We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Impressive”
Review of Red Lion River Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Red Lion River Inn
Ranked #24 of 46 Hotels in Spokane
Reviewed 12 December 2012

After reading a few other travelers reviews of this Red Lion location I was a little bit afraid of what this hotel was going to be like. I am happy to say I was very, very impressed/happy with my stay! The girl at the front desk, Brittany, was very friendly, the bed was soft and comfortable, the hotel restaurant makes a great steak and vegetables with an impressive happy hour menu, and they have live music on Tuesdays! I'm in Spokane for business once a month and have been staying at the DoubleTree or Hotel Lusso downtown, but based on this experience I'll be here a lot more in the future!

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ScheminWillieBeamin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (800)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

646 - 652 of 800 reviews

Reviewed 6 December 2012

They don't mention only "seasonal" room service, if you like stained carpet and bedding with an eighties flower theme stay here, I made a reservation for 4 nights after 2 nights the marijuana smell was so strong I had to check out, and no refund for the the other 2 nights! I would encourage families never to stay here!

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dwimber
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RL_Customer_Care, Coporate Customer Care Department at Red Lion River Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 14 December 2012

We value each and every one of our guests and I truly apologize that we failed to provide you the best possible service. We are very displeased to see that there were some areas of concern regarding cleanliness in your guest room and we will certainly address your concerns with our housekeeping staff.
Thank you for your feedback you are a valued guest and we hope to have the opportunity to provide you better service in the near future!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 November 2012

I booked this room with hotels.com expecting a clean comfortable room for a one night stay. The front desk was very friendly. The room however was not friendly at all. The smell of mold/mildew was over whelming. I requested a room change and was told "we are booked for the night, we could place an IONIZER in your room for a couple of hours to see if that helps." I usually stay at Red Lion motels in Spokane and have always had a good experience with them. I was very disappointed this time. Especially when they were unwilling to refund my money for the room. I will use caution the next time I book with them. I recommend to stay away from the Red Lion River Inn and consider staying at the Red Lion at the Park.

Room Tip: Request to see room before first.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rene' L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RL_Customer_Care, Corporate Customer Care Department at Red Lion River Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 26 November 2012

We value each and every one of our guests and I truly apologize that we failed to provide you the best possible service. We are very displeased to see that there were some areas of concern regarding the bad odor in your room.
We do appreciate your feedback so that we are given the opportunity to address your concerns. We thank you very much and we hope to have the chance to serve you better in the near future.
Kind Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 November 2012

The location along the river is very nice in the summer, but the accommodations are quite poor. We stayed two nights and had to switch rooms for the second night. We were told that the second room would be nicer but both were tired and old. The carpet was stained and the room smelled stale. The worst part, however, was how noisy the hotel was both nights. The walls are paper thin, and it sounded like an elephant was in the room above us. In the morning, there was not enough hot water for two showers. Wow.

To the hotel's credit, the staff is friendly and there is live music most nights in the restaurant. The breakfast was good, and the room price was affordable. Unfortunately that doesn't help a person get a good night's sleep.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chris W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RachelAndrade, Manager at Red Lion River Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 27 November 2012

Thank you so much for your feed back regarding your most recent stay. We have some great updates coming in the next few months to our hotel that we are really excited about. I truley apologize and hope that you will give our propoerty another chance in the near future.
We were so glad to hear that you enjoyed the location, staff, great music and food we offer!
Thank you again for your feed back and we hope to see you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 October 2012

This was the perfect end to a long day of driving. The room was clean. The distance from the parking lot was less than some places I have stayed due to the layout of buildings. They accepted our pet easily and we had no issues with the staff. The closeness of restaurants was another big plus. This was a good place for us.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Cleat12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 October 2012

Spent one night at the Red Lion River Inn. There are two things that are critical in a hotel room....clean room and a comfortable bed. Unfortunately, the Red Lion only got one right....it was spotless. The bed, however, was awful. It was a pillow-top mattress that sagged in the middle... so my husband and I spent the entire night trying to unsuccessfully roll out of the middle. Just awful. The room itself was very nice....tasteful furnishings, spacious and quiet. Our room was 281 building V....hopefully it was just this bed, but I'd check to see when they last got new beds in the rooms before I'd consider staying here.

Room Tip: Check your bed first and make sure the Grand Canyon isn't down the middle. Corner rooms are bes...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Fish3342
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RL_Customer_Care, Corporate Customer Care Department at Red Lion River Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 18 November 2012

We value each and every one of our guests and I truly apologize that we failed to provide you the best possible service. We are displeased to see that there were some areas of concern regarding cleanliness in your guest room and will certainly address your concerns with our housekeeping staff. I do for your bed being so uncomfortable and we will have our staff look into that as well.
You are a valued guest and we hope to have the opportunity to provide you better service in the near future!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 October 2012

I was booked into this hotel by an organization that was paying for my stay. Let me say that as a result, I won’t be attending any further meetings with this organization unless I can choose my own hotel. Check-in was disorganized; some folks were given bottled water, some weren’t (my colleague and I were not). My request for a quiet room was apparently disregarded, as I ended up on the 2nd floor (better than the 1st, I’ll grant you) facing the parking lot. I ran the air conditioner all night (yes, in October) just to cover the noise.
This hotel is well-used, with the big lump you find in middle of mattresses that have seen hundreds or thousands of uses. There was toothpaste on the wall in the bathroom, the mirrored door on the hallway was cracked, and – as mentioned before – the single-paned windows allow for all the parking lot and Division Street noise to come on through. The final straw was when I made my coffee the next morning and picked up one of the cups in the room only to find a hair (not mine!) inside the cup. Skip this place.

Room Tip: Stay somewhere else.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bettibiz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RachelAndrade, Manager at Red Lion River Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 29 October 2012

Thank you for taking the time to review your most recent experience with us. I feel poorly that your stay did not meet your expectations. I do apologize that our front desk team did not place you in a room that was more quiet. In the future, a good tip is to request a River View room, facing away from the street. The bottle water we give out is intended as a gift to our Guests that are a part of our loyatly program, I apologize if the Front desk did not invite you to sign up. On behalf of the hotel, please accept my apology for the poor service you experienced. This is not typical of the service offered our property, and I am confident that if given a chance for a return visit, you would have a different experience. Again, thank you for taking the time to make us aware, and I do hope to see you as a guest in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Spokane hotels
0.3 mi away
Hotel RL by Red Lion Spokane at the Park
0.1 mi away
Courtyard Spokane Downtown at the Convention Center
0.1 mi away
Oxford Suites Downtown Spokane
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Ruby2
Ruby2
#14 of 46 in Spokane
467 reviews
0.3 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Spokane City Center
0.8 mi away
The Davenport Tower, Autograph Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Red Lion River Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Red Lion River Inn

Address: 700 N Division St, Spokane, WA 99202-1613
Region: United States > Washington > Spokane
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #24 of 46 Hotels in Spokane
Price Range: £62 - £141 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Red Lion River Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 245
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Red Lion River Inn is a quiet urban hideaway nestled along the beautiful north bank of the Spokane River in Spokane Washington. Just steps from Riverfront Park and the Centennial Trail, our guests have easy access to Gonzaga University, the Convention Center, and the INB Performing Arts Center as well as Spokane's best shopping, entertainment, restaurants and the downtown business district. We are also close to Spokane Veterans Arena and 10 miles from Spokane International Airport.Each of our guests can be assured of friendly Northwest hospitality and exceptional service. We offer 245 tastefully appointed, contemporary rooms and suites furnished with comfort in mind. Other comforts include Red Lion's signature beds featuring Sealy pillowtop mattresses and Eco Fresh Environmentally Responsible Products (ERP). Deluxe rooms feature king-sized beds with beautiful river views. All rooms include complimentary wi-fi and also complimentary parking and airport transportation.If resort-style fun is what you're looking for, activities abound with two seasonal outdoor pools and a fitness center as well as volleyball, tennis and basketball courts available for your pleasure. For your next event, our 2,800 square feet of meeting space can accommodate groups of up to 250.We offer Red Lion's signature Roaring Start Breakfast... and don't forget, kids 10 and younger eat free with each adult. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ebookers, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Red Lion River Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Red Lion River Hotel Spokane
Red Lion Spokane
Spokane Red Lion

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing