We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Exactly what I expected” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Ruby

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hotel Ruby
Ranked #11 of 46 Hotels in Spokane
Certificate of Excellence
Post Falls, Idaho
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Exactly what I expected”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 April 2014

We stay downtown anytime we come for a show or know we are going to have a few too many drinks but this was our first time at Hotel Ruby. When we pulled into the parking lot it looks like the classical downtown cheap motel that is in the works of being redone. The lobby was nice, the guy working behind the front desk was nice and helpful. The bed was comfortable and clean. The bathroom NEEDS redone. I was happy to have nice water pressure in the shower which usually lacks in motels. The lounge was good but a bit on the pricey side, very helpful to get a buy get one free coupon when you check in. The bartender was not the most friendly. It is a very noisy part of town, being in the middle of the entertainment district. But that is also the reason we stayed there, for a show at the Bing Crosby, so we expected that. A lot of bars near by, so could hear people laughing all the way until 3 am, again we expected that. Nice of the hotel to offer earplugs. Most motels downtown charge $15-$20 for parking so it was nice to only pay $5. The jazz artwork through out was a great addition. Really adds to the building. The breakfast was a typical free hotel breakfast. Nothing special but had all that was expected. I would come back for sure at that price. The two people at check out were both friendly. The maid crew was constantly visable. Cleaning hand rails, the free bikes that are available to use to go around town, everything! If the bathroom was redone and I actually could sleep better while I was there, it would be the perfect place for the money! But great place for the location and price.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank neia44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

811 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    305
    334
    111
    39
    22
See reviews for
174
320
86
85
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (101)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Princeton, New Jersey
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 April 2014

My husband and I come to Spokane often to visit family and we've been staying in several different hotels looking for a good fit. A friend of ours, a frequent Sapphire lounge guest, recommended we try out the Hotel Ruby, so we gave it a shot. It was absolutely amazing. The location was ideal, right in downtown and close to lots of shops and restaurants. The building itself was unique and charming, also home to the Sapphire lounge which was a great environment and the drinks were delicious. The front desk staff was very kind, competent, and accommodating and the breakfast went above and beyond expectations, not just cereal and coffee. The rooms themselves were extremely clean, well decorated, and the bed was very very comfortable. My husband and I will definitely be coming back on our next trip, this is our new favorite hotel! I definitely recommend it to anyone looking for a clean, comfortable, hospitable, hotel experience in Spokane!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Carrie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
riverside
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 April 2014

Messed up my reservation's that I had reserved two weeks or even three weeks prior to that date we stayed. couldn't even move us into the right room . They were going to make us pay an up charge fee for moving rooms when it was there fault. Never go what the pictures on the computer show you. The floor is the bathroom was disgusting and there was no walk room between the t.v. N the bed. Was not happy at all. They did not want to help us out at making our stay better. We will never stay at this hotel ever again. I want a refund !!!

  • Stayed April 2014
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tcchlove25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sandpoint, Idaho
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 April 2014

My husband & I have stayed at The Hotel Ruby several times & will definitely return. Beds are super comfortable, the rooms have a homey feel to them & are always clean, the employees are very nice, great Thomas Hammer coffee & you can't beat the low $5 parking.Love the music themed rooms as well. It's a great location for us when we go to concerts right across the street. It can be loud at times but not bad enough to not return again. Thanks Hotel Ruby!

  • Stayed April 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CharlieMurph80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, Washington, United States
Level Contributor
27 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 April 2014 via mobile

My heart sank as soon as I turned into the parking lot. It looked like any cheap motel out there. But positives first: the bed was comfortable, and the coffee was acceptable, and the location was perfect for walking to places downtown. Now for everything else. Housekeeping never came in during my two night stay to empty garbage, take away dirty towels, replenish towels, or give us more toilet paper. The outside stairs and balcony looked very unsafe and gave me vertigo. The one little elevator didn't look capable of getting us up one floor. The hotel was noisy-very noisy. Expect that, especially when they offer free ear plugs. We couldn't get the tv to work. The room where the ice machine is kept is locked at 10 pm. I don't remember seeing that in writing anywhere. They charge a nightly fee for parking. The cost for the hotel was cheap, and you get what you pay for. I won't be back.

Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank Julie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pullman, Washington
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 April 2014

Although small, the location is great. The staff was exceptional and the room clean, bedding comfy, and the lounge has a nice warm feel to it. Overall a great place to stay for a quick overnight. Would stay again.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lorie D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Florence, Montana USA
Level Contributor
25 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 March 2014

This was our first stay at Hotel Ruby. We were delighted with all the whimsical, artful touches everywhere. The staff was polite and helpful. We especially liked the free cruiser bicycle usage, and had several fun rides around Riverfront Park.
Due to the noise factor from the street, the bar and the people, I would probably opt for a room toward the middle or back of the hotel next time. We did not opt for the breakfast bar, but there are many local options. The parking area is small but functional, and well worth the $5 charge.
Overall, it was an acceptable and fun stay, and convenient to downtown activities.

Room Tip: Ask for a "quiet" room if you can.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Pegspony
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Spokane hotels
0.1 mi away
Ruby2
Ruby2
#10 of 46 in Spokane
4.0 of 5 bubbles 397 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Historic Davenport, Autograph Collection
0.1 mi away
The Davenport Tower, Autograph Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
The Davenport Grand, Autograph Collection
2.8 mi away
Hampton Inn Spokane
Hampton Inn Spokane
#1 of 46 in Spokane
4.5 of 5 bubbles 727 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Montvale Hotel
The Montvale Hotel
#23 of 46 in Spokane
4.0 of 5 bubbles 67 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Ruby? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Ruby

Property: Hotel Ruby
Address: 901 W 1st Ave, Spokane, WA 99201-4001
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Washington > Spokane
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Spokane
#8 Family Hotel in Spokane
#11 Romantic Hotel in Spokane
#18 Business Hotel in Spokane
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Ruby 3*
Number of rooms: 37
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Ruby is located in the heart of downtown Spokane's Entertainment District, directly across the street from the historic Bing Crosby Theater, Knitting Factory Concert House and Fox Theater. A few blocks from the Spokane Convention Center and INB Performing Arts Center. 3 Blocks from Riverfront Park and Spokane Falls, the Gondola, River Park Square Mall and AMC Theaters. Steps away from downtown's finest restaurants and shopping. Short drive to area hospitals including Shriner's Children's Hospital, Deaconess and Sacred Heart. This downtown Spokane hotel offers continental breakfast, free wireless internet, bicycles and on-site laundry. Dogs are welcome for an additional fee, on-site parking $5 per night. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK) and Southall Travel so you can book your Hotel Ruby reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rodeway Inn Spokane
Spokane Rodeway Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing