We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Right downtown and comfortable”
Review of Hotel Ruby

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Ruby
Ranked #13 of 46 Hotels in Spokane
Certificate of Excellence
Atlanta, Georgia
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Right downtown and comfortable”
Reviewed 17 October 2013

A great place to stay if you visiting downtown Spokane, WA. Clean and comfortable. Newly renovated bathrooms are very nice. Great breakfast. Easy walk to all the sights in downtown Spokane. Parking included with room stay. Good value.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Peter E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

836 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    314
    341
    118
    41
    22
See reviews for
182
327
91
88
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (108)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bealeton, Virginia
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 October 2013

A very mixed experience here. On the plus side, very clean room, and great location - right downtown, within easy walking distance of everywhere. Easily the best shower I've ever had in a hotel - walk in, spacious, very high shower head (I'm very tall - was able to stand straight up and still get my head wet). On the down side, lots of noise. The fridge sounded like a babbling brook, the vent in the bathroom went right out to the street, so lots of street noise coming in, including the near by train, cars, and passing pedestrians (shutting the bathroom door helped), and the walls were thin - had to listen to some noises from a neighboring room that I'd have preferred not to hear. The parking is a little unusual. Very small lot (maybe about 15 spots) with only one narrow way in. One time when I was trying to leave, a car was blocking the exit while checking in, with another car stopped behind them waiting to get in, while I and another guest were trying to get out. It became a little convoluted trying to get everyone where they wanted to go. And if they're full, they give you a pass to park at an off site location, which admittedly is only about a half block away, but still. You do get a pass for a 2 for 1 deal at the lounge, and a breakfast is included, but I didn't get the chance to check either of them out, so can't comment. They do have bicycles for guests to use, which is nice. Overall - a decent place, but don't know that I'd stay there again.

Room Tip: Maybe a room not right next to the street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Allen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scottsdale, Arizona, United States
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed 10 October 2013

When we arrived at night they had NO more keys . The person on duty had to let us in every time we wanted access to our room. Good thing we were only staying the night . It would have been nice if they had some one to park your car since there was no place for us to park on the premises. The room was ok, except the mold that was coming through on the bathroom ceiling. I would not stay away.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank Robin R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 October 2013

Chose this from recommendation in our Lonely Planet guide and we were not disappointed: The lady at the front desk was so friendly and very helpful in recommending somewhere to eat later on. The hotel is ideally situated right in the downtown with its own car park. (The car park is $5 a night but we found this to be an agreeable enough fee given where we were, plus, I've seen other hotels try to extort anything like $18 or $30 in other cities so we had no beef with a fiver extra).

The room was a decent size and very clean with a great shower in the bathroom. Funky artwork and flame red walls set it apart from ordinary places and it smelled amazing! The furnishing were modern and, being a bit arty myself, I appreciated the extra touches and unique decor. The bed was exceptionally comfy for us which we appreciated after a long drive from Montana.

We found breakfast to be good with DIY waffles, juice and cereal. It was informal enough and you could get a early start and be out of there in your own time if necessary.

In all, we were very happy and would recommend to anyone looking for somewhere cool but cosy in downtown Spokane.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Loungefly_Girl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boise
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
Reviewed 9 October 2013

This was the second hotel I landed in after the first was a disaster. I could not have been happier with my decision to move to the Ruby. It was in a great downtown location, perfect for walking. Right next to the beautiful, Historic Davenport. We were traveling on a Monday and Tuesday which meant no shows were going on, which was a bummer, considering the awesome proximity to the Knitting Factory and Bing Crosby Theater. We enjoyed the night cap in the hotel bar and then the fun transition of the space into a breakfast nook.

The only improvement I could suggest would be an in-room coffee pot, as I am quite a coffee fiend, but all in all, I would DEFINITELY stay here again.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sarah T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Irvine, California, United States
2 reviews
Reviewed 7 October 2013

You can really tell what the owner was trying to do here, and I do commend him for the effort. The place is clean and the staff friendly, but make no mistake, this place is old. Creaky floors that feel like you could fall through at any moment, tiny rooms, a toilet that I was afraid to sit on for fear of breaking it, and you can hear every single noise (traffic, trains, constant sirens etc). The noise level made for a sleepless night. We stayed one night, then moved on to a nicer place.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Brian H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The Dalles
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 5 October 2013

Came in on the train walked from the station and fell into a very comfortable bed and linens. The kind of bed you want to know what brand it is. Selected hotel from web reviews and wasn't disappointed.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kathleen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Spokane hotels
0.1 mi away
Ruby2
Ruby2
#12 of 46 in Spokane
436 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Historic Davenport, Autograph Collection
0.1 mi away
The Davenport Tower, Autograph Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
The Montvale Hotel
The Montvale Hotel
#18 of 46 in Spokane
104 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Davenport Grand, Autograph Collection
0.8 mi away
Oxford Suites Downtown Spokane
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Ruby? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Ruby

Property: Hotel Ruby
Address: 901 W 1st Ave, Spokane, WA 99201-4001
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Washington > Spokane
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Spokane
#8 Family Hotel in Spokane
#11 Romantic Hotel in Spokane
#18 Business Hotel in Spokane
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Ruby 3*
Number of rooms: 37
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Ruby is located in the heart of downtown Spokane's Entertainment District, directly across the street from the historic Bing Crosby Theater, Knitting Factory Concert House and Fox Theater. A few blocks from the Spokane Convention Center and INB Performing Arts Center. 3 Blocks from Riverfront Park and Spokane Falls, the Gondola, River Park Square Mall and AMC Theaters. Steps away from downtown's finest restaurants and shopping. Short drive to area hospitals including Shriner's Children's Hospital, Deaconess and Sacred Heart. This downtown Spokane hotel offers continental breakfast, free wireless internet, bicycles and on-site laundry. Dogs are welcome for an additional fee, on-site parking $5 per night. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Southall Travel, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, Ebookers and getaroom.com so you can book your Hotel Ruby reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rodeway Inn Spokane
Spokane Rodeway Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing