We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place”
Review of The Blackbird

The Blackbird
Ranked #38 of 934 Restaurants in Spokane
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$12 - US$28
Description: The concept, atmosphere and flavors have changed. Our scratch food, exceptional service and extensive offerings of beer, wine and spirits are even better than before. Serving up traditional Southern barbeque with a few twists, The Blackbird has the freshest wood-fired fare in Spokane. Our newly-crafted cocktails are prepared to pair with our smoky plates, adding to our already-comprehensive spread of beers (34 on tap), wines (4 on tap) and spirits. Adjacent to the Spokane River, we’re on the restored first floor of the historic Broadview Dairy building. Friends, family and travelers alike gather here for the fresh, locally-minded food, and fun, casual surroundings. Want to bring a crowd? Our banquet rooms can accommodate meetings, working lunches, private dinner parties, sports fans watching ball while drinking beers and much more.
Restaurant details
Description: The concept, atmosphere and flavors have changed. Our scratch food, exceptional service and extensive offerings of beer, wine and spirits are even better than before. Serving up traditional Southern barbeque with a few twists, The Blackbird has the freshest wood-fired fare in Spokane. Our newly-crafted cocktails are prepared to pair with our smoky plates, adding to our already-comprehensive spread of beers (34 on tap), wines (4 on tap) and spirits. Adjacent to the Spokane River, we’re on the restored first floor of the historic Broadview Dairy building. Friends, family and travelers alike gather here for the fresh, locally-minded food, and fun, casual surroundings. Want to bring a crowd? Our banquet rooms can accommodate meetings, working lunches, private dinner parties, sports fans watching ball while drinking beers and much more.
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

The food, the beer, the drinks. We have never had a bad experience here yet.
The staff here are very knowledgeable. Tell them what you like to drink flavor wise and they will find you a beer or make you a drink.

Thank polsongrizz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TA-Manager-Response, Manager at The Blackbird, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Thanks for your review. Our staff will appreciate the kind words.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (229)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 5 of 229 reviews

Reviewed 3 weeks ago

I’ve always like Blackbird but I didn’t realize they’d changed their menu. The way it works is you order your meat (or vegetarian option) and the vehicle you want it on (e.g. plate, taco, sandwich). Some options you get sides with and some you don’t. I had the brisket on the taco which was good. $5 for a side of coleslaw that seemed to have no dressing on it and was uninteresting seemed steep. My companion had the corn salad and it was super spicy though there was no mention of that on the menu and our server didn’t mention it. The side of Mac and cheese was delicious. The kids enjoyed the quesadillas. Overall the meat was done well but it seemed pricey for what you got. I’ll admit, I’m not a fan of the new menu; I liked the old one better but I could be alone in that.

Thank Velotraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TA-Manager-Response, Manager at The Blackbird, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Thanks for the feedback! We'll certainly check the consistency of our slaw. We do apologize for the spicy corn. It should have a little kick, but we did notice it was too spicy last week. We should have warned your table that it was running a little hot. Sometimes the jalapenos are hotter than other times and we need to adjust them accordingly. We're glad to hear you enjoyed the meats. We still use premium products such as prime grade brisket so we do feel our prices are appropriate for the quality. We slow smoke our meats for up to 16 hours in our wood-fired smokers. We hope you'll give us another shot in the future. Cheers!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Like the place for lunch, so much we went back twice. Enjoyed the pull-pork chili and patio seating. Will return again

Thank Dick292
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TA-Manager-Response, Manager at The Blackbird, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

That's what we love to hear! Looking forward to your next visit!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Was not bad but the dinner portion should be an appetizer and not a dinner! Ordered 3 tacos that should have been listed as mini-tacos. Everything is a la carte including the cheese and guacamole. I had to order 2 more tacos. The bill set me back 30 dollars for not much!

Thank Denise N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TA-Manager-Response, Manager at The Blackbird, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Sorry to disappoint Denise - but we appreciate the feedback. The tacos are only $2.50-3.50 ea. They are served on a 4.5" tortilla with 2 oz. of meat. We think they're great without cheese or guacamole relish, but we offer it for people that are interested. Most people find 3 tacos sufficiently big for a meal. Without extra toppings, that will set you back $7.50-10.50. If you want something larger, try our plates or just the meat entrees. Cheers!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

The Blackbird is a great spot for an early morning/afternoon meal. The location is perfect to go from a great meal to a great day in downtown Spokane. The service was great and the food was phenomenal.

Thank Chris Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TA-Manager-Response, Manager at The Blackbird, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

"The service was great and the food was phenomenal"..... You just made our day Chris!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to The Blackbird? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing