have to do is come prepared to experience that which memories are made of at the Holiday Inn Express Downtown Spokane hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Expedia, Ebookers, getaroom.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Spokane Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Spokane Downtown Hotel Spokane
Holiday Inn Spokane
Spokane Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing