We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to get away”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Stehekin
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
North Cascades Lodge at Stehekin
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 14 September 2013 via mobile

This place is fantastic and very remote making it even nicer. The managers take the time and interest to get to know the guests and their staff are just as friendly and helpful. The restaurant food was good and the cooks were friendly, eager to please and to socialize with patrons. The waiter and waitress though were robotic and unfriendly. That was our only negative. Will we come back? We hope to someday. YES, we recommend it to others.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mookyhikers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (157)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

132 - 138 of 157 reviews

Reviewed 10 September 2013

After reading mixed reviews from Tripadvisor, I was pleasantly surprised with our stay at the North Cascades Lodge in Stehekin. If you come looking for a plush, grand-scale lodge like the ones at Crater Lake or Mount Rainier, you may be disappointed. We didn't come with any of these preconceived ideas.

We booked room #10 and #7 (with a kitchenette), thinking we would make dinner and breakfast in the kitchenette for our family of seven (two grandparents, two parents, three kids). We had more than enough dishes and a large enough kitchenette to do so, with the exception of needing to take in a couple of deck chairs (which we found outsider our door).

Being tired on our first night and a long ferry ride, we decided to give the restaurant a try. The main adult courses weren't cheap, but this should be expected when everything is barged in. We ordered three trout specials, an order of sockeye salmon, side salads, and three kids meals. Everyone enjoyed their meals, and even the kids ate their vegetables. We saw two guys seated next to us devouring an immense "PCT burger", clearly satisfied with their meal. We were told the restaurant just got a new chef in the past month, which may explain the difference in our experience from previous reviewers.

The beds were comfortable with clean sheets on duvet comforters. There were new pieces of furniture in our room, new wooden cabinets and countertops in the kitchenette, which showed upgrades to our older A-frame building. There were units below us that could have complained about our three little kids, but I never heard anything from them nor from the staff.

The staff was kind, and chatted with us when we crossed paths. The manager, Phil, went out of his way to accommodate our family. He opened the store early for us, helped us with some of our luggage while we were away, and asked often if we needed any additional help.

I also felt the location was perfect for our family. We had a good view of the lake from our A-frame, and watched a sweet little bird pecking seeds from cones on a Ponderosa Pine outside our door. We rented bikes from Discovery Bikes for two mornings and visited the bakery (yum!), the school, the local organic farm, and Rainbow Falls. We Kayaked on the lake with our guide, Bethany, from Stehekin Ranch and saw the native pictographs. We went to ranger talks at the Golden West Visitor center, and the kids were able to complete their junior ranger program and received patches.

All in all, we had a great vacation and would come back again.

Room Tip: Units below our cabin #7, may have been loud with our three small children running up and down the s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank degtoot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 September 2013

We stayed 3 nights in Unit #1 of the North Cascades Lodge at Stehekin. It was a 2 bedroom, 1 bath cabin overlooking Lake Chelan in the North Cascades, in Stehekin National Park. While the cabin was plain, it had 2 bedrooms with windows, a large bathroom, decent refrigerator and stove/oven and a gas heater which we didn't need. Beds were VERY comfortable. It was clean. Service was excellent! The cabin's furniture was ok for 4 adults, but the lighting for reading could have been better. Amenities at the lodge were good - nice game room/lounge in the building next door and a restaurant, a gift shop and an interpretive/education center were just a short walk away. Our deck overlooked the northwest reach of Lake Chelan. It was the most spectacular place I've ever stayed because of the views, the hiking, the clear water, and the wonderfully clean air.

Room Tip: Our cabin (unit #1) was great for 2 couples visiting this beautiful area. This is not a luxury acco...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank shaluhe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 September 2013

I have been visiting the Stehekin Landing Resort for over 40 years. My husband and I often fly up for breakfast at the Resort. The food at the resort has become almost unfit to eat. I had breakfast there twice this summer. The first time the bacon was almost uncooked. I sent it back for more cooking. After almost an hour of waiting (with only one other patron in the restaurant), the bacon was returned to me warm but again uncooked. This past weekend my husband and I flew up from Chelan for breakfast and thought by now the kinks would have been worked out and the food would be better. We were very wrong. The pancakes were thick, doughy, and cold. The sausage was not cooked through and the bacon was cooked to a burned crisp. Again there was one other couple in the entire restaurant. I am so sorry to see the food at the Landing Resort Restaurant deteriorate to this level. Please pay attention and fix it!
Thank you,
Karen Brown
Chelan, WA

Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Karen B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liz M, Director of Sales at North Cascades Lodge at Stehekin, responded to this reviewResponded 10 September 2013

Thank you for your feedback regarding your recent visit to The Lodge at Stehekin. First, allow me to apologize for your disappointing experience - this is not at all indicative of what we expect of our team members. Please know that we do intend to fix this. I have forwarded your comments to the rest of our management team so that corrective measures can be put into place immediately.
We are so sorry that you did not enjoy your meals and we will work diligently to grow and improve. We hope that we have the opportunity to welcome you back in the future.

Our Best!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 August 2013

Great location!! Beautiful all the way around, Staff pampers you and makes your stay a winner. Wonderful views, water sports, hiking, house riding, boating, river rafting, fishing the list goes on and on. Definitely will return again and again in the future.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank StehekinPhoneGuy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liz M, Director of Sales at North Cascades Lodge at Stehekin, responded to this reviewResponded 10 September 2013

We can't wait to welcome you back! We truly do think that Stehekin really is our little slice of paradise, and we love sharing it. We are thrilled that you enjoyed Stehekin, and look forward to having you back in the future!

Our Best.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 August 2013

Stehekin feels like it's at the end of the world. A friendly outpost nestled in the heart of the eastern cascade mountains at the end of a long lake, it must be one of the last real towns in the lower 48 without cell service, and everybody seems to like it that way. Arrival is by foot, boat, or plane, and accommodations are both scarce and sparse.

The North Cascades Lodge was one of the few places that allowed a one-night stay, so we chose it after a backpacking trip in the North Cascades National Park. We figured the price was mostly due to the logistics of operation in a remote location, and so expected nothing more than a basic room and a shower in what we could tell from the pictures was an older property.

We were pleasantly surprised, however, by a couple of things. Our room (#19) was a large corner room with windows on two sides and lots of natural light. It had a large open space and did not feel cramped even with two beds (Q & twin) as well as a futon and a table & chairs. Also, the sheets were nice and on par with much nicer hotels in urban locations. The room had a narrow deck surrounded by trees with a few chairs on it, which gave us a chance to get some fresh air in a relatively private way. Aside from those details, the room was relatively basic and had a shower only (no tub).

The location is great. It's at the south end of town (which is spread out N-S over a couple miles) at the dock, right near the national park visitors center, the post office, and bike / kayak rentals. There is a swimming / picnic area across from the hotel, so don't forget your swimsuit. The water is chilly (on par with or only slightly warmer than alpine lakes), but clear and welcoming- a worthwhile experience you'll remember.

The staff is great. Everything is very casual and extremely relaxed in Stehekin, and all the interactions with the staff reflected that attitude. I overheard staff tell another guest instantly that it was fine to take beer out to a communal location (whereas I was expecting to hear "well, you're not really supposed to, but..." or "let me check with our manager..."). As rain was predicted, they found a spot to store our bags in the lodge after checkout.

I agree with other reviewers that the food is not that good. We had both dinner & breakfast. The salmon dinner was overcooked, and all the components (salmon, veggie & potato) were covered in some variety of buttery sauce, in what seemed like a meager attempt to make them more palatable. Think diner food, or old people food. Breakfast was much better, albeit very basic and harder to mess up.

I would keep in mind that the location is extremely remote, and the logistics of getting food up there must be challenging. I believe some reviewers are disappointed because their expectations of the food were directly correlated to the prices on the menu. I think it's better to go in with the attitude that the prices are inflated due to the remote location, and that they roughly correspond to diner prices elsewhere. The price of a foodie meal in this location would be even higher. We did not go to the Ranch, but would try that for at least one meal next time. We did go to the bakery twice (once for snacks, once for lunch), and the food there is excellent.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kirk m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 August 2013

We stayed at North Cascades Lodge two nights / three days (July 23 - 25) and had a terrific experience. The staff was friendly and courteous, and our room was spotless. The best thing about North Cascades lodge is the location - you are literally right "down town", and close to everything. We did dine at the restaurant one evening and found the food to be very good and reasonably priced. There are some negative comments on this website about the restaurant; we didn't experience anything other than a really nice dinner. I would recommend staying at North Cascades Lodge if you visit Stehekin.

Room Tip: We had a view of the lake, and it was just lovely.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jeffrey S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Stehekin
24.5 mi away
Chewuch Inn & Cabins
Chewuch Inn & Cabins
#2 of 8 in Winthrop
481 reviews
24.7 mi away
AbbyCreek Inn
AbbyCreek Inn
#6 of 8 in Winthrop
164 reviews
24.7 mi away
Hotel Rio Vista
Hotel Rio Vista
#3 of 8 in Winthrop
330 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
24.7 mi away
Mt Gardner Inn
Mt Gardner Inn
#1 of 8 in Winthrop
407 reviews
24.7 mi away
Methow River Lodge & Cabins
21.8 mi away
Sun Mountain Lodge
Sun Mountain Lodge
#4 of 8 in Winthrop
541 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to North Cascades Lodge at Stehekin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about North Cascades Lodge at Stehekin

Address: P.O. Box 457, Stehekin, WA
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Washington > Stehekin
Amenities:
Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Speciality Lodging in Stehekin
Price Range: £97 - £360 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This amazing Lodge overlooks pristine Lake Chelan in the North Cascades National Park in Washington state. Here, our first priority is to assist our guests in completely disconnecting and enjoy the beauty of the nature that surrounds. There are no telephones in your guestrooms, there is no internet access, and the only way to travel here is by water ferry, seaplane or by hike. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
North Cascades Lodge At Stehekin Washington

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing