We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lots of shopping!”
Review of Downtown Spokane

Ranked #7 of 103 things to do in Spokane
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: A pleasant bike ride through downtown Spokane: this 9.2-mile trail runs past some of Spokane's historical sites, like Browne's Addition neighborhood and Riverfront Park.
Reviewed 16 November 2011

A neat three maybe four story shopping center downtown with a theater at the top. Lots of restaurants to choose from for dinner. We ate at an Italian restaurant across from a Sushi restaurant... I can't remember the name! But the food was great!

Thank TravellingKittyKat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (518)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

497 - 501 of 518 reviews

Reviewed 20 October 2011

the woman at the visitors' center recommended we take a walking tour of the historic Davenport Hotel. It was recently restored. Don't miss it. They make you feel very welcome. Be sure to pick up the brochure before starting the tour.

Thank mobilegrandma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 October 2011

Downtown Spokane, great worlds fair park outstanding views,this time it was very warm and sunny,so i walked everywere along the river,in the park,etc,i was stationed here in the80s for survival school, i love this city, its a very nice city lots to see and do,
Eddie

1  Thank KOTCBodyGuard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 September 2010

We had a wonderful stay in Spokane in September 2010. Guidebooks don't feature Spokane, and this is an oversight. The downtown Riverpark is quite lovely. We stayed three days and wished we'd had a fourth. The park has a sky tram to see the Spokane River falls. There is good shopping downtown on Main Street.

First time visitors, we were at first at sea trying to find the good parts of downtown. All of Second Avenue -- a critical thoroghfare -- were torn up in September 2010. So driving had a horse and buggy feel in terms of speed and bumps. I have never seen a city tear up an entire street -- usually half is torn up and half is drivable. Not in Spokane right now. Odd, but look past that. Also, maybe it is the recession, but the downtown has more than its share of sketchy looking folk and I would not recommend wandering around alone at night.

On Main Street, you will see the old and the new. Auntie's Bookstore is a great independent bookstore in Spokane on Main Street. Also, there are lots of bars and of course, being Washington state, lots of unique coffee shops.

Just look past Second Avenue and head to Main Street and Rirverfront Park. Those areas make Spokane a really neat city for walking around downtown.

1  Thank FredTravelVa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 July 2004

Stayed in Spokane on the 4th of July 2004. Loved Riverfront Park. Beautiful park and very clean. My son, husband and I walked through the park several times during our stay. The Fourth of July fireworks display was wonderful. Downtown area of Spokane really nice, very clean.

2  Thank idawmn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Downtown Spokane also viewed

 

Been to Downtown Spokane? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing