We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We enjoyed this hotel”
Review of Hotel Ruby

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Ruby
Ranked #13 of 46 Hotels in Spokane
Certificate of Excellence
Oliver, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
424 reviews
104 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 187 helpful votes
“We enjoyed this hotel”
Reviewed 15 July 2013

We usually stay at another property in Spokane but it was full on the weekend we were visiting. We decided to try the Ruby. It is a refurbished motel in the downtown area, right by the Davenport. The property is easy to find and has its own small parking lot (small fee). Check in was smooth and we got an end room on the top floor. The rooms are nicely done although beginning to get a bit worn. The room was small and very clean. The bathroom was all tiled with a large shower with glass door. The beds were comfortable and there is a mid-sized flat screen TV.

Continental breakfast was pretty basic but adequate.

The Lounge offers all kinds of cocktails and there are one-time "specials" for hotel guests.

We found the room quiet and comfortable. Also, the price was right. The property is located right downtown and within walking distance of lots of restaurants, shopping and nightlife.

We would certainly consider returning.

Room Tip: get a corner room, that way no one walks by your window and you can keep the drapes open if you want...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ed S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

839 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    315
    343
    118
    41
    22
See reviews for
182
330
91
88
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (108)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, Washington
Level 6 Contributor
128 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 July 2013 via mobile

Stayed at The Ruby in July
Great small hotel experience, good beds, flat screen tv, and wi-fi
Parking can be tough on site, but overflow lot is closes by.

Good hotel in downtown Spokane to stay at with very comparative rates.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Thx1138Molly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Duluth, Minnesota, United States
2 reviews
Reviewed 10 July 2013

What a great place to stay! I love that an "old" building was given love and attention. Clean, beautiful and a wonderful place to stay! I am a runner, and felt safe as I did my morning run at a nearby park. I would ask that the bar bring in some non-alcoholic beer for those of us who would like to socialize but don't do alcohol.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Wendy G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edmonton, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
103 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 July 2013 via mobile

The Ruby is an old motel in the Davenport District if Spokane. Not much can be done to the fundamental architecture of the place without a bulldozer, but everywhere the look has been renewed, the decor is upgraded and the staff are friendly and efficient. For under 100 bucks staying here while in Spokane is a no brainier.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Treewhale
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kennewick, Washington, United States
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 June 2013

Excellent hotel stay for the price. More then got our moneys worth. The front desk staff was very helpful and the room attendant went above and beyond, did a GREAT job. The location was super convenient. Walking distance to the mall and riverfront park. The parking was very convenient as well and a great price. The ONLY drawback to my entire multi day stay was that the coffee at breakfast was not to my liking, very weak.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Elizabeth A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Almira, Washington, United States
Level 5 Contributor
69 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 June 2013

This hotel has recently been renovated and the beds, art and overall feel when you enter the room is great. Comfy clean bed, pillows. But the bathrooms have not been updated yet. The hotel feels like a fancy motel 6. The Sapphire Lounge is fantastic and the atmosphere and décor at night is fantastic. I felt the breakfast was decent but not amazing. The waffle maker is what saved it in my eyes. English muffins, decent coffee, apples and oranges, some cereal and hard boiled eggs. re is a train track that runs right near the hotel which did cause some noise and so on butThe thing that saves this hotel is the lounge and the LOCATION! You are close to some awesome dining places, entertainment venues and close to the freeway. we walked to most of the places we wanted to eat etc. I'd say for the price, its a place to book.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ReenieR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Antonio, Texas
Level 6 Contributor
156 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 June 2013

First this is far closer to a motel than a hotel. They've basically put some paint and some new linens on a very old hotel and called it boutique. The first room I had was unbelievably bad and the Internet worked only in a very small corner of the room the bathroom was atrocious. The staff were very helpful when I asked to be moved and I was put in a room that had at least been renovated to some extent. Breakfast was good with a waffle station and the hotel is in a great location just a few minutes walk from river park center. There is a lot of nightlife around the hotel if you like that but if you dint it's going to be a little loud. In all we can't recommend this one.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Worldwidelunas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Spokane hotels
0.1 mi away
Ruby2
Ruby2
#12 of 46 in Spokane
438 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Historic Davenport, Autograph Collection
0.1 mi away
The Davenport Tower, Autograph Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
The Montvale Hotel
The Montvale Hotel
#18 of 46 in Spokane
104 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Davenport Grand, Autograph Collection
0.8 mi away
Oxford Suites Downtown Spokane
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Ruby? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Ruby

Property: Hotel Ruby
Address: 901 W 1st Ave, Spokane, WA 99201-4001
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Washington > Spokane
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Spokane
#8 Family Hotel in Spokane
#11 Romantic Hotel in Spokane
#18 Business Hotel in Spokane
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Ruby 3*
Number of rooms: 37
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Ruby is located in the heart of downtown Spokane's Entertainment District, directly across the street from the historic Bing Crosby Theater, Knitting Factory Concert House and Fox Theater. A few blocks from the Spokane Convention Center and INB Performing Arts Center. 3 Blocks from Riverfront Park and Spokane Falls, the Gondola, River Park Square Mall and AMC Theaters. Steps away from downtown's finest restaurants and shopping. Short drive to area hospitals including Shriner's Children's Hospital, Deaconess and Sacred Heart. This downtown Spokane hotel offers continental breakfast, free wireless internet, bicycles and on-site laundry. Dogs are welcome for an additional fee, on-site parking $5 per night. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Southall Travel, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, Cancelon and Ebookers so you can book your Hotel Ruby reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rodeway Inn Spokane
Spokane Rodeway Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing