We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beautiful peaceful stay at the Odell House” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Odell House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Spokane
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Odell House
Ranked #7 of 13 Spokane B&B and Inns
GreenLeadersGold level
Portland, Oregon
1 review
“Beautiful peaceful stay at the Odell House”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 May 2014

My wife and I were driving across country and this place was really nice. They have an electric car charger, fresh eggs from chickens, and a wonderful host.

The neighborhood that the Odell house was really nice also. We walked down to a delicious Italian restaurant and ate on their porch in the nice weather.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jon R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
forbzilla, Owner at The Odell House, responded to this review, 3 June 2014
From absolutely perfect guests who we would love to have back! Thank you!!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

34 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    25
    5
    2
    1
    1
See reviews for
6
11
7
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
16 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 April 2014

This was listed as a B&B. We are B&B owners and we certainly know what qualifies as a B&B and that is it includes breakfast. This is more like a nice boarding house. Each unit has it's own kitchen - no breakfast served. Most of the drawers in our unit had somebody else's belongings in drawers. This is advertised as a "Green" echo friendly establishment. Organic soaps etc. were on the kitchen and bathroom counters, however I would NOT consider Soft Scrub, Clorox, etc. as echo-friendly green cleaning agents found under the sink in the kitchen.
We could recommend staying in this place as it is in a lovely part of Spokane and it was adequately furnished and clean. However, it is misleading to advertise it as a Bed and BREAKFAST and green, echo friendly. It was also creeping having someone else items in drawers. This was misleading.

Room Tip: Just come prepared to fix your own breakfast or go out to breakfast - false advertising.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Maureen and Al S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
forbzilla, Owner at The Odell House, responded to this review, 28 April 2014
Though it is always hard to get a negative review, I wanted to thank Maureen for helping to make public an issue that is happening in Spokane right now and may continue across the country. It has to do with short term lodging and how it is regulated. We are indeed licensed as a Bed and Breakfast. We have been so since 1998.

There are many illegal offerings on the market today and we stress our licensing to differentiate us from the many unlicensed and often non tax paying entities that reside under Air BnB, VRBO, etc.

BUT, because we offer furnished apartments where everybody has their own kitchen there is no way to go through the regulatory process of having an inspected kitchen, which is what you need in Washington State to serve food to the public. This may be different in Idaho, where our guest is from.

I am a bit surprised and the very negative response--two stars is a very serious review--our worst ever--and in this case based almost solely on "lack of service.'' Service that was never promised in any way. We are very clear that we cannot provide food. We offer furnished apartments with complete and private kitchens.

What our guest did get for her rate of $95 a night was an upgrade to a unit that usually rents for $135. She also found ironed sheets and table cloths, fresh flowers in the living room, local chocolates on the bed. In her own refrigerator she found butter and cream with gourmet coffee--locally roasted--and a coffee grinder. Our tea is stocked from Portland's Jasmine Pearl. Our guest was invited in her check in note to go pick up fresh eggs from the cooler by the chicken coop.

Why no better service--eggs already in fridge or arrival of service to the door in the morning? We are not allowed. The health department says we cannot provide anything in the units that needs refrigeration, in fact, we are not allowed to provide any kind of food that is not prepackaged--that is why the little creamers and butter in foil. We used to provide organic cream in bottles. But it will spoil, so we now cannot. Guests can go help themselves to fresh eggs, but we cannot put them in the units. Health Department rules.

As for lack of green cleaning. She is right, we do stock bleach cleaners in the units. Without going into too much detail, the average person can well imaging a situation where it would be a good thing to have a hotel use bleach products between guests. We do so only when it seem warranted--like someone has left many tissues in the trash baskets indicating a possible virus, or any other sign of sickness In these cases we unashamedly bleach everything. This if FOR the well-being of our guests! We use vinegar-based cleaners in most other applications and sometimes suffer through a review saying the unit smelled funny at first!

My apologies for the lack of breakfast! Hope this makes things more clear for future guests.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montana
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 January 2014

My husband and I spent 4 wonderful nights in Apartment E of the Odell House during December 2013. The beautiful home is located in a historic part of Spokane, Browne's Addition, near the museum and diverse restaurants/pubs (great food & service). We couldn't have asked for more in terms of our stay! Apartment E met our needs completely, although if it hadn't, the responsive Odell House manager, Dale, would have addressed them immediately. This second floor fully furnished apartment is clean, warm and cozy, filled with antiques and comfortable furniture. We had plenty of room to spread out in the living room, dining room/study, kitchen, bedroom, and bath areas. The rooms are flooded with natural light, and the area is quiet. It is a "home away from home". We highly recommend the Odell house, and look forward to returning! Thanks for everything, Dale!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank The_Roads_Scholar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 December 2013

This is hands down the best place to stay in Spokane! I have stayed in apartment B twice, it has everything you could ever need, a tiny kitchen including a great stove, pots, pans, cookie sheets, literally everything, they even have a compost! The bed is beyond comfortable, and there is even a little dining table and couches. Dale, the owner is lovely and left us fresh egg's from the hen's that live there. As many other reviewers have said, the location is great and so close to the bus stop and grocery store. You could pay twice as much for a week in Spokane, and you wouldn't have half the amenities they offer here.

Room Tip: Apartment B is great for a solo traveler or a couple.
See more room tips
Green Features: They have a compost in the kitchen, and a recycling area outside.
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kailey T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
forbzilla, Owner at The Odell House, responded to this review, 22 December 2013
What a sweet review. And SO many thanks for staying with us again!
One of the fun things about reviews, and the great guests who give them, is being able to brag in return.
This particularly fabulous guest not only is great to look after, but she saved the house a disaster by noticing a drip in the bathroom. Because of her good communication and observance we halted a problem in the first minutes and no harm was done. Great job! We love you! Please come back as soon as you can! (The chickens say, "Hi. . .we're hungry! Please, please, PLEASE ;>".:)
Best wishes, D
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lethbridge, Canada
Level Contributor
25 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 December 2013

Eclectic décor, attention to every detail, easy to get to - $1.50 city transit from the airport within one block!!! Tons of room, beautiful linens. Every accommodation provided down to a cell phone and an alarm clock. Thank you!!! Will be back again.

Room Tip: Sunroom in the Wakefield apartment is outstanding.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Rande R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
forbzilla, Owner at The Odell House, responded to this review, 13 December 2013
What a nice comment, from a very nice guest!
I wanted to both say thanks and clarify what we offer at the Odell House. Fifteen years ago, when we first started renting furnished apartments to guests, we had phones in every unit. Then, along came the cell phone, dial up Internet went the way of the dinosaur, and most people had no use for a phone--nor an alarm clock. They carried their own.

Currently we find people are even leaving the laptop at home, happily tablet-computing their way across America--cell phone in the other hand. So now we have very, very fast wireless and wired Internet service which powers many popular devices. We also have ONE loaner cell phone that can be used for domestic calls while a guest is here. Not many bells and whistles, but it will get you a cab if you want it.

The trick is, you have to ask. And, as this nice guest from Canada found that her cell phone did not work here, she cleverly made it known that she needed a device. We just about instantly provided it. That would not have worked nearly as well had another guest reserved it--which we hope, now knowing that it is possible, our guests will!
With a business that cares--and we surely do--the trick to getting what you want is to make known what you want!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Victoria, British Columbia, Canada
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 October 2013

The location, antiques and comfort will bring us back to Odell House in lovely Spokane, Washington. Our maiden trip to this people friendly city was a real treat and we enjoyed the walk from Odell House into downtown Riverfront Spokane. Our hosts at Odell House upgraded our accommodation, parking was provided, neighborhood was adorned with old beautiful heritage homes.

Thank you Dale!

Room Tip: We were upgrade into "B Next Door", it was very quiet and we felt at home.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Cheryl R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
forbzilla, Owner at The Odell House, responded to this review, 23 October 2013
Thank you for your kind words! Your communication and thoughtfulness are sincerely appreciated. You made it very easy for us and we hope you will be back very soon for another visit--please ask for the upgrade that I have noted in your file. :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Summerland, Canada
Level Contributor
18 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 October 2013

I was thrilled that we could bring our dear old Gypsy girl to this interesting mansion. It was perfectly comfortable, and we were right next to the door so letting the dog out was easy. What a great place to walk, very cool old mansions everywhere and a park around the corner. Close to downtown, we had no problems finding it and there is a grocery store and restaurants very near by.
Suite C was large and unusual, perhaps the butler's quarters? It's not for those how are afraid of a few dusty corners and aged furniture. The bed was perfect and clean, but the bedroom is indeed oddly designed, I guess built for a small single bed only. The bathroom was quirky, but fine.
We had great communication with Dale, although never saw her. Much more fun than a boring hotel.

Room Tip: Suite C is great for family and your dog. Make your own meals, 2 TV's. Close to dining out and g...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank StacyArt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
forbzilla, Owner at The Odell House, responded to this review, 11 October 2013
What a great guess about apartment C in the Odell House!

It was indeed the servants part of this large house which was converted to six apartments in 1922. Unit C, the Family Apartment was the original kitchen and back stair area of the house. We recommend it for families with small children and people with pets because it is less formal than other parts of the house. All the units are different and it is a matter of choosing which one you think suits you the best--unless you have a pet and then for the sake of the other guests who may have allergies, then your choices are limited.

If you want huge rooms, stained glass, natural woodwork, and fabulous views, choose the Portico or the North River View--all a bit more expensive, larger and thoroughly grand. If on a budget, or a special guest makes the ground floor attractive, then choose The Hobbit Hole Apartment, The Family Apartment (C) or Next Door (B) (An allergy unit for those interested, a large lovely studio with beautiful Deco glass and private porches. Right next to our EV charging station).

The trouble with reviews of our two houses, The Wakefield and Odell House, which sit across the street form one another, is that no two units are the same: the size ranges from 300 square feet to 1200 square feet. Prices run from $40 a night (monthly rate) or between $85 and $155 for a nightly rate.
The trick is knowing what is important to you. We love questions--please ask!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Spokane hotels
1.1 mi away
No photo provided
1.9 mi away
Hampton Inn Spokane
Hampton Inn Spokane
#1 of 46 in Spokane
4.5 of 5 bubbles 726 reviews
1.1 mi away
The Davenport Lusso, Autograph Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
The Montvale Hotel
The Montvale Hotel
#21 of 46 in Spokane
4.0 of 5 bubbles 67 reviews
1.4 mi away
The Davenport Grand, Autograph Collection
1.8 mi away
Red Lion River Inn
Red Lion River Inn
#24 of 46 in Spokane
3.5 of 5 bubbles 652 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Odell House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Odell House

Property: The Odell House
Address: 2325 W 1st Ave, Spokane, WA 99201-5424
Region: United States > Washington > Spokane
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 13 B&Bs / Inns in Spokane
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Recently awarded the Green Leaders Gold level rating for excellence in providing energy conscious travel opportunities, The Odell House, offers six beautifully-furnished private apartments in a Historic Registry building. It is located in a charming, neighborhood just west of downtown Spokane, brimming with great places to walk, shop, bike, eat and enjoy the outdoors. Built in 1898, with a long tradition of being on the cutting edge of technology (one of the first of 30 phone subscribers in Spokane!), our latest offering is a dedicated parking and charging station for you Electric Vehicle. If you come by combustion, that's okay too, we have free parking, fresh eggs from our resident chickens, green housekeeping and a great bike loan program. Come join us! Sit on the porch, admire the poultry, play in the garden. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing