We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“If you are in Spokane, stay here!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Historic Davenport, Autograph Collection
Ranked #3 of 46 Hotels in Spokane
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed 22 June 2014

Great experience! We stayed at the historic Davenport Hotel and would absolutely stay again. The service is fantastic, the hotel itself absolutely beautiful and it is a perfect downtown location to walk to everything. We walked to Riverfront park and walked on the Centennial trail every day which is so beautiful. The historic Davenport is beautiful as is the Tower and the boutique Lusso. We went to the pub at Lusso and to the Safari Room at the Towers and both were fabulous. If we find ourselves in Spokane again, we will definately check out one of the Davenport properties.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank joannala
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,779)
There are newer reviews for The Historic Davenport, Autograph Collection
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

752 - 758 of 1,779 reviews

Reviewed 22 June 2014

This is an exquisitely appointed hotel in...well, you could say Paris, New York, London, but this beauty is in Spokane, Washington. The lobby is impressive and the rooms live up to the standard. Our king deluxe room was spacious and well-appointed with a closet, armoire (which also held the tv) and a very comfortable king-size bed. Room for two chairs (one with an ottoman) and a desk. The bath and shower are beautiful and spacious. Amenities were L'Occitane and quite nice.

The staff is friendly, knowledgeable and eager to help. When you have a five-star experience from common areas, rooms, restaurants and through to the staff, the management team has to be five-star as well. Even the smallest detail is important and it's evident in the cleanliness, prompt response to any request and cheerful demeanor of those who work at the Davenport. The entire hotel is like a fine museum, and it's worth it to wander around the different ballrooms and meeting rooms, see the historical pictures and artifacts that are tastefully displayed. An excellent experience in Spokane!

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jwhallgren
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 June 2014

I've stayed in countless hotels all over the world and I've never encountered a hotel room in which there was no comfortable way to sit down.

The room was large, with a king bed, large enough to accommodate a comfortable arm chair.
But no. There were just two small, arm-less side chairs. And because there was no luggage rack in the room, one of those was needed to hold my suitcase.

OK. so its not uncommon for a room to have just a desk chair. But then you count on being able to sit on the bed, right? Not so in this room. As soon as you recline on the mattress, the mattress pulls away from the headboard enough so that several stacked but very insubstantial pillows fall immediately into the gap. And the pillows are those ridiculous small, squarish pillows that some hotel decorator has decided is all the rage. (Hey, why doesn't a king size bed come with king size pillows? Is that too difficult a concept to grasp?)
When I tried reclining on the bed to watch television, my head ended up banging against the ornate wooden, faux antique headboard. Within minutes I not only had a headache, I had a neck ache.
Comforts like sitting should simply be part of the basic package that comes with an expensive room. Although the concierge was sympathetic and did send up two more pillows, they really didn't make any difference.
For a hotel in which millions were invested to restore it, overlooking a simple, basic comfort such as this is baffling.
Worse, the concierge encouraged me to fill out a comment card. I did and the comment should have spurred the management to make a call or sent an email.
Nope. Nothing.
The few times I've been disappointed with other hotels, the response has been within the next day.
Therefore, as a frequent traveler, I cannot recommend the Davenport.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SunnynMark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FrontOfficeDirector, Manager at The Historic Davenport, Autograph Collection, responded to this reviewResponded 23 June 2014

Thank you for your comments regarding the comfort of the room. Suggestions like these go a long way towards helping to provide a more enjoyable stay for our guests. In regards to the luggage rack, we do have a luggage bench located in the closet. However, we should have done a better job of making you aware of it, as that is not something that easily accessible upon first entering the room. Again, we do apologize that your stay was not as comfortable as it should have been ~ We do thank you for the suggestions, as they will be shared with our management team.

Kind Regards ~

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 June 2014

The Davenport was a pleasant surprise in every way. Luxury at a reasonable price in a perfect location. You simply can't go wrong. We stayed a night in both the Hotel and the Tower and weren't left with a strong preference because both were great. The Tower rooms are somewhat "frisky" with a mirror behind the bed, chaise lounge (leopard print), only showers in most bathrooms (nice showers), and a somewhat over-the-top safari theme. The Hotel is a nice mix of classic and beautiful lobby with modern rooms. Beds and pillows in both hotels are wonderful. I guess at the same price we'd pick Hotel, but would take the Tower at a cheaper rate.

You would expect to pay twice the price for this hotel in other major cities. Our only minor complaints are the lack of bar soap and no coffee makers in the rooms. But these are small things. This is a hotel that Spokane should be proud of and helps to make Spokane a destination that we'd love to return to again.

Room Tip: The big decision is Hotel or Tower -- to us a coin flip.
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank chwsmith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 June 2014

This is the most beautiful hotel I've ever stayed in. So much extravagance in the common areas and in the rooms. Large windows overlooking the city of Spokane open up the already spacious rooms. The hotel is a historical landmark and should not be missed if ever in the area. The service was great and the food/drinks were as well. Had to pay for parking, but was able to walk everywhere I wanted to in downtown Spokane. They have a spacious outdoor dining area on something like the 5th floor that overlooks some beautiful parts of the downtown area as well. Cannot speak highly enough of this hotel.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WillyD223
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 June 2014

We've stayed at The Davenport many times and it is 1st rate hotel in all respects. The Davenport is to Spokane what The Plaza is to NYC. The rooms are spacious, the furniture and beds comfortable, the room service excellent and the staff friendly and accommodating. Even their laundry service helped wash me out of an overnight jam! In the evening you needn't leave the building to have a choice of a few very good restaurants--although they also own a pub across the street. And it's great to be able to grab a Starbucks latte and pastry in the morning in the main lobby. I'll be returning again in two weeks and again a few weeks after that.

Room Tip: I prefer the original hotel rooms to the more modern tower rooms--although their a bit pricier. Hap...
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bob M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 June 2014

The Davenport is a hotel in the tradition of grand hotels from a more elegant time. The lobby is dazzling with it's glass ceiling and elegant furnishings. There are several restaurants and shops as well. The room was elegant and comfortable. My only criticism is that I requested a bathtub with grab bars for my handicapped husband but got a roll in shower instead. We managed although I really missed a bathtub.
The hotel is located in downtown Spokane and is an easy walk to theatre, a beautiful shopping mall and park.
Valet parking was easy and the staff was friendly.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank naptownleader
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Spokane hotels
0.4 mi away
The Davenport Grand, Autograph Collection
0.1 mi away
The Davenport Tower, Autograph Collection
0.7 mi away
Oxford Suites Downtown Spokane
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
The Davenport Lusso, Autograph Collection
0.6 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Spokane City Center
2.8 mi away
Hampton Inn Spokane
Hampton Inn Spokane
#2 of 46 in Spokane
823 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Historic Davenport, Autograph Collection? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Historic Davenport, Autograph Collection

Address: 10 South Post Street, Spokane, WA 99201
Region: United States > Washington > Spokane
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Spokane
#1 Green Hotel in Spokane
#1 Romantic Hotel in Spokane
#2 Family Hotel in Spokane
Price Range: £128 - £222 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Historic Davenport, Autograph Collection 4*
Number of rooms: 284
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience The Historic Davenport, Autograph Collection with its Kirkland Cutter architecture in the heart of downtown Spokane, Washington. Our brilliant hotel in Spokane has been restored to original elegance with modern amenities and superb service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your The Historic Davenport, Autograph Collection reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Davenport Hotel And Tower
Davenport Hotel Spokane

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing