We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Don't go for the service” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel RL by Red Lion Spokane at the Park

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hotel RL by Red Lion Spokane at the Park
Ranked #25 of 46 Hotels in Spokane
GreenLeadersSilver level
Spokane
1 review
“Don't go for the service”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 August 2014

When we first checked in we received a room on the first floor at the end of a hallway next to the door. We have a baby so that wasn't ideal seeing as people would be coming and going all night but when I asked at the front desk if there was anything else available I was told I shouldn't have a problem with that room. Seeing as I didn't have a whole lot of choice we moved our stuff in.
We gave a baby so I had to put her food in the fridge, on top of the fridge to my delight was an empty case of beer and a half full can, behind the flat screen tv there was also an empty pack of cigarettes in my "non smoking" room, glad to see that the room was cleaned prior to my stay. I again went to the front desk and asked if I could upgrade do something to change rooms, the girl at the front desk didn't really know and went to the back. A couple of minutes later a person whom I believe was named Tracy came out, I told her again that my room had not been cleaned all that well and I'd like to change rooms I'd like to upgrade to something in the tower if possible. She made a face like oh that's gross when I mentioned that the room still had garbage from the previous guest and said that it would be "30 or 40 bucks" without knowing what room I was in(I looked online it's a $10 difference) so I just left it and went to the pool. The rest of the stay was without incident there were a bunch of bugs in the bathroom but nothing you wouldn't find in Mexico. I went to the front desk to check out and met the same lady I believe her name was Tracy that I had talked to two days prior she seemed puzzled and asked me why I'm checking out at the desk and had I not received my bill under the door, I replied the garbage that I told you about 2 days ago is still where it was and to please ensure it is cleaned for the next guest here's the room number.

The beds were comfortable if you have wheelchair or large stroller it won't fit past this counter they placed in the middle of the entrance, but for what they aspire to be they are not. As a part of the promo I booked under I'm entitled to a free night in the fall I hope it's at any property because I will not be returing to this one.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Red Lion Hotels

Helpful?
Thank Alex J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zach L, Front Office Manager at Hotel RL by Red Lion Spokane at the Park, responded to this review, 16 August 2014
Thank you for providing this important review of your experience and thank you for connecting with us via phone so we could more specifically care for your concerns. The way you were treated is not acceptable, and as we discussed with you, the person in question was not following our high standards for guest service. We will address these concerns and coach that person on how to more effectively handle this sort of situation. Thank you again for being so communicative and for allowing us to properly resolve the issue! We look forward to welcoming you back so we can give you the high-caliber service you ought to receive each time you visit Red Lion.

Best Regards,

Zach L
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,393 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    408
    424
    274
    185
    102
See reviews for
501
241
61
338
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (409)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Spokane
1 review
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 August 2014

Reservations made directly with the hotel NOT HONORED, myself (disabled), my wife, and two children were put out and completely inconvenienced most of the trip. Because I am generally a positive person I will say the outside pool was excellent and the staff are at least courteous. Other than that there are several little issues you will encounter, simple things like nobody answering phones, or requests for items, or room keys daily having to be replaced. Its terrible I am even writing this, I don't ever write reviews and it was so offensive I felt the need to. High price for what you get, simply not worth the money.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Red Lion Hotels

Helpful?
Thank Rus N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zach L, Front Office Manager at Hotel RL by Red Lion Spokane at the Park, responded to this review, 16 August 2014
Thank you for providing us with this important feedback. As we discussed via email, it was never our intention to come across this way, and I apologize for this experience. Consistency and accuracy are extremely important to us, and we work hard to prevent anything like this from happening. I'm glad to hear you felt our staff was courteous and the pool was pleasant, but we strive for every part of the visit to be excellent. I hope to welcome you back to provide the stress-free and comfortable stay you deserve. I appreciate your comments, and look forward to speaking with you over phone about these concerns as well.

Best Regards,

Zach L
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fresno, California, United States
Level Contributor
38 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 August 2014

My children and I had a conference to attend at the Spokane Convention Center. The conference hotel was full, so Red Lion Hotel at the Park was recommended as the alternate. I was really glad that this hotel was recommended. I got a better deal on the room rate than the conference hotel. Red Lion at the Park has a very picturesque setting with the river and park literally steps away from the hotel door. It took us only 4 minutes to reach the convention center on foot. We felt safe walking through the park morning and night to attend our convention. We found lots of fun things to do at the park. Also, there are plenty of fun shops/stores to explore near the convention center, easily accessible on foot. We enjoyed eating at Olive Garden and Chili's and walked to a nearby Rite Aid for necessities. The hotel staff was very helpful and attentive and responded quickly and graciously to our many requests. The large pool with slide was a big hit with my kids.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sherri J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zach L, Front Office Manager at Hotel RL by Red Lion Spokane at the Park, responded to this review, 16 August 2014
Thank you so much for the kind comments regarding our staff and service. It's always great to hear our staff get recognized for the excellent service we strive for each day. It sounds like you and your family had a ton of fun in Spokane. The park is a beautiful spot to relax and spend quality family time. Next time you should try the Onion -- it's a great restaurant that's local to Spokane. See you next time!

Best Regards,

Zach L
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
86 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 August 2014 via mobile

We booked here because it had an outdoor pool and wanted to spend more time in the sun, pool-side, so we were ok paying a bit more...

The room was ok, but tired, with an odour that was less than desirable. Some wallpaper was peeling in the bathroom.

The pool was nice, but the key-lock didn't work and the lifeguard had to let people in the pool area; there not enough lounge chairs for patrons and the small snack-bar was closed.

For the price paid for this hotel and in comparison with other properties, we expected more.

Stayed August 2014
Helpful?
Thank MarcSTremblay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zach L, Front Office Manager at Hotel RL by Red Lion Spokane at the Park, responded to this review, 16 August 2014
I appreciate you submitting this review of our hotel. I apologize we did not represent the value or standards you expected. The issues you noted about the room have been provided to our Maintenance department and the key lock for the pool area has been addressed. We do hope you'll visit again so we can prove these experiences are not normal to our brand and our hotel.

Best Regards,

Zach L
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Spokane
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 August 2014

For a shade over 100$ you get a safe, clean room with the best outdoor pool in Spokane--and a very convenient location. A wonderful stroll through the park right into town. And a free shuttle as well.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Red Lion Hotels

Helpful?
Thank Christian O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zach L, Front Office Manager at Hotel RL by Red Lion Spokane at the Park, responded to this review, 16 August 2014
Thank you for telling everyone how much you enjoyed staying with us. I'm glad to find you appreciated the value our hotel provides and the beautiful location as well. We love Spokane and are always glad to be a gateway to this city for out-of-towners. The free shuttle can't be beat either -- it's even complimentary for downtown transportation to great restaurants like Europa.

Best Regards,

Zach L
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mount Laurel, New Jersey
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 August 2014

We stayed in Spokane for a family event, but choosing Red Lion at the park was our best decision. Great location, easy access to trails and the park activities, and wonderful timely shuttles to all the local attractions. Rooms were clean and comfortable, and property is well maintained. Staff were courteous and knowledgeable, and answered our questions kindly all throughout our stay. So happy with our choice to stay here!

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Red Lion Hotels

Helpful?
Thank Allison S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brent A, Front Office Manager at Hotel RL by Red Lion Spokane at the Park, responded to this review, 12 August 2014
Thanks so much for the nice comments and feedback regarding our hotel and staff! We pride ourselves on the people who come to work each day, striving to give the best possible experience to our guests. It's great to hear you found this when you stayed and the value was perfect for your family event. All of us love helping people discover Spokane, and we're grateful to hear our staff put their local knowledge on display. We look forward to hosting you next time!

Kind Regards,

Brent A.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Spokane
1 review
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 August 2014

We arrived at 2:30 pm and tried to check in but were told we couldn't until after 3 pm. When we tried after 3 pm the room was still not ready. When we finally got the keys we went to our room in the "Tower" section. The halls and the room had a smell of old cigarette smoke and our room had a dirty cup on the floor by the bed. The sofa chair in the room was so badly stained we wouldn't sit on it.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Red Lion Hotels

Helpful?
Thank Terry P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brent A, Front Office Manager at Hotel RL by Red Lion Spokane at the Park, responded to this review, 12 August 2014
Thank you for commenting about your experience at our hotel. I'm so sorry to hear that someone was breaking our rules and smoking in our non-smoking facility -- we take this very seriously and trust our Manager-On-Duty did their best to stop this from occurring. Also, you should never have to experience room concerns as you noted. This issue will be passed along to our Director of Rooms so he can properly address it. I assure you these things are not common to our hotel, and do hope you'll try us again so we can provide the stress-free and comfortable stay you expect.

Kind Regards,

Brent A.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Spokane hotels
0.3 mi away
Red Lion River Inn
Red Lion River Inn
#24 of 46 in Spokane
3.5 of 5 bubbles 652 reviews
0.2 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Spokane City Center
0.2 mi away
Oxford Suites Downtown Spokane
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
No photo provided
0.6 mi away
The Davenport Tower, Autograph Collection
0.3 mi away
The Davenport Grand, Autograph Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel RL by Red Lion Spokane at the Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel RL by Red Lion Spokane at the Park

Property: Hotel RL by Red Lion Spokane at the Park
Address: 303 W. North River Drive, Spokane, WA 99201-2255 (Formerly WestCoast)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Washington > Spokane
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Green Hotel in Spokane
#14 Business Hotel in Spokane
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel RL by Red Lion Spokane at the Park 3.5*
Number of rooms: 402
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Explore Spokane as a local. Hotel RL by Red Lion Spokane at the Park, located on the banks of the Spokane River, is your key to downtown Spokane. Our new modern guest rooms and suites lie steps away from Riverfront Park and local attractions like the Spokane Convention Center and some of the city's best restaurants and cafes. We have all the features you need, like complimentary Wi-Fi and craft amenities. Curiosity is the only compass you will need. Grab a cup of free coffee from Victrola Coffee Roasters, located onsite at Hotel RL, for some of the city's best artisanal coffee, and enjoy it alongside local artists at The Living Stage. A hub for community engagement and entertainment, The Living Stage hosts local artists, musicians, speakers and more. When you're ready to see more of Spokane, take advantage of our onsite bike rental and explore the city at your own pace. Business and event travelers will enjoy Spokane's best event space at Hotel RL. With over 30,000 square feet of flexible meeting space, you'll also be able to host an intimate meeting or a large banquet celebration. Catering and AV equipment are included by our professional staff. Your guests will enjoy our modern space while indulging in stunning views of the Spokane River and Riverfront Park. THE LIVING STAGE From lectures to performances to hands-on demonstrations, The Living Stage at Hotel RL invites people from all walks of life to share their knowledge and passion for community awareness, health, creativity, and innovation. Designed to ignite conversations and promote a deeper understanding of the world around us, The Living Stage incorporates authors, artists, musicians, community leaders, local start-ups and more. PROJECT WAKE-UP-CALL We believe everyone deserves to sleep with a roof over his or her head. That's why we started Project Wake Up Call, a philanthropic initiative to help end homelessness one new hotel opening at a time. Learn more about Project Wake Up Call and our Spokane partner: Blessings Under the Bridge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Southall Travel and Booking.com so you can book your Hotel RL by Red Lion Spokane at the Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Red Lion Hotel Spokane
Red Lion Spokane
Spokane Red Lion

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing