We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Classic old Architecture with Bargain Dinner” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Historic Davenport, Autograph Collection

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Historic Davenport, Autograph Collection
Ranked #2 of 46 Hotels in Spokane
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Dagsboro, Delaware
Level Contributor
221 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 167 helpful votes
“Classic old Architecture with Bargain Dinner”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 September 2012

We were not staying overnight but did take advantage of the opportunity to check out their early dinner special which is a three piece meal for $15 (drinks extra). This hotel was built in 1914 and began life as the classiest joint in the west! Presidents stayed here and it was the social hot spot of the city and region. By 1985 this masterpiece was closed for demolition and thankfully Walt and Karen Worthy purchased the facility for a historic restoration. Walk the halls and see old photos outlining the glorious past and now hopefully aimed for a glorious future. Architecture is in the style of Spanish Renaissance, French Neo-Classical, and Imperial Russia. Apparently the guest rooms are modern as is a new tower built nearby. Do not miss this if you are in Spokane, a particularly lovely city by the way!

Room Tip: Since we were there for a meal and self-guided tour I cannot say anything about the rooms but watch...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ted S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,697 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,209
    315
    103
    40
    30
See reviews for
344
622
81
421
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (465)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Eastern WA
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 September 2012

It's nice and all that, our only complaint would be the soap dispenser in the shower. Very tacky. As is the lotion dispenser by the sink. Other than that, it's a pretty nice place. The location is perfect for a weekend in Spokane.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JOwen72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Luxembourg City, Luxembourg
Level Contributor
128 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 September 2012

We went for a week-end to Spokane and stayed at the Davenport. The hotel is very good and meets the standards of a high-end big city hotel. It's located very centrally and the service is very good. The rooms are spacious and clean. In the coming years, a gradual updating of the rooms will be needed. The shower is a nice walk-in, but the shower is not giving enough water to fully enjoy it.... the shower gel and shampoo is coming from dispensers.... this could be better. Having said that: we had a very good stay.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TravelLeudelange
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wimberley, Texas
Level Contributor
80 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 August 2012

First the positive: Even if you are not staying at the Davenport while in Spokane, you certainly must visit here to see the magnificent lobby and second floor filled with history of this gorgeous hotel. The employees are attentive, pleasant, and appear to be happy with their jobs here. My husband and I stayed in a 14th floor penthouse suite (really just one big room of about 500 sf) It appeared to be recently updated but with beautiful period furniture. The bed looked amazing, with multiple pillows and luxurious bedding. Fluffy towels and occutane amenities but:
The negative begins. Having traveled for 7 hours, we tried to check in a little earlier than the 4 pm check in time, to no avail. We understood, and then waited over 2 hours for the "rush" cleaning of our room which the first desk agent forgot to do, and who did not run our credit card properly, or even really check us in. It was partially my fault that I did not specify a room away from elevators and ice machines, as I usually do, but reserving the top floor seemed to insure that no Dancing Elephants could be heard. Imagine my horror to see our room right next to both! 10 minutes after unpacking, we noticed a rumbling train noise. It was the elevator. All night we heard the noise akin to a small freight train coming and going, and then slamming their doors. How many people were using the elevators at 3,4,or5 am? Speaking of trains, about 2 blocks from the hotel, is a raised railroad track , with real trains roaring at our room level. Combine that with the constant police, fire, ambulance sirens, plus the drunken revelers in the hallway, and you truly get Sleepless in Spokane! Do NOT stay in room 1403!
As far as the beautiful bed..it was lumpy with a middle bump..I kept leaning toward the edge. My husband disliked the shampoo, lotions, etc., being in dispensers. Cheaper for hotel, or good for environment. Maybe not so sanitary? Valet brought wrong car to us...$20/day. Can't call down to have car waiting for you.
Upon checkout, when asked, we were honest about our experience. Felicia did apologize and took 10% off our bill. I would love to give the Davenport 5 stars as others have, but can't right now, as I am falling asleep.

Room Tip: Do not stay near the elevators or facing the railroad tracks.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank grandmommyof6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FrontOfficeDirector, Manager at The Historic Davenport, Autograph Collection, responded to this review, 3 September 2012
Thank you for taking the time to review your most recent experience with us. I feel poorly that your stay did not meet your expectations. The noises that one can hear from a city center hotel can definitely detract from the overall experience, and I do apologize that our front desk team did not place you in a room that was more quiet. In the future, a good tip is to request a north-facing room. These are opposite of the train tracks, and although city noise is still present, the train noise is minimal to non-existent, at most. In regards to the valet parking, I do apologize for the inconvenience of not being able to call down your car. Most times, we are able to accommodate, however, our valet parking area is small, and if cars are left there for even a short time, congestion can result giving the unintended perception of chaos and un organization. Also, you are correct, having the dispensers was a choice our hotel has made keeping the environment in mind. These are checked and cleaned regularly by our housekeeping staff. I am happy that our front desk team was able to offer you some compensation for the issues you mentioned, and do look forward to again having you as a guest in the near future!

Kind Regards ~
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
California
Level Contributor
91 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 August 2012

we stayed here for one day on either side of a week in Montana, and found a great deal on another website. Our room each time was clean, roomy and well-equipped, although our only minor complaint was the lack of a coffeemaker or refrigerator; for a longer stay, that would have been more significant. No tub but roomy comfy shower, with the sink/mirror area separate. Desk and other support staff were prompt friendly and helpful. We'd stay here again.
There's a starbucks 'cafe' in the lobby, but it doesn't take starbucks cards

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank meestar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boise, Idaho
Level Contributor
251 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 August 2012

We stayed in the tower, the room was immaculate. It was also nice to have free internet in an upscale hotel. All the staff we encountered were outstanding. The town car service around town was also a nice service to have instead of getting our car from the valet and then parking at our destination. Also loved the large walk in shower. The only problem we had was that room service seemed understaffed. It took over an hour one night to get a milkshake and in the morning our calls went unanswered and ended up being transferred to the operator.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rob S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 August 2012

Terrible valet parking service but otherwise very nice hotel. 22 minutes waiting for the car?
Atmosphere is terrific. The staff were very friendly and helped us to find the perfect spot in town for dinner.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Calgary_CanadaCowboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FrontOfficeDirector, Manager at The Historic Davenport, Autograph Collection, responded to this review, 3 September 2012
Thank you for making us aware of the delays you experienced with our valet service. We will be sure to bring this to the attention of our Guest Services Manager so that he can address with his team. Many times, cars can be delayed due to traffic near the city block. Furthermore, our valet team wants to ensure that they deliver your car as quickly as possible with safety being the number one priority. Again, thank you for making us aware, and for visiting our hotel. We look forward to a return visit!

Kind Regards ~
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Spokane hotels
0.1 mi away
The Davenport Tower, Autograph Collection
0.4 mi away
The Davenport Grand, Autograph Collection
0.7 mi away
Oxford Suites Downtown Spokane
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
Hampton Inn Spokane
Hampton Inn Spokane
#1 of 46 in Spokane
4.5 of 5 bubbles 726 reviews
0.6 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Spokane City Center
0.0 mi away
The Davenport Lusso, Autograph Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Historic Davenport, Autograph Collection? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Historic Davenport, Autograph Collection

Property: The Historic Davenport, Autograph Collection
Address: 10 S Post St, Spokane, WA 99201-3902
Region: United States > Washington > Spokane
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Spokane
#1 Romantic Hotel in Spokane
#1 Green Hotel in Spokane
#2 Family Hotel in Spokane
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Historic Davenport, Autograph Collection 4*
Number of rooms: 284
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Kirkland Cutter architecture, restored to original elegance with modern amenities and suburb service - Downtown. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Odigeo and Travel Republic (UK) so you can book your The Historic Davenport, Autograph Collection reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Davenport Hotel And Tower
Davenport Hotel Spokane

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing