We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Can't beat the location”
Review of Hotel Ruby

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Ruby
Ranked #13 of 46 Hotels in Spokane
Certificate of Excellence
Seattle, Washington
Level 5 Contributor
31 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Can't beat the location”
Reviewed 15 November 2010

I stayed at the Ruby after reading several reviews. The rooms have been updated and the staff was nice. This is not a fancy smancy place mind you but super close to everything and the price was right. I booked through expedia.com with airfare and the pkg deal was great. You might here the trains at night but it's not a big deal. Cheers.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank supernova72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

834 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    313
    340
    118
    41
    22
See reviews for
182
327
89
88
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (108)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Kootenai, Idaho
1 review
Reviewed 12 November 2010

This recently remodeled hotel couldn't be better! It is right in the heart of downtown Spokane surrounded by everything from restaurants and bars to arts and entertainment. What a good value for your money! We would happily stay here in the future with our kids.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sherains
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Issy-les-Moulineaux, France
Level 5 Contributor
87 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 November 2010

We were pleasantly surprised by this hotel based on the price we paid : located in dowmtown Spokane, nice room and convenient services at the frontdesk.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cigogne72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, Washington
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 November 2010

This Hotel was absolutely perfect, It is the BEST deal in Spokane. The location is perfect, the rooms are great. Wi-Fi, great beds, flat panel TVs for a GREAT price. I used to stay in the Montvaleand in the Davenport when I came to Spokane, but the Ruby is my new favorite. Grat job!

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mbk_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Coeur d'Alene, Idaho
2 reviews
Reviewed 28 October 2010

Because of the kicking location I stayed at this motel twice when it was the Rodeway. It's close to everything downtown. The Knitting Factory is across the street, and it is walking distance from many wineries, shopping, restaurants and bars. Back then it was dirt cheap but you got what you paid for.
The renovations have made a huge difference. New beds! NEW BEDS! The King bed had good pillows and a sweet comforter. The room definitely had a more comfortable feel to it with warm colors and minimal furniture. Oh, and there's a huge flat screen television too.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Siobhanthetwin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Coeur d'Alene, Idaho
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 13 October 2010

Hip-fun hotel with a cool vibe was the perfect spot for us. Went to a concert at knitting factory across the street, breakfast a few blocks away at satellite diner the next morn. Rooms were well re-made with tasteful, cool design. BIG tv and new everything. Great downtown room for a great price. Will stay there again for sure.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank adamgraves
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nelson, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 13 October 2010

Location down town which is handy walking distance for many bars and restaurants. Also near shopping mall and the a great park area. Noise can be a problem which can occur in any down town hotel. Just being renovated and is not bad for the price of the stay. Car parking can be a lottery with more rooms then spaces but it is free.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 181780Mart0102
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Spokane hotels
0.1 mi away
Ruby2
Ruby2
#12 of 46 in Spokane
436 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Historic Davenport, Autograph Collection
0.1 mi away
The Davenport Tower, Autograph Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
The Montvale Hotel
The Montvale Hotel
#18 of 46 in Spokane
99 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Davenport Grand, Autograph Collection
0.8 mi away
Oxford Suites Downtown Spokane
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Ruby? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Ruby

Property: Hotel Ruby
Address: 901 W 1st Ave, Spokane, WA 99201-4001
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Washington > Spokane
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Spokane
#8 Family Hotel in Spokane
#11 Romantic Hotel in Spokane
#18 Business Hotel in Spokane
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Ruby 3*
Number of rooms: 37
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Ruby is located in the heart of downtown Spokane's Entertainment District, directly across the street from the historic Bing Crosby Theater, Knitting Factory Concert House and Fox Theater. A few blocks from the Spokane Convention Center and INB Performing Arts Center. 3 Blocks from Riverfront Park and Spokane Falls, the Gondola, River Park Square Mall and AMC Theaters. Steps away from downtown's finest restaurants and shopping. Short drive to area hospitals including Shriner's Children's Hospital, Deaconess and Sacred Heart. This downtown Spokane hotel offers continental breakfast, free wireless internet, bicycles and on-site laundry. Dogs are welcome for an additional fee, on-site parking $5 per night. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Southall Travel, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Cancelon, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Ruby reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rodeway Inn Spokane
Spokane Rodeway Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing