We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Taming the Lion in Spokane”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Red Lion River Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Red Lion River Inn
Ranked #24 of 46 Hotels in Spokane
Vancouver
Level Contributor
317 reviews
97 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
“Taming the Lion in Spokane”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 July 2014

A sprawling property on the banks of the Spokane River, just over the bridge from downtown. Six buildings, a tennis court, a paito for dinner and drinks. Nice place, reasonable rates, and very busy with locals, travellers, and the average working man.

Room Tip: Ask for a river view, as this will also give you a nice sunrise on a summer's day.
See more room tips
Green Features: Toiletries by PURE are all biodegradeable, and that is quite progressive.
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ajaceman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RachelAndrade, Manager at Red Lion River Inn, responded to this review, 30 July 2014
Thank you for your great 4 star review. We appreciate your feedback. We are very proud of our hotel and of our amenities and we would love to have you visit us again next summer. Feel free to visit us this winter too!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

665 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    187
    228
    146
    61
    43
See reviews for
242
159
38
124
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (154)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Spokane
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 July 2014

My wife and I stayed for 3 days at this place during a business convention. It was a comfortable place and was fairly inexpensive. The food selection for breakfast was lackluster at best, but for the cost of the room it's tough to complain. There are other places in Spokane to eat.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Red Lion Hotels

Helpful?
Thank Barry W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RachelAndrade, Manager at Red Lion River Inn, responded to this review, 30 July 2014
Thank you for your great four star review. We are glad you choose us for your hotel while in Spokane on business and we are glad to hear that your stay with us was comfortable. We hope to have you stay with us again very soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Port Elizabeth, South Africa
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 July 2014

The hotel is a bit worn and needs some TLC, but the location is great, the river view we had was lovely. That said, the room felt clean. All of the staff we interacted with were wonderful. It would score a 5 if the hall carpets were cleaner and furniture was in better condition. The desk chair was uncomfortable.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Red Lion Hotels

Helpful?
1 Thank Gregg P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Spokane
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 July 2014

The Red Lion River Inn borders the campus of Gonzaga on the scenic Centennial Trail. The staff is wonderful. The design is somewhat dated and the common carpets worn. Small matter--I highly recommend.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Red Lion Hotels

Helpful?
2 Thank Mark L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RachelAndrade, Front Office Manager at Red Lion River Inn, responded to this review, 24 July 2014
Thank you for your kind words regarding our staff and location! We are currently working on some improvements at the Inn and appreciate the feed back. Thank you again and we hope to see you very soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Spokane
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 July 2014

We traveled with a large group of high school athletes and parents for a 4-night stay. The location is excellent, close to restaurants, bars, entertainment, and Riverfront Park. Parents were given rooms in a block, and our 14 sons were roomed near their coaches... at the other end of the hotel... and we appreciated that! Price was reasonable, especially since it included a continental breakfast in the price.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Red Lion Hotels

Helpful?
1 Thank RobQ509
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RachelAndrade, Front Office Manager at Red Lion River Inn, responded to this review, 24 July 2014
Thank you so much for your recent review! We love our sports teams and appreciate your business, thank you so much for staying with us and we hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Spokane
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 July 2014

This hotel is outdated. People are nice, and the beds are comfy...but many things need updated and the pools are very basic. It was a bummer that we could not use the Inn at the Park pool during our stay. I would not stay again unless the price was reduced.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Red Lion Hotels

Helpful?
1 Thank Amanda L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RachelAndrade, Manager at Red Lion River Inn, responded to this review, 24 July 2014
Hi Amanda, thank you so much for your recent review. We appreciate any and all feed and are always looking for new ways to improve our Inn. Make sure you check out our website and our Rewards program to be guaranteed the lowest rate period any time you book with us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Castlegar, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 July 2014

Thought that this hotel was excellent for the money and very convenient for downtown access. Had several ball teams here at the same time and had no issue with noise. Restaurant was a bit slow as it was very busy

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Red Lion Hotels

Helpful?
1 Thank Tourist56_56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RachelAndrade, Front Office Manager at Red Lion River Inn, responded to this review, 24 July 2014
Thank you so much for your recent review. We love our location and proximity to downtown and really appreciate you highlighting that special amenity! We hope that the River Inn can always be your first choice when visiting Spokane!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Spokane hotels
0.3 mi away
Hotel RL by Red Lion Spokane at the Park
0.2 mi away
Oxford Suites Downtown Spokane
0.4 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Spokane City Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Courtyard Spokane Downtown at the Convention Center
1.0 mi away
Hotel Ruby
Hotel Ruby
#12 of 46 in Spokane
4.0 of 5 bubbles 812 reviews
0.4 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS City Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Red Lion River Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Red Lion River Inn

Property: Red Lion River Inn
Address: 700 N Division St, Spokane, WA 99202
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Washington > Spokane
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #24 of 46 Hotels in Spokane
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Red Lion River Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 245
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Red Lion River Inn is a quiet urban hideaway nestled along the beautiful north bank of the Spokane River in Spokane Washington. Just steps from Riverfront Park and the Centennial Trail, our guests have easy access to Gonzaga University, the Convention Center, and the INB Performing Arts Center as well as Spokane's best shopping, entertainment, restaurants and the downtown business district. We are also close to Spokane Veterans Arena and 10 miles from Spokane International Airport.Each of our guests can be assured of friendly Northwest hospitality and exceptional service. We offer 245 tastefully appointed, contemporary rooms and suites furnished with comfort in mind. Other comforts include Red Lion's signature beds featuring Sealy pillowtop mattresses and Eco Fresh Environmentally Responsible Products (ERP). Deluxe rooms feature king-sized beds with beautiful river views. All rooms include complimentary wi-fi and also complimentary parking and airport transportation.If resort-style fun is what you're looking for, activities abound with two seasonal outdoor pools and a fitness center as well as volleyball, tennis and basketball courts available for your pleasure. For your next event, our 2,800 square feet of meeting space can accommodate groups of up to 250.We offer Red Lion's signature Roaring Start Breakfast... and don't forget, kids 10 and younger eat free with each adult. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Red Lion River Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Red Lion River Hotel Spokane
Red Lion Spokane
Spokane Red Lion

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing