We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hotel Ruby
Nearby Hotels
US$164
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$125
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$144
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$124
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$167
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$143
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$173
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$168
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$248
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$223
Doubletree.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$151
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$69
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$67
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$208
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Ruby2(Spokane)(Great Value!)
US$89
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$87
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$135
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (883)
Filter reviews
883 results
Traveller rating
330
361
122
44
26
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
330
361
122
44
26
Show reviews that mention
All reviewssapphire loungeknitting factorygreat locationdowntown spokanelimited parkingmotor innoverflow parkingroom was cleanacross the streetboutique hotelwithin walking distancetrain trackswafflesfridge and microwavecontinental breakfastriverfront parkwould stay again
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
655 - 660 of 883 reviews
Reviewed 30 October 2013

The Hotel Ruby is a nicely re-done motel at an affordable price and in a convenient location. I loved all the art inside and out! The beds were nice and comfy and you have to try the make-your-own breakfast waffles.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank MWyant
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 October 2013

Hotel Ruby

With a handful of days to burn and a hankering for a road trip, I packed a rucksack and called up a free-birding buddy to join me for a voyage across highway 90, the hop hewn highway of the gods, where a glut of fine establishments awaited at our final destination, a road trip for bleary eyed codgers searching for tannin toned fermented swill. We pointed our car for the Cascades and beyond, stopping at The Brick in Roslyn for a quick meal and a warm pint before making our way over the pass. Tucked under my buddy’s arm was a magazine with the whereabouts of all of the microbrews from Anacortes to Missoula, the exalted Bible of Ralph, if you will. Our first stop was Spokane, a little beer oasis resting along a meandering river in the otherwise clay cracked earth of the Cascade’s east side. We pulled into Hotel Ruby, throwing our rucksacks to the floor before heading to a riverside park for a brew-fest, a one stop beer stop representing micro-guzzle-wash from both sides of the Cascade divide.

Now, a lot of old style motels have taken their worn-out facilities and tried to pull off a retro style inn in a feeble attempt to lure a few straggling guests and I expected the same tired theme with The Hotel Ruby. It wasn’t to be the case. The on premise retro era ultra-lounge plays classic lazy lounge-side ditties, while the libation educated bartender pours a great selection of bourbons and other mind-altering medleys. This guy knows his business. The room is small but creatively displayed, as comfortable as it was quaint. The art throughout the facility is right on and the staff is top notch, from the desk clerk to the house cleaners. The breakfast is more ambiance than sustenance, but it’s a great place to stuff back a rotisserie waffle while listening to Sinatra croon away a throbbing crown. Take a catnap, stay the night, have a drink, visit Irv’s for a drag show, and barhop the micro-establishments. And while you’re zigzagging the streets of Spokane in quest for discovering the drink of the gods--the holy hop grail--make sure to hunker down at the Hotel Ruby. It’s the one and only place to settle in when the witching hour of exodus arrives, when it’s time to put down the glass and find the crooked path back to an abode where you can shake off your weary sea legs...

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Brian A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 October 2013

Positives: You likely won't find a better deal in downtown Spokane. Some may be cheaper, but check the reviews before deciding. The Ruby Hotel has decent reviews and for good reasons. It is a renovated motor lodge, so the basic structure/design is dated. But rooms are renewed and clean, internet wifi works fine, beds are comfortable, towels are luxurious. Bathroom lighting is above average, although room lighting is not. If it matters to you (it does to me), the water pressure is good and so is the drainage. The room offers both a small refrigerator and a microwave. A table and plastic chair serve as the only desk area. Cable is available on the flat screen television, although it is a basic package without cable news. The complimentary breakfast is decent but the same every day. (At least, that was my experience over three days.) It offers waffles, cold boiled eggs, cereals, orange juice, tea/coffee, and English muffins. The hotel is in the entertainment area of downtown, convenient to restaurants, theaters, and a large mall.

Negatives: noise from street traffic and from a very busy railroad track just 1/2 block away. I was not kept awake by the noise, but it is an issue. Parking is also a consideration. The hotel has perhaps 15 spots, with an off-site option about 1/2 block away. Street parking is metered six days a week and quite congested on Friday and Saturday nights. I parked 3 blocks away one night because nothing closer was available.

Room Tip: Rooms not facing the railroad may be quieter.
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank gdog1945
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 October 2013

A great place to stay if you visiting downtown Spokane, WA. Clean and comfortable. Newly renovated bathrooms are very nice. Great breakfast. Easy walk to all the sights in downtown Spokane. Parking included with room stay. Good value.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Peter E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 October 2013

A very mixed experience here. On the plus side, very clean room, and great location - right downtown, within easy walking distance of everywhere. Easily the best shower I've ever had in a hotel - walk in, spacious, very high shower head (I'm very tall - was able to stand straight up and still get my head wet). On the down side, lots of noise. The fridge sounded like a babbling brook, the vent in the bathroom went right out to the street, so lots of street noise coming in, including the near by train, cars, and passing pedestrians (shutting the bathroom door helped), and the walls were thin - had to listen to some noises from a neighboring room that I'd have preferred not to hear. The parking is a little unusual. Very small lot (maybe about 15 spots) with only one narrow way in. One time when I was trying to leave, a car was blocking the exit while checking in, with another car stopped behind them waiting to get in, while I and another guest were trying to get out. It became a little convoluted trying to get everyone where they wanted to go. And if they're full, they give you a pass to park at an off site location, which admittedly is only about a half block away, but still. You do get a pass for a 2 for 1 deal at the lounge, and a breakfast is included, but I didn't get the chance to check either of them out, so can't comment. They do have bicycles for guests to use, which is nice. Overall - a decent place, but don't know that I'd stay there again.

Room Tip: Maybe a room not right next to the street.
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Allen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews