We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Clean rooms!!”
Review of Hotel Ruby

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Ruby
Ranked #13 of 46 Hotels in Spokane
Certificate of Excellence
Kelowna, British Columbia, Canada
1 review
“Clean rooms!!”
Reviewed 17 September 2013

We went for the weekend to check out Spokane, and the location was perfect to see the downtown sites. The rooms were very clean and the staff was friendly. We stayed in a king suite which was great, the walk-in shower was awesome! The only negative was that the breakfast was lacking, but we've had worse. I still would definitely recommend it to others, and would stay there again.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jen R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

819 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    308
    335
    114
    40
    22
See reviews for
177
322
87
86
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (104)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, Washington
Level Contributor
56 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 September 2013

Great location, right where you want to be, with a great price. The hotel is funky and cute and staff is really nice, The bar downstairs is great also. Rooms are smallish and this place is obviously an older hotel re-done into something fun and different, but pretty cool! Not as kid-friendly as I usually like, but definitely fun for an adult weekend getaway. Lots of character and I think it's a really neat way to turn an old hotel around.

Room Tip: Upper rooms are quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Joanna B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 September 2013 via mobile

The Ruby is a great location with a staff that goes out of the way to assist guests. Shopping, restaurants, clubs and more are all within easy walking distance. Parking Iis a little tight, so get there early, but if not, the overflow lot is only 1/2 blocks away. The rooms are very clean, but small. If your coming to Spokane to lounge around in your room, you might consider another property, but for the location and price, you'll not beat the Ruby.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wynnsts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
50 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 September 2013

The hotel is so neat and unique. You can tell how much they transformed it from the hotel it used to be. The decorations and all were nicely done and had a lot of character. The rooms were clean and beds were comfy. The one complaint about the room is that the shower drain didn't go down well, the water rose as I showered, that is one of the things I hate most about hotels, it is very gross to stand in all that water, but also is very common unfortunately. The location was nice and we didn't have a problem with the overflow parking down the street. Continental breakfast was sufficient and staff were friendly. It was a great stay and a great price for the one night we were there after a late flight.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jessica B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Antonio, Texas
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 September 2013

My husband and I just completed our second stay at the Hotel Ruby and we can't imagine staying anywhere else in Spokane. The downtown location is super convenient as it is within walking distance of a number of good restaurants. Our rooms were immaculate and we appreciated the thick, fluffy towels. The unique art work and decor were a welcome change from the usual generic hotel art. Friday night in the Sapphire Lounge was lively. Staff members were friendly and helpful. All of this was presented for a very reasonable price.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GinnyinTX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Missoula, Montana
1 review
Reviewed 5 September 2013

Glad to find a unique hotel with cool artwork, very comfy beds, large room and great downtown location. Just a few minute walk from Riverfront Park where Spin Doctors were putting on a free concert. Only dissapointment was the compimentary breakfast - cereal, toast (no peanut butter), one slow waffle maker, dirty tables and warm, not hot, coffee.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ldogs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 September 2013

Very clean, convenient location and free bike rental to explore the beautiful park and river waterfalls. It is a redone motel but very clean and a fun place to stay. My daughter thought the art was a little weird, but it goes with the style of this hotel! I would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: Bikes were great for big kids and teenagers, not much for little ones. We had a room with two queens...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KkC762
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Spokane hotels
0.1 mi away
Ruby2
Ruby2
#10 of 46 in Spokane
4.0 of 5 bubbles 417 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Historic Davenport, Autograph Collection
0.1 mi away
The Davenport Tower, Autograph Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
The Davenport Grand, Autograph Collection
2.8 mi away
Hampton Inn Spokane
Hampton Inn Spokane
#3 of 46 in Spokane
4.5 of 5 bubbles 755 reviews
0.6 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Spokane City Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Ruby? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Ruby

Property: Hotel Ruby
Address: 901 W 1st Ave, Spokane, WA 99201-4001
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Washington > Spokane
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Spokane
#8 Family Hotel in Spokane
#11 Romantic Hotel in Spokane
#18 Business Hotel in Spokane
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Ruby 3*
Number of rooms: 37
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Ruby is located in the heart of downtown Spokane's Entertainment District, directly across the street from the historic Bing Crosby Theater, Knitting Factory Concert House and Fox Theater. A few blocks from the Spokane Convention Center and INB Performing Arts Center. 3 Blocks from Riverfront Park and Spokane Falls, the Gondola, River Park Square Mall and AMC Theaters. Steps away from downtown's finest restaurants and shopping. Short drive to area hospitals including Shriner's Children's Hospital, Deaconess and Sacred Heart. This downtown Spokane hotel offers continental breakfast, free wireless internet, bicycles and on-site laundry. Dogs are welcome for an additional fee, on-site parking $5 per night. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Hotels.com, Southall Travel, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Ruby reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rodeway Inn Spokane
Spokane Rodeway Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing