We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Staff is amazing but housekeeping needs improvement....”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel RL by Red Lion Spokane at the Park
Ranked #28 of 46 Hotels in Spokane
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed 3 January 2014

I have been in a hotel since December 4th for business and had to move to Inn at the Park due to NYE issues at the other location. The staff here has been a tremendous help with being very helpful, but this hotel is not up to the standards it once was.....in regard to housekeeping, the first room I was in I found a dirty crusty wash clothe hanging over the shower curtain, had to move rooms due to major construction in the room next to mine and I am here for 8 days so wasn't okay with that. Second room is quiet, but cleanliness level is not up to par, shower curtain smells rancid/mildew, another guests hair all over the bathroom. I am checking out early as I have not slept well in three nights. I can't say enough about the amazing staff, but the cleanliness of the place is not okay, in fact I asked housekeeping to just stay out of my room the rest of my stay.....I clean better. Disappointing as it used to be a very pristine place. They did all they could to make me happy, but the issue is it is just dirty and bit rundown.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Xfed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brent A, Front Office Manager at Hotel RL by Red Lion Spokane at the Park, responded to this reviewResponded 5 January 2014

I'm very sorry to hear about the issues pertaining to your current stay, and thank you for bringing them to our attention. I've already passed along these concerns to our housekeeping and engineering departments, so we can address any deficiencies. None of our guests should have to experience such things as you did, and we hope to be able to make things right. We also hope you're able to continue with us for the duration of your visit to Spokane. Once again, thanks for your feedback!

Kind Regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,742)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,127 - 1,133 of 1,742 reviews

Reviewed 3 January 2014

One of the best New Year's Eve parties ever! Dinner was excellent with amazingly flavorful crab claws, prime rib, chicken, salmon plus midnight brunch was a much appreciated extra flourish! Dancing to the hits of Peter Rivera (of Rare Earth fame) & local favorite R&B band Big Mumbo made for a fabulous overall experience!! Service & extra amenities were very good, such as the photo booth. We only live 10 min away but decided to stay the night and the room was beautiful and extremely comfy. I thought it was great that they let kids attend the event, they were dancing around to the music with their parents and having a great time too. Thanks for the best New Years ever, we'll be back next year!

Room Tip: The tower rooms are closest to the ballroom, very quiet too.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Suzanne M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zachary L, Manager at Hotel RL by Red Lion Spokane at the Park, responded to this reviewResponded 11 January 2014

Thank you for the kind comments and detailed review of how well things went for New Year's Eve! It was a lot of fun to host that event -- the music was awesome, the food was expertly prepared by our chefs, and we had a great time ringing in the New Year with everyone. We love being your staycation spot, and welcome you back anytime!

Best Regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 January 2014

My wife and I had a wonderful New Year's Eve experience ~ thanks to the Red Lion for planning such a wonderful dinner, concert, dancing, and mid-night breakfast event. Peter Rivera was fantastic (as usual) and so gracious as he and his family were all part of the dining and dancing experience. All around the room people enjoyed the atmosphere and the dance floor was packed for most of the evening. The bar prices were fair and the food was better than expected. The RL staff were very courteous & helpful and the hotel floor we were staying on was nice & quiet (given it was New Year's eve). One of the best NYE's we've had in years! Bring back Peter Rivera or another name local band that gets the crowd going and we'll be there next NYE! Thanks!

Room Tip: Ask for more towels as they are needed when a couple is staying in a room. Also ask for more shampo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rich G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brent A, Front Office Manager at Hotel RL by Red Lion Spokane at the Park, responded to this reviewResponded 5 January 2014

Thanks for the kind comments and review of your New Year's Eve night with us! We really enjoyed hosting Peter Rivera and Big Mumbo - it was a blast! We'll definitely take your feedback into consideration when planning next year's event. We love pushing our local Spokane bands, and being the venue is a ton of fun. We'll pass along your comments to those in charge of organizing and producing such a great event so we can recognize their hard work. Here's to many more special memories this year!

Kind Regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 January 2014

Enjoyed our family time. There was an inside pool and a nice outside pool if you are in area during summer. The beds were comfy and close to a lot of activities in downtown Spokane. The room itself was roomy and good view.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Red Lion Hotels
Thank Jackie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brent A, Front Office Manager at Hotel RL by Red Lion Spokane at the Park, responded to this reviewResponded 5 January 2014

We appreciate your feedback about staying with us! Our hotel prides itself on being family-friendly and we're glad you experienced this. It's true, our outdoor pool can't be beat in the summer, and we always enjoy giving free shuttle rides to Downtown Spokane's many attractions (for those not wishing to walk). We look forward to having you back soon!

Kind Regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 December 2013

Multiple family members traveled from different points in the country to attend Gonzaga Law School graduation and stayed at the Red Lion at the Park for 5 nights. It was amazing! The front desk staff, housekeeping, engineering and shuttle team were outstanding. ANYTIME we needed ANYTHING the response was immediate, positive, cheerful and sincere without hesitation. This was most "can-do" team I have EVER (having stayed in 5 star hotels worldwide) experienced in a hotel setting.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Red Lion Hotels
Thank Jill M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brent A, Front Office Manager at Hotel RL by Red Lion Spokane at the Park, responded to this reviewResponded 1 January 2014

Wow - thank you for the kind words about our staff! We've recognized each of the departments for a job well done, and are so glad we got to welcome your family to Spokane. It's reviews like yours that validate how hard our teams work, each and every day, to ensure the satisfaction of our guests. We hope to have you back soon! Go Zags!

Kind Regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 December 2013

The hotel is nice and the room would have been nice if the thermostat had worked. Unfortunately, we didn't discover the problem until around 3AM and my wife didn't want a service person coming into the room that late. When I reported the problem to the front desk in the morning the person didn't even offer an apology.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Red Lion Hotels
Thank Al M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brent A, Front Office Manager at Hotel RL by Red Lion Spokane at the Park, responded to this reviewResponded 28 December 2013

Thank you for submitting a review of your experience at our hotel. I'm really sorry to find that there was an issue with the thermostat that made for a lack of sleep. We've passed along your feedback for our upper management to review, and hope you'll respond to our attempts to reach you about this; Feel free to contact our Front Desk Management team, if we're able to do more. Most of all, we hope to welcome you back so you can experience the comfortable night of sleep that we strive to deliver for each of our guests.

Wishing you and your family a Happy New Year,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 December 2013

This is a great dog friendly hotel. We will definitely stay here again. The park was a perfect place to walk our dog! The staff was very helpful and friendly. We slept well in the very cozy bed! And I will repeat that the park was a perfect place for our dog to exercise!!!

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Red Lion Hotels
Thank A I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brent A, Front Office Manager at Hotel RL by Red Lion Spokane at the Park, responded to this reviewResponded 28 December 2013

Thanks for the kind words about your recent stay! We're so glad to see that you enjoyed staying with us and appreciated our dog-friendliness. If you think the Park is great in December, just wait until it's gorgeously landscaped grounds are ready for Spring/Summer - it's awesome! We hope to have you back sometime soon!

Wishing you and yours a Happy New Year,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Spokane hotels
0.3 mi away
Red Lion River Inn
Red Lion River Inn
#24 of 46 in Spokane
800 reviews
0.3 mi away
Courtyard Spokane Downtown at the Convention Center
0.6 mi away
The Davenport Tower, Autograph Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Oxford Suites Downtown Spokane
0.2 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Spokane City Center
0.3 mi away
The Davenport Grand, Autograph Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel RL by Red Lion Spokane at the Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel RL by Red Lion Spokane at the Park

Address: 303 W North River Dr, Spokane, WA 99201-2255
Region: United States > Washington > Spokane
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Green Hotel in Spokane
#14 Business Hotel in Spokane
Price Range: £69 - £164 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel RL by Red Lion Spokane at the Park 3.5*
Number of rooms: 402
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Explore Spokane as a local. Hotel RL by Red Lion Spokane at the Park, located on the banks of the Spokane River, is your key to downtown Spokane. Our new modern guest rooms and suites lie steps away from Riverfront Park and local attractions like the Spokane Convention Center and some of the city's best restaurants and cafes. We have all the features you need, like complimentary Wi-Fi and craft amenities. Curiosity is the only compass you will need. Grab a cup of free coffee from Victrola Coffee Roasters, located onsite at Hotel RL, for some of the city's best artisanal coffee, and enjoy it alongside local artists at The Living Stage. A hub for community engagement and entertainment, The Living Stage hosts local artists, musicians, speakers and more. When you're ready to see more of Spokane, take advantage of our onsite bike rental and explore the city at your own pace. Business and event travelers will enjoy Spokane's best event space at Hotel RL. With over 30,000 square feet of flexible meeting space, you'll also be able to host an intimate meeting or a large banquet celebration. Catering and AV equipment are included by our professional staff. Your guests will enjoy our modern space while indulging in stunning views of the Spokane River and Riverfront Park. THE LIVING STAGE From lectures to performances to hands-on demonstrations, The Living Stage at Hotel RL invites people from all walks of life to share their knowledge and passion for community awareness, health, creativity, and innovation. Designed to ignite conversations and promote a deeper understanding of the world around us, The Living Stage incorporates authors, artists, musicians, community leaders, local start-ups and more. PROJECT WAKE-UP-CALL We believe everyone deserves to sleep with a roof over his or her head. That's why we started Project Wake Up Call, a philanthropic initiative to help end homelessness one new hotel opening at a time. Learn more about Project Wake Up Call and our Spokane partner: Blessings Under the Bridge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Southall Travel, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel RL by Red Lion Spokane at the Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Red Lion Hotel Spokane
Red Lion Spokane
Spokane Red Lion

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing